We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best exprerience of our lives”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best exprerience of our lives”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Our group of 4 adults and 2 kids stayed at Inyati for 3 nights in June. Keith and Norman were our guide and tracker for our safaris. Keith is so passionate about wildlife and flowers and plants in the bush. He made our vacation memorable. He went out of his way to make sure we felt safe but at the same time had the best time of our lives. We saw all the Big 5 on our very first safari. We even saw a lion kill Buffalo and another group of lions feeding on another. After looking at some of the more expensive resorts such as Mala Mala and Londolozzi etc we decided on Inyati. Not only did we save money, but the experience we had here I doubt would be reproduced anywhere else. They were so thoughtful in organizing everything, from hot water bags on early morning safaris to warm blankets for the feet at night. We were vegetarians and I was packing some protein bars for the kids just in case the food was inadequate for vegetarians. We have never had such delicious vegetarian options in dinner and brunch. Absolutely wonderful! Would go again and again if I could and would request Keith every time !!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VijiK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this lovely review. I am delighted to know that your recent experience has been a success and I will gladly share your comments with the Inyati team, which I am sure it will excite them. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm bushveld regards

Leighanne Dawkins
Inyati Game Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    48
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
140
168
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Inyati Game Lodge has the best location in the Sabi Sands Game Reserve because you have extensive views of the bush. You can sit on the terrace and watch the Elephants, antelopes, etc on the other side of the river bed.

The lodge also does not have a fence which means that you have wild animals roaming through. We have seen lions, buffalo, elephant, and hippo.

Because lodge has direct river frontage you often have the chance to see hippos at night as they usually come out to graze.

The rooms are big, comfortable, clean and the service really friendly and helpful. Super Rangers!

We have been regular visitors to this lodge for the past 10 years and I must say we have always had excellent game drives, always seen the big 5 and the quality has always been maintained.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cape-town-best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. I am very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your experience with us. I hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm bushveld regards

Leighanne Dawkins
Inyati Game Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We first went in 2009 then made the long trip back again in 2011 and it was just a spectacular as the first time. The second time the inlaws came along and loved it just as much as us.

Everything was perfect, the game drives right down to the food. Our driver and tracker Piet and Nelson were great. The food was magnificent and the location was spectacular. I am not usually one that is lost for words but Inyati left me speechless.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigandCorrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
542 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I had a fabulous time here. The eight game drives I went on were all amazing. We had a great ranger (Kimbini) and tracker (Richard) who are very enthusiastic and knowledgable. Kimbini is also a photographer so he was extremely skilled about positioning our vehicle in the best location for photos. we got surprisingly close to the animals without feeling unsafe. There were four to eight people on each drive, which is one of the differences from the more expensive lodges, but we did not have trouble seeing or getting good photos and videos.

The staff was warm and helpful. They went out of their way to make sure everyone had a good time. Food was very tasty. They were great about special requests, such as vegetarian food. All guests ate together, which I did not expect to like but it made the whole experience more fun and informal. The setting was beautiful. This may not be the most luxurious safari lodge but I found it to be very comfortable and I am not good about "roughing it."

As far as disadvantages, there are very, very few. There is no wifi but that is understandable as this is a safari. It was just a little frustrating though to have to wait to email our amazing photos to family. The gym also had minimal equipment and was very hot but this is not a huge deal as I did not see anyone else use it but myself.

It seemed that some of the guests have been to Sabi Sands multiple times and keep coming back to Inyati. I can now understand why. By the way, they have a nice Facebook page where you can follow some of the specific animals you saw on safari. I admit I have been checking this on a regular basis because it brings back so many great memories.

Room Tip: We have only stayed in room six, which seemed to have more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

A true game experience in the Sabi Sands reserve. If you want to see a lot of game in a short space of time, consider visiting Sabi Sands. Excellent guides take you through the reserve with lot's of sightings. We really had an amazing time at Inyati lodge.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

This was our first safari experience, we spent four nights at Inyati and enjoyed every minute. The setting is so beautiful, and the rooms look out onto the green lawn which rolls down to the river. It was such a treat to watch the elephants playing in the river while sunbathing at the pool. The lodge staff are so friendly and helpful, as soon as we arrived we were greeted by Dalinda and offered a cold drink, placed our lunch order and taken to our lovely room. The morning and evening drives are exceptional, each drive is a new and breathtaking experience. Our tracker Nelson and driver Piet were so knowledgable, my daughter hates spiders and Piet made sure the spiders and webs did not touch her as we drove along! We saw the big five many times in so many different situations as well as a wide variety of other animals and birds. Being our first safari I did not know what to expect but we will certainly return to Inyati again. We meet a group of friends who were on their sixth visit. One evening ride was very wet but the top went up and we were given rain ponchos, found the boys from the south (lions) sleeping then we followed them up the road for almost an hour marking their territory and playing together. (So sorry to hear about Mr. T it was a pleasure to have met this fine creature). Thank you Keith for your wealth of knowledge and ensuring everyone had a great time.

Room Tip: We travelled with our 17 year old daughter and had room 3. It was large and close to the lodge and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Beautiful, private room with excellent view.
Food was incredible.
Staff going out of their way to spoil us.
Very knowledgeable game ranger (Keith), we still have to find a question he is not able to answer!
Thank you so much for an awesome holiday!

Room Tip: We were in room 10 which was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonelM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InyatiHO, Manager at Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
We are thrilled to hear you had an awesome time at our lodge. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon.
I have passed on your wonderful comments to the Keith and the lodge staff.

Warm bushveld regards

Leighanne Dawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inyati Private Game Reserve
18.5 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#4 of 13 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
6.4 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
16.5 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#11 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#15 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
6.1 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#16 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
1.5 mi away
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Leopard Hills Private Game Reser...
#1 of 1 in Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve

Property: Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Address: Sabi Sand Game Reserve | Greater Kruger National Park, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve > Inyati Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Inyati Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inyati Game Lodge is situated in arguably one of the best game viewing areas in the Africa & most prestigious private conservation areas, the Sabi Sand Reserve (Wildtuin). Home to the free roaming 'Big Five' (elephant, rhino, lion, leopard and buffalo), as well as cheetah, wild dog and hundreds of other species of animals, birds and plants indigenous to the area. Our highly trained and experienced guides with their trackers ensure that your safari experience ranks amongst the finest in Africa. At Inyati, you can look forward to fantastic close-up experiences with Africa's wildlife on every game drive. #inyatisafari ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inyati Game Hotel Inyati Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing