We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Day In the Forest” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lincoln National Forest

Ranked #1 of 31 things to do in Ruidoso
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This vast 1.1 million-acre forest region is comprised of separate recreational sections including Ruidoso Valley, Cloudcroft and Carlsbad, which are all located throughout the southern Rocky Mountains of New Mexico.
Ruidoso, New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Day In the Forest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

I love Lincoln National Forest. It's a great place to hike and get alone with your thoughts and say "Thank You" for the forest. It is a privilege to live in the mountains and enjoy Lincoln National Forest. There are also places to camp and ride horses. Plus, you can have a picnic for the day. An enjoyable time for families and friends.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank TJO47185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    49
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A bowl of fresh air”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

If you want to get away from the desert and its suffocating air, go for a hike into this forest ! Fresh air of the mountain, see wildlife, trees. Purely refreshing.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Quentin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A wonderful back to Nature area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

This National forest is well maintained and just a wonderful place to visit. It is a visitor friendly enviroment.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
108 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“So much to see!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

It's home to Smokey Bear, and an awesome lookout tower at 9600 feet (it's called Monjeau). That's the west side, the east is more desert like but has some gems too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank hikingsierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“pretty but ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We were only there two days so I know we didn't find everything. Half of the roads we traveled through the Forrest were fairly well kept gravel roads. We go to RMNP/Roosevelt Forrest quite often and most everything is interstate smooth, paved roads. We had no problems in Lincoln but if it were rainy it might cause trouble for some. None of the stream had water from low snowfall this year.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 5150leroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lincoln National Forest also viewed

 

Been to Lincoln National Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing