We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Lake”
Review of Grindstone Lake

Grindstone Lake
Ranked #12 of 31 things to do in Ruidoso
Attraction details
Ruidoso, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Lake”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Grindstone Lake is a beautiful lake. You can go fishing and canoeing. It's great just to sit on the banks and look at the beautiful surroundings. We live in a beautiful place. Ruidoso is an oasis in the desert with beautiful sunrises and sunsets. You just have to see it for yourself!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TJO47185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    26
    19
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Are you up for a little hike?”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Grindstone reservoir is a water supply for the Village of Ruidoso. It is stocked with Rainbow trout. Some say the fishing is pretty good! The Village of Ruidoso and the US Forest Service have teamed together and built a system of trails for bikers, hikers, and horse riders. The ecoservants have done a spectacular job of creating trails that will suit any level of outdoor adventurers.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank beckybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Scenic little mountain lake”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Fair fishing, couple of picnic tables, water is low this year. Easy road access and a great place for a nice walk in the woods.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank slaterock1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Easy hike with nice views”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We enjoyed our hike here. Not a difficult hike and a very pleasant scenic one. Several Geocaches in the area which we enjoyed. Portable toilets were amazingly clean and fresh. Parking was right at trail head. We were the only ones on trail and a handful of people were below fishing. A very nice afternoon.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cswbkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Oak, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Try a Hike Near Grindstone Lake!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Grindstone Lake is a reservoir supplying the city of Ruidoso. Not the prettiest lake, but wait! There are several awesome trails nearby. The one we took was about 7 miles of hilly, and varied terrain. Beautiful changes of scenery, and flora. There will be mountain biker or two to break the silence but otherwise, a very quiet hike. And of course the mountain biker could be me!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zylon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grindstone Lake also viewed

 

Been to Grindstone Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing