We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views from resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crown Point Owners Association
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We just returned from a week at the Crown Point Condominiums in Ruidoso and enjoyed our stay very much. We were planning a trip to Carlsbad Caverns and staying at this resort was only a 2-1/2 hour drive to the Caverns which made it a very nice day trip. The resort is older as mentioned before; however, the staff does an excellent job in maintaining it with what they have to work with. Our unit was very clean and the kitchen was stocked very nicely so you could prepare meals in if you wanted. The resort sits on a mountain top and overlooks the mountains and a view of the city. It is a very pretty view. The staff was very helpful and friendly. When we checked in, the housekeeper had just finished cleaning our unit and she just started helping us carry things into the unit. She was so sweet and helpful. We really appreciated her assisting us with that and it didn't take any time at all to "settle in". One morning we had the deer roaming through the complex and it was so nice to see. The location of the resort is great and away from downtown so it is very nice and quiet. The resort is close to Walmart/Walgreens and other shopping experiences and it doesn't take long to go downtown to visit many of the local shops.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank queen313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 82 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Let me start off by saying there are a lot of workmen around so I assume there is updating going on in some of the buildings. I hope during this update they put new equipment in the workout area, I tried to use the treadmill and the belt would barely turn.
The rooms were very dated but functional and clean. The dishwasher ran but did not clean the dishes even after two washings. We ended up doing them by hand. The is no insulation between the upper and lower unit so if you have someone over you it can be very noisey. The view from the room was outstanding sitting on top of the mountain looking down into the town. The desk personnel were friendly and helpful. On the whole it served our purpose.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My son and his wife asked us to go to Ruidoso for Christmas . We love to do Christmas with them and the two grandchildren. Ruidoso is one of my favorite places in the summer and it was wonderful at Christmas time. The Crown Point Condos are an older facility we have not previously visited. The view of Sudderth St and and downtown Ruidoso was awesome with all the decorations.
There were four adults and two children so the adults had the bedrooms and the children were given the sofa bed in the living room. As small as it was it was adequate. The arrangement was very good except for my husband who rises early and had nowhere to go without waking someone. We resolved that by his preparing the coffee pot the night before and bringing it to the bedroom where we had our coffee in private early in the mornings. Small price to pay, this was the only discomfort in our accomdations... EXCEPT ..we were on the bottom floor and when people checked into the floor above we would have sworn there was a herd of elephants above us. Our four year old grandson was even frightened by the noise, not having previously been subjected to such noise above him. There apparently is very little insulation between the floors. Fortunately they only stayed two days. A small inconvenience was a lack of wi-fi in the units .
We prepared a full Christmas dinner with Turkey and dressing , ham and the works. The kitchen is stocked with minimal cooking appliances so be aware you may need to bring some with you. It did have everything needed for light meal preparation though only six of all serving dishes so dishes had to be washed after each meal and in between for glasses.
We did not utilize the resort facilities so can't comment on them. The wild life was nice, a big buck visited our area several times.
It snowed on Christmas Eve and we all had an absolutely wonderful time playing the snow. A wondrous White Christmas was had by all.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper as my husband and I are you need to consider a second floor unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Betty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The complex is on top of a small plateau that overlooks Ruidoso, so the views from the upstairs unit we were in were fantastic.

The pool is quite small, but the resort wasn't at all crowded so we were fine, but our 3 kids took up a lot of space in it.

There is plenty of wildlife in the surrounding cabin community. We saw deer, turkeys, porcupine, skunks and black bears.

My main gripe was the difficulty in walking anywhere from the complex. It was in a beautiful area, but there is absolutely no easy way to see it on foot. There are no hiking trails or sidewalks anywhere on the hill. I went jogging one morning on the road, but wouldn't recommend walking the road because it's so narrow and has a relatively high speed limit.

The unit was clean and spacious. If I had to stay in Ruidoso again, I'd probably stay here. But, if I have the choice, I'd avoid Ruidoso all together and go to Cloudcroft.

Room Tip: Upstairs in an end unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tasdemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We shared a two bedroom, two bath unit with friends who live in New Mexico. We all had lots of space to sleep, eat and relax in comfort.

The location has a great view of Ruidoso and fantastic sunsets and at the same time is close to downtown and other activities. The resort is older, yet very functional.

Room Tip: Views from building two were perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucilleand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in a condominium. It was ideal for me, my wife and 18 year old son.
He had his own room and privacy. The view was great from the back of the condominium.
They have an indoor pool and jacuzzi that were well maintained.
No internet access from room but who cares, we were on vacation!
They also have tennis court(s?) available.
The staff were helpful and the price was great!
Will stay longer next time.
You can call them directly and get a good rate.
No meals provided so pack food (it is a short drive down hill) and there is a Walmart in town, close by.

Room Tip: Some condominiums have stairs so be aware if you have difficulty with this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hedley007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed 6 persons in a 2 floor condominium and to be honest we were really surprised. This condo has everything , and I mean everything! (Except wi-fi in each condo, which the webpage already states this). We just had to buy the groceries to cook our own food, since the condo had stove,microwave,dishwasher,silverware,dishes,fridge,etc.. It had 2 balconies, and 3 separate bedrooms. The beds were comfortable, restrooms were very clean, the lobby personnel were very kind with us. They offer compliment coffee and donuts at 9am each morning and the place has Jacuzzi, pool table , swimming pool and a book area where you can exchange any books you read. I would return definitely!!!If you are looking for commodity this is the right place!

Room Tip: All rooms have balcony with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alex_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ruidoso hotels
2.3 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
2.6 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
2.6 mi away
Village Lodge
Village Lodge
#11 of 23 in Ruidoso
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pinecliff Village
Pinecliff Village
#16 of 23 in Ruidoso
84 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#4 of 23 in Ruidoso
209 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites - Ruidoso Hwy 70
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Point Owners Association? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Point Owners Association

Address: 220 Crown Dr, Ruidoso, NM 88355
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range: $127 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Point Owners Association 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Crown Point Owners Association reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Point Owners Association Hotel Ruidoso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing