We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & service”

Michael J's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 89 Restaurants in Ruidoso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Michael J's is a collaborative effort between many friends and food lovers from around the globe. We can say that because we appreciate so many sources and learn all the time about what makes a restaurant truly successful. We strive to serve excellent food accompanied by fine wine to go with our offerings. We do NOT serve PIZZA!
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food & service”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

This is my second time and both experiences have been great. Food and service very very good. Plus owner works the floor.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    43
    18
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ruidoso, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and atmosphere”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

One of our favorite places in Ruidoso. Great food and great service. Big portions. My favorites are the salmon appetizer, pasta with home made bolognese, and the gnocchi. All pastas are house made.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nmgirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average food, way overpriced.”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Our table was on top of an a/c vent so this was the first problem. I'm accustomed to bread being complementary at Itilian restaurants. We paid $6 for 4 small slices. The ravioli was the "Tonight's special" at $13 for 5 cheese ravioli. The waiter tried to convince us to get balsamic dressing on the salad, which I don't care for and I asked for Itilian (imagine that). I was brought a small cup of oil with spices in it. Not good. We won't go back unless we have a real desire for a bowl of spaghetti for $14. Oh, and 4 different people serviced our table.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Growlygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusannaJade, General Manager at Michael J's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We're always sad when a customer is not pleased. We serve lots of hot free bread but perhaps this customer ordered garlic bread or bruschetta that does cost some money. The air conditioning vents please many customers, but can be covered if requested. Without the vents it would be very uncomfortable in warm weather. Our ravioli are made from scratch so do cost a bit more, but many describe them as the best they have ever tasted. Our wait people are trained to make suggestions, that is part of a server's job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“New but a very classy restaurant”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Wonderful background music, good staff. The owner stopped by to check on us. I had the lasagna (considered a house specialty). The bread is wonderful. Very enjoyable and great food! It is on the left on Meacham past Casa Blanca as you head to Alto.as

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank EnglishTeacher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“When you get your liquor license, we'll give you a "5"”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had excellent, fresh-made pasta. Dishes were not over done. Veal picatta was excellent, not too buttery and batter was light panko-style. We only wished we could have complimented it with a glass of really nice wine. You have the only restaurant we've found in Ruidoso that serves great food. Sad but true. Open Wednesday-Sunday at the time we visited. Make a reservation as this place will pack it in once they can serve alcohol.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jandktravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael J's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Michael J's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing