We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really impressed.”

The Rancher's Steak and Seafood
Ranked #11 of 88 Restaurants in Ruidoso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
El Paso, Texas
1 review
“Not really impressed.”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Came in between lunch and dinner, so not busy at all. It was off-peak time. There was only one hostess/waitress, who was very nice, but a couple left five minutes after we got there because I guess it took too long to get their water. Also, as other people were coming in,there was noone at the door to welcome them, as she was in the kitchen getting food and drinks,etc. The burgers were pretty good, but through fries were extra greasy and limp(seemed under cooked). The catfish strips were also cold. Sorry, but I don't think I could recommend this place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jhoffa75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    76
    52
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“romantic evening”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We enjoyed our dinner very much food was cooked as we expected, service excellent. It was very romantic.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
“great server and service”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

we went in with a group the food was out of this world, the server was Felicia, and she made our evening worth our stay in Ruidoso.We will be spreading our experience with family and friends~.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sweetpea345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“cooked wrong, but corrected”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My wife and I dined here and both had steaks ordered medium. Mine came out gray in the center. Definitely not medium. The server had another cooked for me, and this time it was cooked correctly, but the only seasoning was a dollop of butter in the middle. I had about two bites and called it quits. I tried my wife's steak and it was delicious! Maybe the cook was mad that I sent the first one back. Who knows. When the manager asked how the second one was, I told him it had no rub, just a plain piece of meat, albeit cooked to my specs, but not very appetizing. He was kind enough to take my steak off of our ticket. All other sides and drinks were excellent, and I know this restaurant is capable of cooking an excellent steak as witnessed by my wife's. I would definitely give them another shot when I visit again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank matt a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
1,375 reviews
741 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 502 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant, Just An Average Dinner”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We expected better and maybe that was our problem. I had the crusted Grilled Chicken with mashed potato's and grilled Asparagus. The chicken was ok but the potatoes were luke warm. My spouse had the salmon which was a tail piece and cooked poorly, also it was not the Atlantic Salmon as listed on the menu. No good restaurant will serve the tail piece. Also I ordered a second glass of wine which I did not get. After I had finished my meal the waitress asked me if I was ready for the wine. I said no not now however when I received the bill I was charged for the second glass, of course it was removed after I mentioned it to the waitress. We will most likely will not go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CDM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rancher's Steak and Seafood also viewed

 

Been to The Rancher's Steak and Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing