We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So cozy, so comfortable, so rejuvenating!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruidoso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ruidoso Lodge Cabins
Iowa City, IA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“So cozy, so comfortable, so rejuvenating!”
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We loved our little cabin next to the creek. We soaked in our personal hot tub every night before bed in our super comfy bed. We slept so well, as it was very quiet in this location. It was great having a little kitchen to cook a few things. One downfall was they expect you to clean up your dishes or leave $10. Well, the folks prior to us didn't do a very good job of cleaning their utensils, as there was food stuck in the stove spoon. Additionally, the value of this facility is overpriced. I noted that you can rent a 3 bedroom house in the area for the same as this one room cabin. And they won't work with you on longer term stays - too bad. The area is lovely, the casino has a bad funk about it - just avoid it and relax in your cabin!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    15
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
21
94
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buena Vista, TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2009

I believe this is the "gem" of Ruidoso. Tucked just off the road past the first Rio Ruidoso bridge is RLC's Riverside Cottages. Well built and well maintained. Romantic, unbelieveably comfortable and with just the right amenities.

Also enjoyed seeing the deer and listening to the river.

Thanks Leanne !!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBuckmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2009

My husband and I had one night at the Ruidoso cabins for a little R&R before a week long cattle drive in Roswell New Mexico. Although these cabins are usually rented with a minimum of two nights (I think), since they had availability, they rented a cabin to us for only one night. It was awesome! The area is beautiful and the sound of the wind rushing through the trees is just an incredible sound to go to sleep and wake up to. There were even deer roaming the property. The cabin itself was perfect with a brand new fireplace, big windows, a large hot tub and extremely comfortable bed complete with feather mattress. The owners were extremely warm and helpful - even allowing us to check out a couple of hours late so we could time our departure with our need to meet up with our guides in Roswell. In my opinion, these cabins are by far the best in the area (at least based on what we saw). If you're in the area, I'd highly recommend them. (Oh, and if you've got time for dinner, check out the Texas Grill - it had live music and cowboy dancing while we were there - what a hoot!)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyAdventurer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2008

I've been visiting and staying in Ruidoso for nearly 15 years. The Cabins here, particularly the newer ones, are undoubtedly some of the nicest I've ever seen. Their Lodging terms are a bit terse (i.e. no visitors), but, these rules apply to all and are to assist in providing a quiet and restful stay for all clientele.

The owner (Judy) is not the friendliest... but, she is smart enough to hire great office staff to offset her air of superiority and occasional rudeness.

Overall a nice little gem..... a moderately priced value.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Owner
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank TejasDiablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Tx.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2008

When we got there the flood had washed out the bridge and the cabin was full of mud . The owner Judy refused to give us back our deposit. We have filed a grievence with the card company. On previous visits there Judys attitude was terrible. If you want your vacation ruined stay at these cabins. I only booked there because my wife wished to do so but I will never stay there again.
If you like rude people this is your place.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank texasyid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMbound, Owner at Ruidoso Lodge Cabins, responded to this review, September 14, 2008
RE: texasyid's review.. They guest has left out many pertinent facts. Ruidoso experienced a 500 year flood the morning of their arrival, July 27, 2008. The cabin they wished to rent was under water when they reached Ruidoso, at 11 PM. The bridge for them to cross to reach us was under water. They called from the other side. The first thing I did, in fact, was offer them their money back. I also made the suggestion that they could have a cabin of equal or better value for the same price. They accepted that idea. I sent one of my staff 4 miles on a round about route to meet them and guide them to the other cabin, Wild Rose. They liked it and accepted it. We rushed a cleaning crew around to that cabin and prepared it while they waited. They then decided they would like to check out (yet) another cabin of equal value. Our staff then took them to that one, one of our Riverside cabins. They decided they preferred it. We rushed a cleaning crew to that one and prepared it.

It bears pointing out that all of this was happening well before our usual check-in time of 3 PM.

They then complained that they had been waiting two hours and that they now wanted their money back in entirety. I feel that we, Ruidoso Lodge Cabins, had more than met our contractual obligations and that they (texasyid) were obligated to meet theirs. We provided them with lodging equal to or better than what they reserved, in a timely fashion (ie., before the 3 o'clock check-in time). Their contractual obligations state that they will notify Ruidoso Lodge Cabins of inability to stay within 14 days of the reservation or they will forfeit their deposit. I feel fully justified in keeping their deposit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell,NM
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2007

We loved this place. The cabin was woderfully rustic, but modern and cozy. The fireplace kept the room warm and romatic and could be seen from everywhere in the cabin. We forgot a lighter for our candles, but we were able to easily find matches, something I did not expect. The towels are soft and fluffy and clean! The whole place was exceptionally clean, in fact. The only complaint we had was the extremely long wait to get hot water to the shower. It took it about 10 minutes to get hot enough for a shower, but we did stay during the winter months and so the pipes we probably cold (and not properly insulated). We loved our stay and look forward to staying again and again and again...

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dp995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2006

We LOVED Ruidoso Lodge Cabins! We got the one bedroom with the jacuzzi tub. It is beautiful inside! You walk in and see a quaint dinette set for two, a kitchenette with everything you need to cook dinner for two, and a fireplace that can been seen from every room of the cabin. The layout was great. It was quiet, but you could hear the wind in the pines. You could hear the river running. There is no phone!!! But you do have a TV with DVD/VCR. We LOVED it! The nice touch was a notebook you could write about your stay in. It was fun reading all the entries and restaurant recommendations. It is a PERFECT lovers paradise!!

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank C-STucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ruidoso hotels
0.2 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
2.2 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Apache Village Cabins
Apache Village Cabins
#25 of 40 in Ruidoso
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Upper Canyon Inn and Cabins
3.5 mi away
Ruidoso Mountain Inn
Ruidoso Mountain Inn
#10 of 23 in Ruidoso
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruidoso Lodge Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruidoso Lodge Cabins

Property: Ruidoso Lodge Cabins
Address: 300 Main Rd, Ruidoso, NM 88345-6334
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic rental cabins for couples nestled in the cool pines of Ruidoso's historic Upper Canyon. Amenities include in-room whirlpool, fireplace, air conditioning, open-beam ceilings and wireless Internet. A Ruidoso tradition since 1924. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ruidoso Lodge Cabins Hotel Ruidoso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing