We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family fair”

Michelena's Pizza & Italian Restaurant
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: A Ruidoso family dining favorite since 1990. Large portions of Midwestern-style Italian dishes and pizza at affordable prices. Casual dress, senior discounts, online coupons and $4.95 lunch specials.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We took our dinner to go, but loved the booths, so hope to eat in next time. Kids had pizza. Parents huge salads and the green chili fettuccine. Overall decent food at a decent price.

Thank Oralynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickorci, Manager at Michelena's Pizza & Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Thank You .........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 177 of 272 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

Do not be in a hurry. Seemed staff was very slow to get order as there was only one other table when we arrived. We enjoyed the food once it arrived. Will not return unless everything is closed. Can't wait that long to get outside!

Thank TexasChic13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickorci, Manager at Michelena's Pizza & Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Thanks for your review. Michelenas isn't a fast food restaurant. If we mislead you in any way to the contrary, our apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Yummy and reasonable are great combinations.
Many dished are meat free or on the side . Lunch specials are
low in price. You can order half a plate for better portion control.

Thanks

Thank RuidosoAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickorci, Manager at Michelena's Pizza & Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Thank You and glad you enjoyed Michelenas Restaurant !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The worst experience while travelling the US. Closed Monday and Tuesday, arrived early Wednesday and was told out of lasagne. Italian restaurant out of lasagne after just opening! We were charged for lasagne even though we ordered a lower priced alternative. No wine available even though other local restaurants served dinner drinks. Mgr. informed us certain staff DIDN'T SHOW FOR WORK. Mgr. was argumentative bombastic and when we indicated waitress staff should inform customers popular dishes weren't available, we were ordered to leave. We refused, ate the alternative meal and didn't tip. Based on numerous other Michelena's reviews, ownership should show the manager the door. It's a shame, the restaurant could have potential. Dundee

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickorci, Owner at Michelena's Pizza & Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

We are always open Pizza Tuesday unless we are on vacation. We were not closed on any Tuesday in October. Any pizza is only 9.95 at Michelenas in Ruidoso on Tuesdays. We bake lasagna fresh every day. Often we sell out early in the day so we bake more. When we sell out of fresh lasagna late in the evening, [as in this case, around 6:30-7pm] we do not bake fresh until the next business day. I suppose the other issues are a matter of perspective. We are sincerely Apologetic for you not enjoying your visit with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I was astonished at the lunch menu here. They have 4-5 items that are $5, 4-5 that are $6 and 4-5 that are $7. I had lasagna which came with soup or salad. The lasagna was very good and a large serving. $5! You can't eat at McDonalds for $5! Everyone in our group was pleased.

Thank Patty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickorci, Owner at Michelena's Pizza & Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank You ! We make it Good...We Serve You Plenty....And don't Charge a Lot.... MICHELENAS !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michelena's Pizza & Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing