We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't actually get to ride here”
Review of Grindstone Stables

Grindstone Stables
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One hour guided horseback rides for the whole family! Please call for prices and reservations.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Didn't actually get to ride here”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I didn't know what review rating to give as we never actually got to ride here. On Tuesday 11th September at around 10am we drove down to the stables to make a reservation for a ride for my partner and myself, but there were 2 signs on the gate (wish I'd taken a photo). One saying "Open" and one next to it saying "Closed". As the barred gate was across the track leading to the stables we took notice of the one saying closed and turned around. Call before you go to make sure they're open is my recommendation. I've given a "poor" rating due to the confusing signage and lack of explanation.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Fussyminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grindstonehorses, Owner at Grindstone Stables, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
I'm am sorry we were not available for you to ride during you visit. We have historically only been open during the summer months, but have recently started opening on Sat and Sun during the "off season". The gates are shut when the business is closed, and phone number is provided to obtain more information. Walk-ins are welcome, but reservations are recommended to insure availability. I apologize again for not being able to accommodate you, and I hope in the future we are able to take you out on a ride.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    8
    1
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fun and relaxing!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I decided to give horseback riding a try and found out about Grindstone Stables from Tripadvisor, and we are glad we did. It was 30 bucks per horse (plus a nice tip at the end for the guides), and the ride lasted about an hour, which I think is well-worth it. The trail is really pretty and you get some great views. The guides are friendly and help you to get the hang of riding a horse if you're not very experienced (we are not!). I think for the price, the time spent, and the relaxing mountain air you get to take in, it is definitely something you should try. We plan to return and bring the kiddos next time, they would love it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 5pyrates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fun, fun, fun!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great value and wonderful people...you will not go wrong here! We were not experienced riders, but they treated us well and we had a great time!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WE WILL GO BACK!”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was the highlight of our trip. We loved the cowboys, especially Squirrel. He is one of a kind! My little one rode with her Daddy and my big girl rode a horse by herself for the very first time. The views were INCREDIBLE. $120 for our three horses INCLUDING A GOOD TIP but well worth it. We loved it and the girls are still talking about it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stables friendly staff”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have used the Grindstone Stables twice and had a wonderful experience both times. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The trial ride is beautiful.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grindstone Stables also viewed

 

Been to Grindstone Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing