We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of The Cleaner Reservations We Have Seen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mescalero Apache Reservation

Mescalero Apache Reservation
Ranked #12 of 30 things to do in Ruidoso
Type:
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1873 by presidential order, this reservation covers 720 square miles of land in the south central part of New Mexico, where approximately 3,000 tribal members live.
Texas
Level Contributor
1,284 reviews
482 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
“One of The Cleaner Reservations We Have Seen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

A pleasant drive through going from Ruidoso to either Cloud Crofth or Alamogordo. They have several restaurants and casinos. But it is also goof to visit some of the tribal areas and get the field of the actual reservation and not just the tourist spots. Years ago we also went to one of the tribal Powwows it was great to see the costumes.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank CDM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    12
    7
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ruidoso, New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“They Can Do Better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The reservation is a pretty place to visit and I enjoy that. I don't gamble so I usually just go to the casino to eat. The buffet isn't as good as it used to be and the service isn't like it used to be either. The food used to be great and so was the service. Maybe it's just on the days I'm there. I would encourage everyone to see Mescalero Reservation. There is golf, casinos, a beautiful lake and the have live concerts on the week-ends. Give it a try. I still do.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TJO47185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
Level Contributor
207 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great Place...!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Attended the Fathers Day Powwow and had an awesome time, in spite of stormy weather Fri night and wind with dirt on Saturday and Sunday. It is so pretty there and the people are friendly. Nice to have a pretty place to explore. Check it out on your next trip to New Mexico!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trickstersawpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Nice Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

While visiting friends in Ruidoso they took me to the restaurant located on the reservation. They serve New Mexico-style Mexican food (as opposed to Tex-Mex). The service was adequate, the place was clean and the food was above average. I would certainly go back - Recommended!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TXRailroader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great entertainment and just fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

It's always fun to try your luck. There is a large casino area, private club, hotel, and many concerts. You can also rent paddle boats or relax by the lake. There is a nice restaurant and bar to relax also.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mescalero Apache Reservation also viewed

 

Been to Mescalero Apache Reservation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing