We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Second time around for the Golden Aspen Rally” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Idle Hour Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruidoso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Idle Hour Lodge
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Second time around for the Golden Aspen Rally”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We once again stayed at Dorothy and Mike's wonderful rustic cabins. As usual the cabin was very clean and beds had 'Flannel' sheets on them. The mountain ambiance is great and the owners once again made us feel just like family. It wasn't just us but, I noticed they treated and visited with everyone around us to make them comfortable. We are booking again for next years Rally as soon as we find out the dates.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank llharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed at the Idle Hour one night on our way to Cloudcroft. It was our first time in Ruidoso and it was delightful! The cabins are aged but very quaint and comfortable. Their were five in our group and one of us had to sleep on sofa bed we padded it up with blankets and pillows but it was not the best for comfort keep that in mind if you have an odd number in your group. The Lodge is under new ownership. They are working on bringing back the Idle Hour back to its original nostalgia and it has a very just like home feeling!
No wifi but we had fresh out of the oven muffins brought to our doorstep...... It is a very quiet and relaxing environment they are very pet friendly and you will have some unexpected visitors at your doorstep( deer, elk).
All in all our stay was pleasant and we had a great time in town!
We will definitely visit again if we are out this way!

Room Tip: Cabins are small if you have more than four in your party rent another cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LovelyLexi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Excellent service, I send several places e-mails asking for information and the persons from Idle Hour Lodge were the only that called me.
At the same, they were very kind when we arrived and do the check in, the cabins are cute and very clean.
I will book again with Idle Hour in our next trip to Ruidoso...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RaquelA921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just finished a three night stay at the Idle Hour Lodge and was very pleased with the comfort and peaceful atmosphere. Check-in was fast and courteous. Cabin was small two bedroom but very clean and comfortable. The exterior of the cabin did not reflect the detail to comfort of the interior. They are upgrading the cabins exteriors. Our cabin came well stocked requiring only the addition of a shopping trip to the local store less than two blocks up the street. There are also several restaurants within walking distance of the lodge and it is near downtown and the Rio Ruidoso. The gift basket provided by the owners was a very nice touch. As was checking with us during our stay to make sure everything was satisfactory.Evenings and mornings brought deer right up to our deck. The only reason I did not rate excellent was the water pressure in the shower. A small detail but annoying. Other than that we very much enjoyed our stay and will stay again when we are in Ruidoso.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoodsport, Washington
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We highly recommend these cabins. We celebrated Christmas and New Years here with family and friends. The cabins are clean,comfortable and like home. Our cabins were beautifully decorated for the Holidays. We were there for 10 days, we experienced a white Christmas and New Years...Awesome and so Beautiful! It was so cold outside and the cabins stay nice and warm. Nice decks with views of the deer roaming the property and the beautiful grounds. Grocery store within 5 min. walk from the cabins. Cabins are quiet as they are set back from road yet so close to town you can walk to it.
The new owners Mike and Dorothy are very helpful with knowing the area and activities. I would also like to recommend the scenic drive through the airport road, towards Fort Stanton and Lincoln. We look forward to our return, try it you'll it!

Room Tip: If you have any special request, please remember to ask management ahead of your arrival. We were in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skygirl767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed there after the Christmas holiday. The owners are very nice and accommodating. They left their slow cooker in the cabin for us to use. We needed a baking sheet and was able to get one from the front office. The cabins were rustic and clean. It is nice and quiet where the cabins are, perfect location.
Our cabin (#3) has a draft that came in under the front door, which was not good because it was so cold that week. We made do by rolling up the kitchen rug and placing it in front of the door. My only true complaint was the sofa bed. The mattress on that was horrible. The person that had that bed had to actually put the cushions from the couch on the mattress and sleep on those. I suggest if you have this cabin, to bring a blow up mattress to put on the sofa bed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bltj2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy S, Owner at Idle Hour Lodge, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Hi LB:)
First of all, Thank you so much for staying at Idle Hour Lodge. Also, thanks for your prompt review. Your compliments are very much appreciated.

Our sincerest apologies for the sofa sleeper mattress:(
Honestly, I have not slept on that one, but, I have yet to find a sleeper sofa that actually could be called "comfortable".

If you would...please come back and allow us to make up for the "ooops"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Loved the place!!! The cabins are clean, they smell wonderful, the owners are super nice people. It is close to the town and the cabins have all you can need, fireplace, pots, silverware, towels, dishes, etc.... we really didn't wanted to leave

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ruidoso hotels
0.5 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
1.7 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Suites
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#3 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sitzmark Chalet Inn
Sitzmark Chalet Inn
#2 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ruidoso Mountain Inn
Ruidoso Mountain Inn
#10 of 23 in Ruidoso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idle Hour Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idle Hour Lodge

Property: Idle Hour Lodge
Address: 112 Lower Terrace Dr, Ruidoso,NM Lincoln National Forest, Ruidoso, NM 88345-6819
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 Rustic, cozy, cabins in the tall pines, with a vintage, nostalgic flair of the "Old Ruidoso". All cabins have a fireplace, kitchen and deck. PET FRIENDLY:) Walking distance to Midtown,shopping, restaurants and grocery. Just minutes from Skiing, Ziplining and Casinos. OPEN YEAR ROUND! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing