We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveler rating
23
15
5
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
23
15
5
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small bedroom propane grill front porch the river whirlpool tub a great stay beds were comfortable enjoyed our stay get away canyon cabin fireplace deer kitchen silverware dryer lodging
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 50 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2016

We had a great time staying in your cabins. What was also nice was that we got to bring our dogs and enjoy the area with them! The cabins are nice and clean and well maintained. Really loved the fireplace that was in the cabin. Can't wait to come back!

Date of stay: October 2016
1  Thank 378janellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Upper Canyon Inn and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2016

Thanks for the awesome review. Our cabins are spectacular and considered to be among the finest in Ruidoso. Recent renovations on the rooms in the main lodge were modeled after the cabins and we are very happy with responses from folks like you to those as well.
We are known for our pet friendly policies as most folks travel with their furry family members nowadays. Come again very soon and please tell others about us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2016 via mobile

This review includes references from the research I should've done before my stay: Hope it helps you make a better choice because there are plenty better!
- I ended up here because just like the review from 9JAN2015 I attempted to stay at the good venue and got redirected to this place.
- Filth; yes! The same nasty, soiled (not water stained) and inexcusable brown sheets from the 30AUG2016 review were waiting for me and my family. I laid my 2 year old daughter to sleep in the horrendous nastiness and didn't notice until 2 hours later when I felt the hairs, crumbs and saw the soiled sheets myself. I was simply petrified to think that my defenseless 2 year old had been rolling around in that because I was trusting of the most paramount of hotel services: a clean bed!
- Most of the owner's responses include a "renovations are almost complete" but consider that these promises have been ongoing for two years. I'm specifically focusing on the old, sagging mattresses that are mentioned in so many other reviews.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 1_traveling_foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Upper Canyon Inn and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2016

We appreciate all feedback, so thank you for that. We would invite all guests to look at the numerous 5 star reviews made since we finished renovations three months ago. This cabin had the living room, kitchen and bath renovated and has been a hit with our other guests. Also, we have only owned Upper Canyon Inn for six months so references made going back 2 years are not applicable. You made it very clear on arrival that you were not happy to be in Ruidoso, everyone in the office remembers well, but we had hoped that we could help to make your stay enjoyable. Clearly that did not work out. Although the misleading statements you use are intended only to damage to us we expect it has more to do with your wanting stay all three days (but with a full refund) and less to do with the milk that your two year old obviously spilled on the sheet. You did not mention the fact that we offered a full refund, but with the stipulation that you check out. Since you called on day two to complain about the stain and not as soon as you arrived (as you suggest), it is unfair for you to ask us to take responsibility. NOTE: The first thing our housekeeper does is strip the beds and gather towels which are then picked up by our team leader who (after checking the cabin for anything requiring attention) then takes them to the laundry and returns with the appropriate new linens and towels. It is simply impossible for sheets not to get changed out. We cannot be more sorry that anyone would leave a review like this, as our staff works unbelievably hard to make every stay memorable and wonderful. We only hope that anyone reading this review will understand that making every single guest happy is impossible. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2016

We only stayed one night at this lovely lodge, i wish we could have stayed more! I am not plotting how i can go back for a birthday visit.
We stayed in the lodge-the single downside was our room was upstairs. Our choice, we knew it, just was not optimal for us.
Our room had a sitting are behind a locked door that is meant as a foyer like area for our room and the one next to us. This would be really great for two families or friends staying together that wanted separate living areas.
The room itself was awesome. Very cabin feel-which is what we were after. Lots of cute touches that make things seem even more like a sweet cabin in the woods. Recently updated and you can tell that put a ton of attention and love into it.
Gas fireplace-we didn't need it so sadly did not get used. 2 Person Whirlpool tub, it was just lovely.
Full bath, though the sinks were in the bedroom area, as sort of part of the kitchenette area (micro and awesome fridge!). Hubby way not happy the only tv was in the living room I think it added to the atmosphere. the bed was incredible. Best sleep i had the whole trip!
Had a small outside sitting area just off the bedroom.
Best part, they are PET FRIENDLY! Woohooo!
All in all, a great stay, and i cannot wait to go back!

Room tip: 17 steps to get upstairs. Make sure you can handle them
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dolly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Upper Canyon Inn and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2016

YOur review means a great deal to us. We put a massive effort into renovations and it is wonderful to hear that we met and exceeded expectations. Please come again very soon and tell others who think just like you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2016 via mobile

I booked the Upper Canyon Inn several months ago to round up our 2 week vacation in Colorado. We decided to travel through Ruidoso NM on our way home to Texas. Online this place appears to be the perfect little getaway. Not so!!
After an 8 1/2 hour drive from Bayfield Co. we really just wanted to rest. We found Lodge 5 corner room to be charming and homey. Fire place, 2 person jetted tub and nice decor. That's all it had going was, that it was a cute!
The brown bed sheets had several visible stains in the center of the bed and the sheets were all loose as if the bed had been slept in. Disgusting! Called the phone number that we were given, if we needed anything during our overnight stay. I began to tell the woman who offered no apology about this issue. She said she would send a housekeeper down. The house keeper (a man) brought new sheets in a garbage bag and handed them to me. He also wanted to see the sheets in question that were on the bed. Upon looking he too saw the stains. He removed them and left. We had to put the new sheets on. They were queen and not king.
I had to call again! She again offered no apology for the situation! At this point I became upset with the woman on the phone, she clearly does NOT have customer service skills or hates her job. Or could have been having a bad day!
It took 45 min for another gentleman to get there.
The right sheets came with a man who normally doesn't do bed making. He was very nice and apologized for the issue. I was fine with his apology. To top off our stay, the fireplace in the room did not work! In the wee hours of the morning, we smelled gas when the heater some how came on when it was in the off position. Had to open the door and windows to let the smell out. Nice huh?! Shower curtain was pink along the bottom and needed cleaning/disinfecting.
Watch out for the door on your way out of this room. Sharp metal weather stripping will slice open your arm. Other that the sanitary and rudeness issues we across, the entire place is very charming. Close to a small river. Plenty of deer. Nice place to take a walk. Bed was nice. Big TV to watch if you wanted. Nice kitchenette with everything you will need to prepare your meals. Comfy chairs in the room and outside your room. A grill centrally located for shared use and soda machine close by. This place is nestled in the trees and is in close proximity to town.
We unfortunately will not be returning to Upper Canyon Inn & Cabins next year!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank wendyaS2978JR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Upper Canyon Inn and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2016

First, thank you for your review. We want to hear both the good and the bad. We apologize for the sheets being stained. Our manager looked at them and did find what appeared to be a water spot, so you were correct, we missed that. We also apologize for bringing the incorrect sheets the first time. It seems that when one thing goes wrong everything goes wrong. Our staff member offered to replace the sheets, but you refused him access so we had no way to know that the sheets were the wrong size until you called again. One of the things we struggle with in this industry is when guests do not make us aware of issues while they are still in a cabin or lodge room. If you felt that there was a loose piece of trim our maintenance staff would have repaired it immediately. If you felt that there was a problem with the furnace we also would have responded immediately. Since this review we have checked the furnace and found that it is in perfect operating condition. You may not have understood how the thermostat works, something that we also would have helped with if you have advised us of your concern. We are pleased that the rest of your stay was enjoyable and that you found our fully renovated room to be inviting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2016

My husband and I recently enjoyed one of the Upper Canyon Inn's first floor rooms. We shared an immaculate, delightful room surrounded by tall evergreens, in a quiet canyon close to the center of Ruidoso. Very comfortable king-sized bed, and ample leather recliners to stretch out and enjoy. We also appreciated the convenience of a refrigerator, microwave and two-burner stove, complemented by clean dishes, pots and pans and silverware. Wonderful, helpful staff. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank gracebooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Upper Canyon Inn and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2016

Thank you for the kind review. Since we completed our full renovations our guest's responses have made the effort all worth while. Come again anytime and please tell others who are just like you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews