We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is outstanding...everything else is average at best!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Point Owners Association

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crown Point Owners Association
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
1 review
“Location is outstanding...everything else is average at best!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Upon check in I was surprised at how warm the unit was and was informed that all fans had already been checked out. The unit had multiple dead moths in the bathrooms and kitchen. The master bathroom had a foul smell (smelled like sewer gas)that I got used to after about a day.
The desk staff were friendly and moderately helpful but I did have an issue with a rude maintenance man and I was told he was new and "needed training" when I brought the issue to the front desks attention. The gym is a waste of time its a tiny room above the front desk with barely usable Walmart type equipment. You should just plan on getting your workouts out on one of the nearby trails.
The acomadations were basic but acceptable for this type of country resort. Beautiful views overlooking the valley were nice. If your wanting to get in some fishing then I would recommend Gindstone reservoir . My son went there to fish 4 days and caught the trout limit by 9:00am every day.
All in all this is a basic rustic adequate place to stay while you enjoy the wilderness and outdoor activities of Ruidoso.... Not even worthy of the title "resort" in my opinion. If you come here expecting any more then this... You will leave disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriotMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    28
    17
    2
    3
See reviews for
32
21
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Valley City, Utah
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We spent a week at Crown Point the end of June and we loved it. While the accommodations are not five star (we weren't expecting them to be), the condo was spacious and well equipped. The area is beautiful and our unit was literally feet from the forest. We saw lots of wildlife throughout the week including a bear.

We travel with six children so having larger living areas was nice. We stayed in a three bedroom unit. All three rooms were upstairs and the rooms were good sized. There was a surprising lack of dresser space so we did have to live out of our suitcases, but I guess that isn't the end of the world.

The kitchens and bathrooms were serviceable although a bit run down. We cook all of our meals in our room and the kitchen was well equipped for that (the knives could do with occasional sharpening, they were sad excuses for cutting tools). However, there were mixing bowls, pots and pans a plenty and we had no trouble cooking and serving to our hearts content.

There is an on site pool/hot tub as well as tennis courts, basketball courts and racquet ball courts. Our kids enjoyed that. We also took advantage of the on site washer/dryer.

Be aware that there is no air conditioning in the units here. The week we were there it stayed fairly cool so we did ok (it was in the mid 70's most days) but if it got hot the rooms would really get sweltering. We left windows open and fans on day and night and did just fine.

We took several great day trips including a visit to Valley of Fire, White Sands, Three Rivers Petroglyphs, and Monjeau lookout. We had an excursion to Roswell (where we sadly saw no aliens) and also visited the Billy the Kid Museum and the Museum of the American West. There was plenty to do nearby and we had a lot of fun. We also spent an afternoon exploring Ruidoso main street and loved the feel of the town.

We had a great vacation and for us this condo was a nice fit. Don't expect deluxe lodging and be prepared to love the beauty of the area and you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at this place May 10th thru 17th, 2013 and have never been so disappointed! These units are not recommended for elderly or handicapped persons. There are too many steep stairs and the bathrooms are absolutely too small with small lowboy toilets! The staff at this resort are not helpful as they do nothing for you! All of the resorts policies are geared towards making it easy on/for the staff. I would not recommend this resort to my friends or relatives and I will not ever stay there again!!! Very disappointed to say the least.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Billy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

The best things about our unit was the nice location above the valley, in the woods, and the spaciousness of the unit. It was very clean also.
If you have a bad knee/knees it could be hard going up the steep steps to an upper level unit, esp if carrying bags or groceries, but it wasnt a real problem for us.
The indoor/pool hot-tub was out of order the day we arrived but back in service a couple days later. We went to the lounge room above the office a couple times to use the wifi; thats where the exercise machines are (off to one side) and a number of tables and chairs. The wifi worked well. Cell service is good in the rooms and we had a good highdef TV and a basic dvd player we used. We had a fullsize frig and stove/range and dishwasher and there were ample utensils, dishes and pots for preparing/serving meals. We enjoyed watching the many swallows flying around on the patio side.
Just a few minor negatives: the florescent light fixture in one bathroom hummed a little and sometimes flickered, the one in the other bathroom was too dim. The floor around the dining table squeaked loudly when you walked around there. The sliding glass door to the little patio wouldnt lock (but we were on 2nd floor and overlooking a hill with a dropoff). Overall we really liked it and enjoyed all the things to see in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side have a good view of the main Ruidoso canyon; wished we had one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

As others have mentioned: the views from crown point are good (although our balcony view was all trees), the location is convenient, but the property is dated. Pool & workout equipment are useable but could use updating. The units are clean & homey with a nice little fireplace (you will pay $4 at desk for approved firewood). Kitchen utensils are very basic, but we found what we needed. The unit space was fine for our family. I think it would be difficult to stay here with young kids as there is not much to do/space for them to play, but that was not a problem for us. There are several day trips easily accessible from the area. We would recommend this as a basic and comfortable retreat option.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmae03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Lakes, Colorado
Level Contributor
99 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We just returned from a week at the Crown Point Condominiums in Ruidoso and enjoyed our stay very much. We were planning a trip to Carlsbad Caverns and staying at this resort was only a 2-1/2 hour drive to the Caverns which made it a very nice day trip. The resort is older as mentioned before; however, the staff does an excellent job in maintaining it with what they have to work with. Our unit was very clean and the kitchen was stocked very nicely so you could prepare meals in if you wanted. The resort sits on a mountain top and overlooks the mountains and a view of the city. It is a very pretty view. The staff was very helpful and friendly. When we checked in, the housekeeper had just finished cleaning our unit and she just started helping us carry things into the unit. She was so sweet and helpful. We really appreciated her assisting us with that and it didn't take any time at all to "settle in". One morning we had the deer roaming through the complex and it was so nice to see. The location of the resort is great and away from downtown so it is very nice and quiet. The resort is close to Walmart/Walgreens and other shopping experiences and it doesn't take long to go downtown to visit many of the local shops.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank queen313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
180 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Let me start off by saying there are a lot of workmen around so I assume there is updating going on in some of the buildings. I hope during this update they put new equipment in the workout area, I tried to use the treadmill and the belt would barely turn.
The rooms were very dated but functional and clean. The dishwasher ran but did not clean the dishes even after two washings. We ended up doing them by hand. The is no insulation between the upper and lower unit so if you have someone over you it can be very noisey. The view from the room was outstanding sitting on top of the mountain looking down into the town. The desk personnel were friendly and helpful. On the whole it served our purpose.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ruidoso hotels
2.4 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
2.7 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
1.8 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Village Lodge
Village Lodge
#13 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruidoso Inn
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 23 in Ruidoso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Point Owners Association? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Point Owners Association

Property: Crown Point Owners Association
Address: 220 Crown Dr, Ruidoso, NM 88355
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Point Owners Association 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Crown Point Owners Association reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Point Owners Association Hotel Ruidoso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing