We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific game lodge in Sabi Sands - Kruger National Park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inyati Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inyati Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrific game lodge in Sabi Sands - Kruger National Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had a wonderful 4 night stay at Inyati. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable, the food was excellent, the staff very courteous and helpful, and the guides and trackers did an outstanding job finding the animals for us. The grounds are un-fenced and animals will roam the big lawn down to the river frequently, including elephants and hippos. This was a marvelous Africa experience that we'll never forget.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelinTomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InyatiGL, General Manager at Inyati Game Lodge, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your safari experience at Inyati Game Lodge and certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm bushveld regards

Keith Jenkinson
Manager
Inyati Game Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    48
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
136
163
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We recently spent 4 days 3 nights at Inyati Private Game reserve and had a wonderful stay.

1. Wildlife Viewing: This was our first wildlife safari and I could now understand why most first time travellers rate their lodges as 5/5. This is because of fantastic wildlife viewing experience available at Sabi Sands Private Game Reserve. Now I can’t compare our sightings with those of other lodges but we saw lions, leopards, elephants, rhinos from so close (at times just a few feet away) that we were completely blown away. I understood that western sector of Sabi Sands has better game viewing as there are more trackers/rangers in search of wildlife and they usually cooperate with each other to share their sighting. As a result, one could enjoy numerous sightings though obviously a balance needs to be found between the time one spends at a viewing and making space for others to get a view (as in most cases no. of jeeps are limited to no more than 2 or 3 depending at each sighting). However, we usually found that we got to spent sufficient time at each of the sighting apart from one fine morning when we had to let go of a pair of male lions to let others come in. This is a standard protocol that almost everyone follows irrespective of the lodge. As the lodge was not fully booked when we were there in September so we only had 6 guests in our jeep for all 4 days which was really good. We also took a bush walk on one morning, with Matt our ranger walking us through the bush (No serious wildlife sightings but was a good and informative walk and we really liked that and would recommend it.) There are occasions when you may drive around the reserve while waiting to get in for the prime sighting but it’s usually done in a way which is not very obvious.

2.Room & Lodge: We stayed in an executive chalet and it was superb. It has a bit of rustic styling which was quite fit for the safari. However room was spacious with a comfortable bed, an open bath and outside decks which could be playground for small monkeys etc. if you decide to stay indoors. The lodge lawns are also frequented by deer, warthogs etc. during the day. There is a riverside deck (viewing platform) where you could try your luck at tracking wildlife when not out on a safari. One of the best thing about Inyati is wide open river-side expanse that faces the lodge. It is a perfect place for wildlife sightings and on 2 of the mornings we sighted lions and hippos across the river bank even before heading off for morning safari. Overall, quite happy with room and lodge.

3.Food: The meals at Inyati consist of (i) Morning tea/coffee and snacks at 5:30am before the safari, (ii) Another tea break around 8am or so during the safari, (iii) Brunch at around 10:30am after returning from safari. This consists of a buffet spread (cold meats, cereals, yoghurts, bread, one cooked vegetable, salads etc.) and you could order eggs as per your choice and bread toast etc. We found the brunch quite adequate though I presume that it could be stepped up a notch or so, (iv) At around 3pm, this is time for another round of snacks before evening safari and this usually included some nice filling snacks. (v) As the light fades, time for a stop for sundowners – Matt and Nelson (our tracker) usually found some nice pretty stops for us to enjoy the sundowner (complimentary) with chips, nuts etc., (vi) After return from the safari around 7:00pm/7:30pm time to get together for drinks. While drinks are not complimentary but they are very well priced and so I preferred this to a few other lodges where drinks are factored into the price of accommodation. (viii) Finally, time for dinner – dinner was usually a 3-course affair and easily the best meal of the day. Delicious and well prepared. We also had a boma dinner one day which I found to be less intimate but nonetheless equally delicious. Overall, before going to Inyati my main concern was whether we would be missing a proper lunch but I don’t think that’s the case as after getting up at 5am – a good brunch followed by good rest is all that you need before the snacks at 3:30pm. We had a few dietary restrictions and on almost all occasions our dietary requirements were well looked after.

4. Others: Lodge has a wi-fi at the common lobby/lounge area which I think is sufficient to keep you connected with outside world without being too involved

5. Suggestion: One suggestion I would like to make is if the ranger could be more flexible with tea/sundowner stops during safari. It’s good to get a break and relax on a day with frequent sightings but on a lighter day guests may prefer the wildlife to drinks especially on evening drives when part of the safari after dark is understandably not that rewarding. Additionally, the brunch could do well with some more variety just to make it an even better experience.
Overall, I think Inyati is an excellent place for safari because of quality of wildlife viewing. It may not be exceptionally luxurious but was extremely comfortable and we found no reasons to feel that our stay was in anyway less comfortable or enjoyable then what we had expected.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A_Wanderer_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InyatiGL, Marketing Manager at Inyati Game Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
What a lovely comprehensive review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your safari experience at Inyati Game Lodge.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm bushveld regards

Leighanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at Inyati for 2 nights recently and were quite amazed at the abundance and diversity of the game we saw in such a short time.The wonderful leopard sightings were the highlight for us and it was the reason for our visit to this area although we have visited many other reserves on our numerous SA trips. The guides Matt and Keith were excellent, very informative and their focus was not purely on the big 5 but other smaller creatures and birds. The one thing we were not used to seeing was so many safari lodge vehicles at the sightings even though there is a certain etiquette regarding fair viewing it took a bit of getting used to. The lodge itself has a lovely open outlook with pool and although the rooms are clean, comfortable and adequate the decor and bathroom could do with a bit of sprucing up The meals are good and wholesome and dinner is partly self serve (mains ) served in a semi enclosed Boma which has a large open fireplace and is lit at night creating a nice ambience but can get quite hot if you are close to it. Also, the semi circular seating makes it a bit hard to interact with any others unless sitting right next to you and the sandy floor is a bit of a pain to walk on.... open toed shoes are not a good idea . Inyati is not luxury plus and the pricing reflects this and I certainly can't see the point of paying mega $$ for accommodation when animal diversity,knowledgeable guides / trackers and excellent game viewing are the primary goals for us and in that regard Inyati delivers well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank stargaize1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InyatiGL, Marketing Manager at Inyati Game Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
I am pleased that you have enjoyed your first experience at Inyati and hopefully it won’t be the last one. Speaking on behalf of the Keith and his Inyati team we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm bushveld regards

Leighanne Dawkins
Inyati Game Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at Inyati for 3 days as part of a Kruger combo trip organised by Wild Wings Safaris. We wanted to experience both the Kruger National Park and a good private game lodge in Sabie Sands. Inyati was a top notch choice for private game lodge. The Lodge has a beautiful setting right on the Sand River, and the accommodation is clean and good. Facillities are excellent including a pool and gym, bar area and outdoor lounge and eating areas.

The staff are all friendly and efficient. The guides and trackers are superb and they join guests for dinner. Sabie Sands is known for lions and leopards ard we were rewarded with many sightings of both. We were also lucky to get up close to cheetah and African wild dog family groups and we appreciated how rare an experience this was. Not to mention rhinos, hippos, buffalo, elephants, hyenas, giraffe, zebra, many antelope species, birds, monkeys, etc.

Would thoroughly recommend the Kruger and Inyati to anyone thinking of visiting South Africa. It was truly memorable!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MargoH22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InyatiGL, General Manager at Inyati Game Lodge, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon.

Francis Jenkinson
Manageress
Inyati Game Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
302 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

If I could give Inyati ten stars, I would! Our stay and safari experience at Inyati was not only the best experience of our trip, it was the best place we've ever been in the world. The rooms themselves were very clean and spacious with all the amenities you could ask for including a coffee maker, small refrigerator, and bottled water. The food was also excellent; you will never go hungry! Days start early with a small breakfast (coffee, tea, juice and some muffins) before your first game drive. Upon return, a large brunch is served consisting of made-to-order eggs, breakfast meats, toast, etc. Before the afternoon game drive you can enjoy tea and snacks with a full dinner being served upon your return from the drive. Some nights we sat on the porch and other nights we sat by the fire in the boma! The guides generally rotate sitting with the guests each night so you can really ask a lot of questions and learn so much from them - it really added to our whole experience.

I can't say enough about the staff overall, which were so knowledgeable and dedicated. Our guide was Khimbini and our tracker was Roger who were both just exceptional. You can tell that the staff truly enjoys working at Inyati which is evidenced by how long most of them have been with the lodge, even people like the head waiter and barman who have been there for over 15 years!

Finally, the game drives themselves were just amazing. We saw all of the big five, crocodiles, wild dogs, hyenas, giraffes, countless types of antelopes, warthogs, a chameleon, etc. You name it, we saw it! These drives were the adventure of a lifetime that left my heart racing at times and almost brought me to tears at other times. I can definitely see why guests return to Inyati time and time again. We sure will!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hfritzinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighanne D, Marketing Manager at Inyati Game Lodge, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your review.

I will personally pass this lovely comments to both Khimbini and Roger as I am sure it will make their day.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Inyati soon.

Warm bushveld regards

Leighanne Dawkins
Inyati Game Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Its not surprising that Keith and his team manage to get people to return again and again - met people who have been coming for a decade. Our two day visit was as memorable as the last and we are sure this will not be the last. The rooms are large and comfortable, the food good and far too much. The breakfast spread leaves you too full to move before your pre-safari tea, sundowners on safari and dinner - altogether too good considering we are not exercising enough
The game drives are truly memorable - Keith as your guide is very knowledgeable and made our trip even better. We saw the big five multiple times and so much more but the two highlights were the wild dog den (and the interaction of the pups with their mother/father/pack) and on the last morning the cheetah female with her two cubs an interaction between 3 lionesses who were keeping their seven cubs safe from marauding hyenas and wild dogs all at the same time/place.
A very important emphasis at Inyati is on conservation and Keith and his team help in many ways to reduce the poaching which is turning out to be a real problem.

Room Tip: The best rooms are near the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dilipjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighanne D, Marekting Manager at Inyati Game Lodge, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your thoughtful review.

I am pleased that you have enjoyed your latest experience at Inyati. Our team are committed to keeping you updated. Please follow our Facebook page for daily updates.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Inyati.

Warm bushveld regards

Leighanne Dawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great viewings : mating leopards , mating lions , wild dogs, 1 week old rhino baby with its mum, big herd of buffalos, elefants, during the safari/ leopard from the view deck and even leopard at 5 m from our room in the lodge area at evening!! All these views because of the good job of our ranger, Duard, and the tracker Roger. The lodge offers good food (in the boma, at evening) and the staff is very gentle and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Doris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighanne D, Marketing Manager at Inyati Game Lodge, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope that we can offer you the Inyati experience again soon.

Warm bushveld regards

Leighanne Dawkins
Inyati Game Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inyati Private Game Reserve
6.4 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#7 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
15.6 mi away
andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp
andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp
#10 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
7.2 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#2 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.5 mi away
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Leopard Hills Private Game Reser...
#1 of 1 in Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inyati Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inyati Game Lodge

Property: Inyati Game Lodge
Address: Sabi Sand Game Reserve | Greater Kruger National Park, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve > Inyati Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Inyati Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inyati Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inyati Game Lodge is situated in arguably one of the best game viewing areas in the Africa & most prestigious private conservation areas, the Sabi Sand Reserve (Wildtuin). Home to the free roaming 'Big Five' (elephant, rhino, lion, leopard and buffalo), as well as cheetah, wild dog and hundreds of other species of animals, birds and plants indigenous to the area. Our highly trained and experienced guides with their trackers ensure that your safari experience ranks amongst the finest in Africa. At Inyati, you can look forward to fantastic close-up experiences with Africa's wildlife on every game drive. #inyatisafari ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, South African Hotels, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Inyati Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inyati Game Hotel Inyati Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing