We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveler rating
261
14
0
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
261
14
0
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lion sands sabie river outdoor shower living room plunge pool game drives our honeymoon amazing talent safari experience across the river cherish forever off road mini bar african sunset incredible experience white rhino skukuza airport
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 279 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had an amazing weekend in April at Lion Sands Ivory Lodge. The accomodation is amazing and provides any comfort that you could ask for, one small peeve no one asked if we wanted anything particular stocked in the mini bar. The views from the room were stunning and we were privileged to see many sightings whilst relaxing on our our deck. The game drives were exhilarating, we were especially lucky in that we ended up havng our own private vehicle for all our drives, Landon and Eddy were excellent, Landon shared so much knowledge with us , we left each drive far more educated than when we began and we have been to the bush many times.We were fortunate to have big five sightings. The food is delicious and our waistlines are still bearing the proof thereof.The staff are attentive and service is what you expect in a lodge of this standing. It was a very relaxing special weekend and we look forward to returning in June.
We were very sad to hear of the passing of Nick More, the family's love of the bush and their amazing contribution to the travel industry in South Africa ensure that all visitors leave with a special respect for our country.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I cannot say enough positive things about ivory lodge.  From the moment we arrived, we were treated amazingly.  All the staff are friendly and go out of their way to make sure that you are having an enjoyable stay.  The cottages are gorgeous, definitely a five star experience.  The plunge pool is lovely and we were lucky enough to see elephants from it.  The game drives were incredible.  We saw the big five by the end of our second drive and much more besides.  Our ranger and tracker were great and I still can't believe some of their finds.  I would recommend this lodge.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotland1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed at Ivory Lodge as the main stop on our honeymoon in August 2012. The settling by the river is really beautiful with a great decking area for breakfast and lunch. The a carte food in the evening could be a bit hit and miss but the meat on the bhoma was really very tasty. Our ranger Benrey was genuinely enthusiastic about what he did. The suite was beautful and we could watch the elephants bathing in the river from our own plunge pool. The free maxi-bar is also a great treeat.

Date of stay: August 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Thomasmcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is our first time in Africa and the only safari/lodge we have been to so we have nothing to compare it to but what we found was from the moment we arrived to the moment we sadly left the lodge we enjoyed every minute on it.
Our room: we stayed in the Peregrine suite which is the last suite, you almost feel alone in the wild. One side of the suite was the bedroom, spa like bathroom, out door shower with view of river, king size bed on the other side is a living room with wood burning fireplace. Separating the 2 sides is a infinity pool. Amazing.
Dining areas/ common areas: lovely set up along the river
Service: 10/10....everyone who worked there were outstanding.
Game drive: our guide was Enock and our tracker was Tony, they are both extremely knowledgable and we managed to see the big 5 and many others. It was absolutely amazing.One of the main reasons we upgraded to ivory lodge was that there were only 6 to a land rover which made viewing the animals much more enjoyable than being crammed into a 9 seater as someone always has to sit in the middle and restricts the view for everyone.
If you are looking for superb service and outstanding accommodations splurge and book the Ivory Lodge.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 52Joanne1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We recently stayed at Lion Sands Ivory lodge for 4 nights on our honeymoon and it was the highlight of our trip. The staff could not do enough to help from Charles the security guard, to prudence our maid, Torrence our personal butler and Derrick, to our fantastic Ranger and Tracker Tristan & Tony. Food was excellent with a great selection and the room was the most beautiful I have stayed in. Cannot wait to return

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bl0ndie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews