We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

My husband and I got married at Leopard Hills 4 years prior to our most recent visit.
It was fantastic to be back and Duncan and Louise (The managers) made us feel very special, once again. It was like returning to see friends. We hope to to wait 4 more years before returning again.
The game is awesome as are the guides (we had Gary this time). All staff are exceptional and the food and wine is lovely.
Overall we LOVE leopard hills and wish that everyone could experience it once in their life. It is expensive, but you certainly get what you pay for!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    17
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
32
160
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

We recently stayed at Leopard Hills and I can not say enough great things about our stay. The accomodation is excellent, luxurious and private with great attention to detail, the food is truely first class with wonderful flavours combined with high quality ingredients and great south african wine. The staff are all very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

The game viewing is wonderful - opportunity to get really close with the animals without feeling like you are crowding them or upsetting them in any way and the lodge lives up to its name we saw so many different leopards it was breath takings. The range and spotter are very talented and also happy to help with photographic advise.

We got married while at the lodge and we can not thank the whole team enough. The day was absolutely perfect and we will never forgot the whole experience.

We can not wait to return - littel piece of heaven

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lovetoexplore2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

I know it's all been said before, but as a dedicated Tripadvisor reader, I had to reinforce previous reviews. It really is quality all the way - in terms of accommodation , food , staff, welcome , rangers and organistaion. We saw an amazing array of wildlife and were delighted in every way . This place truly is hard to fault, but don't forget to look at the other Seasons in Africa properties as they are all gorgeous and some are a bit cheaper if this is too expensive for you.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gkab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

My husband and I have been all over the world and had the pleasure of staying at some very wonderful places, but our experience at leopard hills is one that we will never forget. We were there for 5 days and can’t wait to go back!

Within the first 24 hours we had seen all of the big 5. we saw a leopard chewing on an impala in a tree, leopards drinking from our neighbor’s plunge pool, leopards hunting a kudu at sunset. In fact we saw leopards 4 out of 5 days we were there! Lions, elephants, buffalo, rhino, giraffes, hippos, and the list goes on and on!

Our ranger Raymond and tracker Ronald were outstanding and it was one awe-inspiring moment after the next. They were also some of the warmest and most helpful people you could meet.

In addition to the game viewing, the lodge is beautiful with 8 cottages fit for royalty. Each has a huge canopy bed with a lounge area, inside/outside shower, footed bathtub, mini-bar, and sprawling deck with plunge pool. It was a place I could not have envisioned in even my most elaborate safari fantasy. The service is excellent and I did not want for anything our whole stay.

The food was delicious and plentiful. Hot breakfast cooked to order, dinners at the boma, sunset drinks in the bush, and Raymond & Ronald’s famous “bush mix” at sunrise. (Coffee, Amarula & hot chocolate).

One day I walked out of my cottage and there was a kudu ram nonchalantly passing through. Meanwhile a vervet monkey helped himself to a croissant I foolishly left out on our table. One thing is certain, Leopard Hills delivers the best game drive experience with incredible luxury and we will be back. Thank you all so much!

I would be happy to answer any specific questions, just let me know.
Emily

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmypar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

Leopard Hills is an utterly wonderful place where we enjoyed many outstanding experiences in the bush. World-class in all respects. It was both a pleasure and a privilege to spend time with our extraordinary Ranger (Gary) and Tracker (Ronald). The most discriminating travelers will appreciate this unique, friendly, and ultra-civilized lodge.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJAinLA90024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

If you are contemplating a safari trip then we would recomend this place at the top of your list, from the second the small plane touched down at the airstrip we was treated like royalty,
we travelled with our friends who have visitied this place numerous times and who have always said how wondeful and spectacular it was and they was spot on with their description
Duncan and Louise the managers and their children and what seemed like all the staff where waiting at the reception to welcome us with a cold beer and anything else we could imagine
after a thorough explaination of the entire lodge and all the facillities inc game drive times ,meals ,library wi fi and gym etc etc etc we was escorted to our room which was room no 8 which had the most breathtaking view i have ever seen along with outside and inside showers four poster bed and all over looking the wonderful bush as far as the eye could see.
the mini bar had a full stock of soft and alcoholic drinks which were re filled everyday (we had champange on the deck watching elephants wander by!!)
i had an outside shower one afternoon and i had a monkey sitting on the post next to me 3ft away , never been in a shower with a monkey before but theres always a first time i guess!!
Cant sign of without a mention about all the staff and rangers and trackers

DUNCAN& LOUISE, perfect hosts it was like we was at home with friends we had known for years thanks for the saturday night and boma night your dancing Duncan was amazing along with the instrument playing

GARY OUR RANGER ,was perfect he was a wealth of information regarding all the animals and knew the bush like a london taxi driver ,he was fun and entertaining as well which was very funny and the drives passed all to quickly id say he was almost like an encyclopedia lol fyoo (private joke)

ABI OUR TRACKER, didnt miss a thing all week especially the male lion coming out the bushes behind us in the pitch dark thanks so much for seeing that or i might not be writing this today lol

BIG STEVE AND THE RESTURANT GUYS, brilliant service in everyway they all remembered our first names from day one which was fantastic and very nice for us it seemed so much more personal that way, sadly Steve your dancing wasnt as good as Duncans

SMILING SHANE OFFICE GUY AND GENRAL HAPPY CHAPPY, thanks so much for your brilliant smile people wont realise it till they see you, your smile it just sums up the complete atmosphere at LH thanks so much

ALAN & ABBY MCMAHON 23RD JULY 2010

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COLBY12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2010

The accommodations at Leopard Hills are top notch. We loved the private plunge pool and hammock on our deck. There's nothing better than relaxing on the deck in the sun in anticipation of your next game drive.

There is great attention to detail - the entire staff knows and greets you by name. A traditional bedtime story is left on your pillow at night. A hot bath awaits your return from an evening game drive. The food is excellent (and plentiful!). There's a gym, which I really appreciated.

The game drives were fantastic. Our ranger, Marius, was very knowledgeable (particularly about photography). Leopard Hills shares traversing rights with a few other lodges, which actually seemed to be a good thing. We never had to wait, and it meant that there were more eyes and ears looking for animals.

A highlight of the trip was a trip to a local village that the lodge organized.

We also went to nearby Kings Camp in Timbavati. Although the accommodations were not quite as spectacular, the price is much more reasonable and we saw more animals on our game drive (including the rare white lions).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
18.8 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#4 of 13 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
15.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
7.9 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#15 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#11 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
1.5 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
7.5 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#16 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve

Property: Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Address: Kruger National Park 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve > Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopard Hills Hotel Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing