We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly, basic italian food”

Michelena's Pizza & Italian Restaurant
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: A Ruidoso family dining favorite since 1990. Large portions of Midwestern-style Italian dishes and pizza at affordable prices. Casual dress, senior discounts, online coupons and $4.95 lunch specials.
Alamo Heights, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family friendly, basic italian food”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Nothing special or to write home about. Average in every respect (food, service, atmosphere). But we seem to go here every time we visit Ruidoso. Not sure why, perhaps the nostalgia of the place. Good value and good food, nothing more or less. As others have indicated, no alcohol, so just know that ahead of time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Imyourhuckleberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickorci, Owner at Michelena's Pizza & Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thanks for your visits to Michelenas threw the years. Our loyal customers are our most valuable asset. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    62
    63
    35
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chaparral, NM
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great lunch menu!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very family-friendly. Many tables have family photos under the glass. Delicious food, good portions, friendly staff.
The sauces are homemade and flavorful.
We especially like going at lunch time.
Try the spumoni!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickorci, Manager at Michelena's Pizza & Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank You so much !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible Sauce, over priced, staff has to overcome a lot!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I screwed up and did not read the mixed reviews before I wasted my money here. The waitstaff however is fantastic. There are mega attentive and very sweet. The problem started with our waitress trying to take our order. The servers have some beeper system that alerts them that orders are ready and she got pulled away from our table 4 times. She was very apologetic.
The appetizer was OK and the kids were ok with the pizza and fettuccine Alfredo. The lasagna and eggplant parmigiana had some burned dark maroon mess on it. The sauce was over cooked and super bitter and the eggplant was mega soggy. We made it 1/3 of the way through the plate and just gave up. The waitress again as sweet as can be and kept checking if all was ok. We didn't want to to dump on her or kill the messenger. Out fault. Then we got the bill. 60 bucks for that? Lesson learned. Read Trip Advisor first! Again the waitstaff is awesome but the kitchen needs to go back to culinary school. They are good at the kids plates at best.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Biglift1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickorci, Manager at Michelena's Pizza & Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
It sounds like they served you sauce that was over cooked and dehydrated. We know that should never happen... At this point we can only apologize . But, If you will contact Michelenas, we will make amends [to your satisfaction] for that error.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food much better than expected. Warning...NO ALCOHOL served & can't bring”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Despite lack of alcohol this is a busy place. Ordering is complicated...everything is extra/build ur own. Bread was blah and I then expected the food to be the same. So surprised with the lasagne...sauce was homemade and very flavorful (almost a little spicy) I ordered additional meatball and mozzarella cheese. Meatball very large and ok...nothing special. . Kids pizza was not the usual frozen kind and well made. Fettuccine Alfredo very creamy, could use some pepper...but they didn't offer. Basil soup was ok. The vegetarian eggplant Parmesan was actually good (usually don't like), but it was also quite fried. Didn't try desserts. Wouldn't go back specifically but was better than expected.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarghi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickorci, Manager at Michelena's Pizza & Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank You......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Great Italian food, wonderful service and prices. We would return to eat here again the next time we are in Ruidoso.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Painter1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickorci, Manager at Michelena's Pizza & Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank You for a great review......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michelena's Pizza & Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing