We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved Djuma Vuyatela Lodge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vuyatela Lodge & Galago Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Djuma Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vuyatela Lodge & Galago Camp
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“We loved Djuma Vuyatela Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2009

We spent three nights at the Vuyatela Lodge during our three week visit to Southern Africa.

We had a wonderful stay. The setting and accommodations at Vuyatela are beautiful, and the camp staff are delightful. Our guide and tracker gave us an excellent safari experience. We saw the "big five" during our first night drive!

The meals are very good. We were treated to a gourmet brunch in the bush on our departure day.

We particularly enjoyed the opportunity to visit a local South African village. A number of the staff at the camp are from the local area.

Vuyatela was a great start to our Southern African trip, and we would certainly recommend this camp to anyone looking for a great safari in the Sabi Sands area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    9
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
34
31
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

My husband, myself and 15 year old son spent 4 days at Vuyatela on Djuma Game reserve and can't speak highly enough of the place and the staff.
Our suite was beautifully appointed, looking over the water hole, so we could sit and watch the animals, drink, wallow and play. The suite itself consisted of a good sized bedroom, a dressing room, bathroom with huge bath, outdoor shower and seperate toilet. We had our own deck with plunge pool. Off this deck was our own private lounge with mini bar and carefully selected books should we need any reading material. We could not see another suite from our room, so we felt we were really in the bush.
The food was more than plentiful. They offered us tea and coffee with rusks before the early morning safari drive, drinks and muffins at about 8am then breakfast when we came in at 10ish. Lunch was 3 courses, afternoon tea at 3.30 with homemade cakes or biscuits (cookies), sundowner drinks and nibbles out on safari and then a 3 courses dinner at around 8pm. You could really put on weight here.The food was extremely well cooked and the offerings ranged from good old fashioned homemade food to lovely specialist dishes such as pork fillets or fillet of beef with mushroom sauce. Not Haute cuisine, but beautifully prepared and presented.The Safari staff were brilliant- we saw the big 5 on our second outing. So exciting. But what makes Vuyatela special was the little touches the treated us with. A surprise bush breakfast one morning with full service, linen, glassware and champagne- a special sundowners drinks in the bush the evening before we left. Hot nibbles, champagne or any cocktail you wished for. Even a basin of scented hot water and towels to refresh yourself before you nibbled and drank.
The staff have service down to a fine art. If you happened to mention you like something, it was there, on the table the next day. They listen to everything you say. The best holiday ever.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2009

My husband along with our best friends spent 3 night/4 days at Vuyatela and enjoyed every minute of our time. We traveled to several "safari' lodges while on our trip and this was by far our favorite stop. We were blown away at the warm hospitality of the staff, the knowledge of our guides, the peaceful setting, the fabulous food and the wonderful "Kayas".

Upon our arrival we were greeted by an elephant called "One Tusk" and a pack of little monkeys. Each day brought a new adventure & we were able to see such an amazing variety of animals, including the big 5. It was a fantastic experience and one which we plan on doing again. It was nice as Vuyatela was not a large camp but small and intimate.

Each morning we were awoken by a staff member with a large pot of coffee or tea and a warm fire in our suite. As the mornings were cold the guides provided wool blankets for the drive, and always a warm beverage plus a quick snack while out. I love their "biltong". One morning we drove to a clearing in the bush to find an amazing breakfast of steaks, grilled mushrooms, tomatoes, fresh juices and all sorts of pastries waiting for us.

The afternoons were a wonderful time to relax around the lodge, play some games, take a quick nap, go for a walk in the bush and eat a picnic lunch. My husband and I both took advantage of the spa and received massages. It was great sitting out on either our private deck or the large deck at the lodge watching the animals come and go.

Each night we would go for another drive and dinner was served us once we arrive back at camp. The dinners were always delicious and served in the beautiful dining room. We loved the glass bottle chandelier — very unique. We especially enjoyed the traditional South African dinner around the fire. We loved talking to the other guest and hearing about their drives and the animals they had seen.

Once it was time to go to bed we were always escorted by an armed guide. I will never forget him saying one night "Mind the elephant" and there right beside the trail was a large male elephant. It was so quiet and blended into the bushes, that we never saw it during dinner.
One morning we were on our way out and right beside the door of our Kaya was a large steaming pile of you know what. A "gift" from an elephant and later that day one of the ladies in the Kaya beside us was using her outside shower and over the enclosure came an elephant trunk! It was amazing to think they were so close to us.

Djuma really was a fabulous place!!

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enatashadunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2009

Like the previous reviewer, we have recently returned from our third visit to Vuyatela and, as always, it was an experience we will never forget.

The accommodation could not be more comfortable and manages to avoid the excessive, over-the-top luxury that some places strive for. Vuyatela is like staying with good friends if your friends happen to have a fabulous house and they really want you to have a good time. The staff are all extremely friendly and I think they genuinely want you to feel at home and want you to come back again.

The food is delicious - again, not over-the-top, but good food prepared perfectly with something for everyone. My husband must stick to a strict gluten-free diet and they are able feed him better than I do at home and far better than most restaurants with professionally trained chefs can do.

The game viewing in the area is fantastic and the guides and trackers really go out of their way to maximize the experience. Most of them have lived and worked in the area for their whole lives and their personal experience really adds to your enjoyment. Thank you Charles and Handry for those special moments.

We have stayed at other lodges in other reserves, all of which have been very enjoyable, but Vuyatela is special. I can't wait for our next visit.

  • Liked — Absolutely everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Hailey_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2009

We have just returned from our 3rd trip to Vuyatela Game Lodge. It was like visiting old friends, as the majority of the team there were there when we got married at the lodge in April 2005. We had the most amazing Christmas in the bush, we were looked after incredibly well. The rooms are delightful, very rustic with authentic Africa artifacts and outside showers. For the less adventurous the bath tub is like a mini swimming pool. Game drives with Graham and Roy were exceptional as far as viewing was concerned and absolutely brilliant in terms of laughter and fun!

I have been to many lodges all over the Sabi Sands Reserve and Vuyatela meets the criteria every time. We will return again and again to enjoy another unique experience.

  • Liked — The whole experience
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshineharrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2008

I didn't really know anything about this place before we got there as my travel agent suggested it for our stay before we were to go to Singita Boulders. We were very pleasantly surprised, however, and found this to be a warm welcoming place, with great food and nice people. The cottages are a good size with a sort of African kitsch decor. The only thing they need to add is some sort of indoor shower and it would be perfect. The food is very good, not necessarily gourmet but more like the food of your favorite aunt who is a really good cook. The best thing here, though, is the people. What makes this stand out is that this place is really locally run and you feel like they are opening up their home to you. You really noticed this on the village visit, which I recommend, and you see that everyone who works there is a local. It's also nice because the proceeds of the visit go to the preschool. It's not weird either like some village tours because it's not like they're putting on a song and dance for the tourists, it's more like this is where we live. The other guests were a nice mix of families, couples, and friends traveling together. Since there are only 8 cabins you get to know your fellow travelers and everyone eats at a long communal table. You can have your privacy if you want but you won't get an opportunity to really get to know people at a regular hotel like you do at a small game lodge where you're doing the game drives together and eating together. I also wanted to say that the manager Jimmy, our guide Charles, and our tracker Terrence were the best.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank oscarfelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2008

We stayed here midway through our honeymoon, which began in Zambia. Having never been on safari before we didn't exactly know what to expect, but I have never been anywhere that had the level of service or touches found at Vuyatela. The staff were without exception superb - courteous, professional and fun to be around. The small number of guests means there is what is best described as a family atmosphere, while remaining professional. I think this is a difficult thing to achieve, and of great credit to the staff.

Now on to the game... like previous reviewers, we also saw the Big 5 within 24 hours. On the second game drive, we were witness to 2 male lions with a Buffalo kill - which they proceeded to consume over the next 3 days. We also saw a breeding herd of elephants numbering 15, incuding several young of only a few months. The nature of our finding these was simply amazing. It was on an evening drive and the night had completely closed in - suddenly we saw a couple of elephants in the headlights. As the spotlight was swung left and right, the couple expanded into a large herd, which we tracked to a watering hole. It was something we will never forget. However, we soon heard over the radio that a pride of lions had been spotted, and raced through the night to see them - spotting Jackal and a bachelor crush of rhino on the way! The lion pride was amazing. Apparently, they are relatively infrequent visitors, and to see a family group at such close quarters was incredible. We returned to camp that night exhillerated by what we saw.

When we arrived at dinner that night, we found that we had a table set on our own, including a bottle of bubbles, in honour of our honeymoon celebrations. This was superb and finished a perfect day.

Of the 7 game drives we were on, we always saw something new or interesting on each drive. We even saw one of the Small 5 - Leopard Tortoise! We were fortunate to see two different leopard three times - one of the animals was snoozing in a tree. The beauty of the animal when watching just feet away, really comes through.

Nicholas and Amos were our ranger and tracker, and they were superb. Their knowledge was encyclopaedic, and their company fun. I believe all the guides are local from the nearby villages - this helps to understand the lives of the people in context with the lives of the animals. To this end a village visit can be organised, and shows the great work Djuma is doing for the local population.

The accomodation is like nothing we have stayed in. Designed and built along traditional lines, using local techniques and materials, they make you feel like part of the landscape. The outdoor shower is fantastic - I would shower every morning before the game drive just to wake up! Each lodge is air conditioned and very comfortable. The plunge pool is very useful in the mid-day heat. To listen to lions roaring in the night is something I will never forget...

Lastly, don't forget to try the Amarula or the Marula Jam! The food is out of this world - incorporating lots of local produce and recipes as well as more familiar dishes. The soups were outstanding - don't miss these - a fresh soup was available every lunch and dinner which were very different, but delicious! My wife was until recently a vegetarian, and still is a bit fussy about what she eats, so opted to go vegetarian at Vuyatela. The staff accomodated her wonderfully - she even felt guilty about eating any meat dishes since the staff made such an effort with her veggie food!

We can't wait to go back one day, and haven't really stopped talking about it since! It made our stay in Mauritius in a top hotel pale in comparison.

Paul and Sally Stanger

  • Liked — Everything - lodges was superb; food was amazing; Safari was outstanding
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank stang78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Djuma Game Reserve
0.0 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#7 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#15 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge
Inyati Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp
andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp
#10 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vuyatela Lodge & Galago Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vuyatela Lodge & Galago Camp

Property: Vuyatela Lodge & Galago Camp
Address: Djuma Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve > Djuma Game Reserve
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Djuma Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Vuyatela Hotel Djuma Game Reserve
Vuyatela Lodge & Galago Camp South Africa/Djuma Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing