We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cabins in great location”
Review of Story Book Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruidoso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Story Book Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great cabins in great location”
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Our family of 8 adults and 2 children stayed in 4 cabins, #s 2, 3, 4, and 15. All of them were great and served our needs. They were all close together and had porches w/ plenty of chairs. # 3 even had a porch swing and hammock. Check in was a breeze. We were informed at check in that the area was in extreme fire danger and we wouldn't be able to cook out on the grills. Would have been nice to know that ahead of time but not a huge deal. We did see a couple of other people cooking out in the Upper Canyon area so not sure if it was just Storybook Cabins that was enforcing this or not but we were certainly not going to take a chance of starting a fire. All of the cabins were very clean. Beds were comfortable and linens were good. Towels were refreshed after two days but you could go to the office and request more if needed. The kitchens were well stocked with the basics, including corkscrew. All cabins were air conditioned but only #15 had central air. The 2 bedroom cabins were not as easy to keep cool as they only had window units in the bedrooms. This would probably not be an issue but they were having a bit of a heat wave when we were there. Storage space for luggage and clothes was limited in the 1 bedroom cabin. There was a kind of built in closet next to the bed w/ a few shelves but no real good place to put a suitcase. This would only be an issue if it was a long term stay. We managed fine for 4 nights. WiFi was pretty reliable, not a really strong signal but still usable 99% of the time. The location in Upper Canyon was great, about a mile from the edge of town but still in the trees. We saw deer everyday and bears the first two nights. Quiet time is from 10 pm to 8 am. I have stayed in a private cabin that is managed by Storybook but this was the first time in their on site cabins. I would definitely return. We were all really pleased with the accomodations.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saqsaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    14
    5
    6
    0
See reviews for
39
62
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

My dear hubby and I decided to stop here on our way back to Texas. We stayed two nights in cabin 3. What a joy!!! From check in...to check out, this spot was next to heaven! The room was super clean and cozy. The bed was comfy and the linens were nice. The kitchen was stocked with utensils which made it wonderful to be able to enjoy cooking in our cabin. The porch and porch swing were cozy in the am.. for drinking coffee and in the evening for sharing a glass of wine and a good book. We hope to return next year. We give this spot an A PLUS! The owners have thought of everything.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dsg560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

We stayed in the Trout cabin on a long weekend get-a-way last November. I have been missing it since. It was clean, romantic and cozy. I will definatly be back soon.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShannonNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2010

We stayed in cabin 16 and we absolutely loved it. Very roomy, cormfortable cabin. The hosts were helpful with any questions or requests we had. The only downfall the this cabin was the driveway is on a pretty good slope. Bad for me due to the heavy snowfall they received before we got there. Had to used snow chains to get up the driveway. They had plenty of dry firewood to burn in the fireplace which was very nice. When we come back, it will be HERE! Lots of deer around... Also no internet in this cabin.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rm328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2009

This is a wonderful place to stay. Very clean and comfortable. Will stay there again on our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank forgetcattlebaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperas Cove, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2009

Stayed in cabin #8. Was concerned with being right on the road at first when we pulled up but after we opened the door of this exceptionally clean and cozy cabin we fell in love with it. The noise from the road was not a big deal after all. The only time you might hear it is if you are a late and light sleeper. Great king size bed with comfy linens and great bath/shower. We loved the porch and sitting in the mornings with our coffee and at night with our wine. Mule deer everywhere, being from Texas deer are not usually a treat to see but we did enjoy the Mule deer. Would stay there again and hated to leave! Short drive to everything downtown but too far to walk unless you are athletic (at least a couple of miles) and enjoy walking on a busy road.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NMIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We just got back from a 7 night stay in the Elk # 6, and wish we would have stayed even longer. I researched cabins on the internet all over Ruidoso before picking stroybook, and was really glad we decided on them. The office staff was always helpfull with information and very friendly , even had a chance to talk to one of the maintance guys and was also friendly. The cabins were very clean, and the location was awesome , in the upper canyon with all the hugh trees, the parking was right in front of the cabin which was very nice, and its just up from the roadway but their was never any noise from the road that we were bothered by, the only time you heard the cars is if you were out on the porch,which was very nice with the hammock , which I used very much, we also used the jacuzzi every other night which was great and relazing, we loved the way the cabin was decorated and laid out, the bed was really cool the way it was done. After staying that long it was hard to leave, it was like leaving a home you love. The cabins are really close to everything, the casinos and shopping .It was nice to set out on the porch and watch the deer come right by you.Every time we go back we will be staying at the storybook cabins. Other folks that we talked to their that were staying a few days also really liked them and hated to leave. Thanks for a great stay and look forward to the next time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LakePatrol53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ruidoso hotels
0.4 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
2.3 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#4 of 23 in Ruidoso
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
218 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruidoso Inn
0.8 mi away
Apache Village Cabins
Apache Village Cabins
#27 of 37 in Ruidoso
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Story Book Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Story Book Cabins

Property: Story Book Cabins
Address: 410 Main Rd, Ruidoso, NM 88345-7604
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Ruidoso, New Mexico, Story Book Cabins offers upscale rustic knotty pine rental cabins and vacation rental homes nestled amid the tall trees. A great setting for family fun, romantic getaway or honeymoon. Just minutes from the restaurants, shops and art galleries of Ruidoso's midtown area, yet away from it all in Historic Upper Canyon. It's easy to relax among the cool mountain pines. Whether for a weekend or a week, you'll want to return time and again to the magic of Story Book Cabins. Each Ruidoso rental cabin is unique in both design and details. Choice amenities such as a full kitchen, washer/dryer, fireplace, hot tub, cable TV with DVD, and Wi-Fi are available. Combined with tasteful artwork and creative log furnishings, a comfortable and memorable living space is yours to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Story Book Cabins Hotel Ruidoso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing