We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old fashion mexican cafe”

Chef Lupes Family Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 89 Restaurants in Ruidoso
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
San Antonio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“old fashion mexican cafe”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The food is mostly excellent New Mexico style mexican food with lots of very spicy hatch chilis. Service is fast and food fresh.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank NavyDad03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    56
    20
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
2 reviews
“waitress ruined the meal”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

we were the only ones who did not receive chips and salsa. she came up to us while right after we started eating and said anything else when we said no she threw the check on the table. this would have been fine if that was the norm at this restaurant, but we were the only table being rushed out. too bad for her i am usually a big tipper and this was the first time i left nothing because that is what she deserved. the food was decent but i had to get up and get my own hot-sauce.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pat d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruidoso, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“It is okay at two in the morning when you are drunk.”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I think the only reason this place stays in business is because all the drunks go there when the bars close.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“So so....”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Could be better and not very consistent food or service. Chips are sometimes stale and salsa has way to much garlic. Sometimes I get chips and salsa for free and sometimes I am charged and the waitress says they are never free. Atmosphere needs work hot and too many flies.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ishla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
612 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

My husband and I had a late lunch at Chef Lupes in Ruidoso. We order combination plates so we could try varieties of New Mexican food. Yummy. The prices are reasonable as well.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Lupes Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chef Lupes Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing