We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Bikers Delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Idle Hour Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruidoso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Idle Hour Lodge
Save
You added Idle Hour Lodge to your Saves list
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bikers Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Dorothy and Mike made our visit perfect. I suggest anyone stay at this resort. We stayed during the Golden Aspen Rally and had great sleep and got to watch several Mule Deer in ten mornings and evenings.

Noodle

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harley1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Very clean, rustic, comfortable beds, great views and biker friendly. Mike and Dorothy are very attentive to their guests needs. We experienced a late evening electrical blackout (half the town) and they were at our door with flashlights and candles immediately.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank llharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portales, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Me and my family (including our dog) stayed here for 5 nights over Labor Day weekend. The cabins were in great shape and very clean. My wife is very particular about cleanliness so if it wasn't clean I'm sure she would've forced me to find something else! The owners, Mike and Dorothy, were very friendly and made our stay even more enjoyable. Other reviews talk about how these cabins make you feel at home and that is absolutely correct. The cabins were tucked between tall, green trees and perched on a small ridge with a small creek flowing at the bottom. From where we stayed (Cabin 10), we could here the babbling creek which was especially nice at night. There were also plenty of deer that roamed the site, especially at dusk and dawn. My two year old actually fed a deer an apple from his hand! The location is very close to Midtown with a nicely stocked grocery store within walking distance. Even though the location is close to everything, we still felt like we were secluded. We took numerous day trips throught the week we stayed (including a scenic route to White Sands National Park and even a back-road trip up the local mountains where we saw a brown bear roaming the ridge tops!) This an excellent place to stay whether you have a family or if you are a couple looking for a romantic get away. Thanks Mike and Dorothy!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My son and I drove up and were immediately impressed by the beauty of the pine trees and the cozy rustic cabins. The cool mountain mornings sitting on the front porch while watching deer quietly roam the property was almost as serene as the moon lit nights looking at the beautiful stars and clouds in the clear skies. The village had so many boutiques and shops and was only a couple blocks from the lodge. Mike and Dorothy were such good hosts and we enjoyed visiting with them! This was a wonderful vacation <3

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqui D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euless, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

New owners, Mike & Dorothy proudly make you feel at home and comfortable! Cabins are clean and cozy. They have been told by customers not to change too much about the cabins and property as to keep its rustic, notty pine history. Hospitality by Mike & Dorothy is one of the best!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Cozy cabins nestled in beatuiful tall trees. Cabins are clean. Owners, Mike and Dorothy greet you as soon as we drove up and I could tell they were glad to see us. Comfortable king size bed. I loved the fireplace at night. Great place for families or just a romantic get away. Our cabin had a large deck and we enjoyed sitting outside hearing the wind and the trees. Within 5 minutes from area amenities and 10 minutes from casinos. Mike and Dorothy will show you hospitality and professionalism at its best.

Room Tip: All cabins have a great location. Call Mike and Dorothy if you have any questions, I did and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ppaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ruidoso hotels
1.7 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Suites
0.5 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#6 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruidoso Inn
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#3 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sitzmark Chalet Inn
Sitzmark Chalet Inn
#2 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.5 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idle Hour Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idle Hour Lodge

Property: Idle Hour Lodge
Address: 112 Lower Terrace Dr, Ruidoso,NM Lincoln National Forest, Ruidoso, NM 88345-6819
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 Rustic, cozy, cabins in the tall pines, with a vintage, nostalgic flair of the "Old Ruidoso". All cabins have a fireplace, kitchen and deck. PET FRIENDLY:) Walking distance to Midtown,shopping, restaurants and grocery. Just minutes from Skiing, Ziplining and Casinos. OPEN YEAR ROUND! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing