We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Breakfast”

Log Cabin Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 89 Restaurants in Ruidoso
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Yummy Breakfast”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The wait was pretty long, about 30 minutes, but the delicious food made up for it. The pancakes are heavenly.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank rogan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    107
    32
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Myself and the family have been coming to the Log Cabin for years and years now, and I feel like it is appropriate to say at this point that we count those at the restaurant as almost family. We originally went for the food, but it's the service that keeps us coming back multiple times during the week. As has been said, you can expect to wait on the weekends, and even some week days, especially during racing season. There isn't anything we have found to be bad, or even remotely not great on the menu. This said, there are some favorite plates that we'll recommend to anyone who we take here. Any "bread" item is great: french toast, pancakes, biscuits. If you stop in randomly, you may get lucky and they may have one of their pancake specials. Around the fall there are sweet potato or pumpkin. In the winter there have been peppermint, and s'mores. Then in the spring you get carrot cake (the absolute BEST). They've switched coffees over the years, with some being better than others, but we think that they've found the right one these days. There are large percentage of plates that come with biscuits and gravy or toast; choose biscuits and gravy. The biscuits are HUGE, and the gravy is delicious with just the right amount of spice behind it. The staff is the cornerstone of this restaurant, though. You can't go wrong with any server. Whether you find yourself with Sherry, Megan, Jessica, Chris, or Chase, you're going to get the sort of caring and family-like service you sometimes really need those early mornings, or those mornings after a night of Quarter or Win-Place-Show. We've had the owner Michelle come check on us multiple times, and even had one of the cooks come out to make sure everything was great more times than we can count. When you see the staff fraternizing like family, it's hard to not try and get in on the action. No matter if you stop in just once, or if you keep coming back (which you'll want to), we think that you'll find the same thing. So, go to Log Cabin, trust me, the wait isn't as bad as it may seem, and you're going to be happy that you did when you see a pancake as big as your head come out of the kitchen on the arm of one of their fantastic servers.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rdo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Extensive Breakfast Menu and Great Pancakes”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Tons of breakfast items and some gourmet french toast and pancake options. Prices were reasonable $5 - $9. The pancakes were excellent and the homemade biscuits were a hit too. During the week there were a lot of tables. Very crowded on the weekend though. Service was good and clean environment. My only complaint was that the kids juice glasses were about 3 ounces and cost $2 a piece! Other than that it was great!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kent_Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryant, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We stopped for breakfast. It was great. Eggs benedict was best I've had in years. Our son enjoyed the pancakes as well. He ate it all!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martycox88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We tried Log Cabin for breakfast on a Sunday morning. It was a bit crowded but we didn't wait long. I was a bit disappointed in the food over all. The resturant is VERY loud we had trouble hearing each other as well as the waitress. Just an OK place to eat. Breakfast for two With coffee (eggs, hashbrowns, sausage) was $30.00. were not cheap but over priced for the quality.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Renee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Log Cabin Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Log Cabin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing