We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (649)
Filter reviews
649 results
Traveler rating
606
27
10
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
606
27
10
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews watering hole our honeymoon sabi sands game drives safari experience resident hippos private deck plunge pool wild dogs amazing experience walking safari the main lodge exceeded our expectations every evening water hole multiple times once in a lifetime
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
518 - 523 of 649 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2009

We loved Chitwa. I hesitated to book this lodge due to a negative Trip advisor reveiw, as I am very picky when it comes to hotels, but I can't say enough good things about our experience at Chitwa. We found the accomodations to be luxorious, the food was fabulous....eating outside at the boma was a wonderful experience. The game drives were totally amazing. I couldn't believe how close the animals got to the jeep. They behaved as if we weren't there. We saw the big five all in one day. It was especially fun to watch the lions with their cubs. Going on Safari is, in my opinion, a trip of a life time. It was an experience unlike anything we've ever done and I would recommend this lodge to anyone who wants a first class experience.

Date of stay: July 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wunderlust14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2009

Chitwa Chitwa definitely exceeded our safari expectations and we were pleased to see all the animals we wanted to on the very first day (including an incredible elephant who ambled by our room while we relaxed on the deck). Mark and Riann are gracious hosts and Clara, Stephens and Khensani provided exceptional and delightful service! Our ranger, Johan, was knowledgeable and great company.

We stayed in the lavish honeymoon suite, which was perfect, save for the multitude of bugs (which you can't really avoid in the bush), and I was very sad to leave. Wilson's food was exceptional and now that I'm back to reality, I sorely miss my full breakfast after each morning's game drive.

Date of stay: May 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MC500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

This is as good as it gets ! This is the Rolls Royce of Safari a Mecca for your senses...... if you are looking for the real thing go.
Morten Sondergaard

Date of stay: April 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mortenmallorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

We lived our very first african safari at Chitwa Chitwa four years ago and were gifted by the most incredible experience.
We booked again this year and were afraid to return to a place we had already been to as we did not want risk having a beautiful memory possibly destroyed. Our second visit to Chitwa Chitwa was an absolutely awesome experience! The place had changed dramatically since our last visit and we now not only lived fantastic safaris but also a beautiful hotel. Our room was very spacious and divinely furnished with a spectacular view on the lake - we had great game veiwing right from our personal deck!
Thank you Chitwa Chitwa for bringing Africa so much closer to us!

Date of stay: January 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sidernfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2008

went to Chitwa for a hen long weekend with 2 other gilrs at the end of Novemeber begining Dec. Everything was fantastic the lodge managers where brilliant and really made our stay special, as for most of the time we had the entire lodge to ourselves. The luxury suite that we were in was fab with its own pool and lovely furniture. We were like the 3 little bears in our 3 single beds side by side and under a huge mossie net. Our ranger Moses was brilliant and we saw everything we wanted to see plenty of Leopard, however the Lions had dissappeared to somewhere else. Mark and Rihann the managers were brilliant fun and we shared plenty of entertaining monents with them. Clara the matriach of the crew kept everything in ship shape order and couldnt do enough for us. All in all we found Chitwa to be a wonderful haven, excellent food, excellent accommodation and an all round excellent location, would love to come back again. Would reccommend it for couples, families or girls on tour. Merry Christmas Chitwa and good luck for 2009 and the new lodges.

Date of stay: December 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikkistewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews