We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!!!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We just returned from our 2 week trip to South Africa and Mozambique, which included our four night stay at Chitwa Chitwa. I can honestly say that Chitwa was the highlight of our trip and it far surpassed our expectations. We knew the accommodations, the food and the game drives would be awesome, but we didn't know that the level of service and hospitality we received from everyone at the lodge would be so extraordinary. Claudia and Leon have been at Chitwa since January as the managers and they run an amazing lodge. Everything that goes on at the lodge is thoughtful, top notch and goes over and beyond down to the candelabras that are used for each dinner and the authentic boma that they host during each 4 night rotation. Claudia and Leon surprised us with a private candlelit dinner in the bbq area to celebrate our anniversary and 30th birthdays which was something we will never forget. Our ranger, Surprise, was unbelievable (and yes, we hear he has a following on YouTube) - he taught us both so much about the bush and the animals. He even caught a bird with his bare hands who flew into our room one night.
The only minor complaint we would have was we were surprised that on our 4th day the entire lunch and dinner menus were repeated...I would have thought that maybe after a week or even 5 nights they would repeat given their remote locale, but a 3 night food rotation seemed a little short.
We will definitely recommend Chitwa to everyone we know going on Safari in South Africa. I researched all of the top lodges and I have to say that given the price (it was less than Londolozzi and Ivory Sands), I think Chitwa should be ranked #1 regardless of cost. Thank you to Claudia, Leon, Stefan, Surprise and everyone else who made our stay so fantastic. We will never forget Chitwa or Room #11 (the best one, shhh don't tell!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibpratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    21
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
112
278
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

As far as Game Lodges go, Chitwa-Chitwa is the best! We have been coming here for a couple of years and every time it is an absolute delight. The staff is friendly and attentive, the rooms beautiful and super comfortable. Awesome artwork throughout the lodge - something different from the run of the mill game lodge. Extraordinary game viewing experience and a privilege to spend a few days here..

Room Tip: You can not go wrong...any room will be a wonderful surprise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene0705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

great journey into the wild. the hotel has an excellent location near a small lake with crocodile and Hippo. The ranger are professional, very well prepared, willing the best experiences you can looks for. Terrific.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvia f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Sabi Sand is arguably the best area in S Africa to see the big 5 (especially leopards) and Chitwa Chitwa is among the top lodges here.
The complex is well-managed with enthusiastic, skillled and helpful staff in every area. The game drives are superb.
Accommodation varies - suites are of different sizes and styles. All are spacious and comfortable, though perhaps there is rather more emphasis on style than substance. Personally, I would rather have one shower that worked really well as opposed to three that did not.
The views from the suites are fantastic, with a great variety of animals to be seen by day (and night!). I enjoyed being wakened by hippos.
Breakfasts were excellent. I was a little disappointed that the choice of food at dinner was extremely limited - many 3 and 4-star lodges do much better on choice and as well on quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wdcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We recently had the rare privilege to stay at the Chitwa Chitwa lodge hosted by Claudia Pellarini and Leon Joubert. Our month long trip to Turkey and Africa included a five day stay at this lodge. We completed 22 game drives at various locations and can honestly say those at Chitwa Chitwa were among the best - Neil and his tracker Rodney were amazing not only in finding the animals day and night but also positioning the vehicle to optimize photography. We stayed in villa #1 and loved it. The meals were great and our hosts were amazing adventurers who shared their many adventures from around the world and I guess that's why they ensure their guests are treated to the experience of a life time.

Room Tip: Check out new rooms being built that will accomodate families and will come with own personal chef.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dennis b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Chitwa Chitwa was our last stop on our Namibia/South African tour. It's amazing how much luxury you can pack into the "Wilderness"! Everything and everyone was outstanding. We had the pleasure of staying in the "Boulders" cottage, which I later found out was the honeymoon suite. It was glorious. The other reviewers have said it all but I would like to give extra praise to our guide, "Surprise" and our tracker, Ralph. Our game drives were filled with the "Big Five" and then some. The walking safari with "Surprise" was exceptional. He is remarkable and is a wealth of information. Many thanks to all at Chitwa Chitwa for making this our dream adventure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank islandwaySt_Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scone, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were part of a large group of nine, family and friends who stayed at Chitwa Chitwa in July. We have been to the Sabi sands area before and loved it each time but this was truly fantastic. The setting is amazing, to share breakfast with hippos and watch animals come to the waterhole during the day is unique. All this wildlife is on view from your private balcony. The rooms are individual and stunning. Everyone at Chitwa Chitwa, hosts Claudia and Leon, ranger and guides Rexon and Andreas, chef July and his team, food/bar manager Victory and her crew and the housekeeping staff all ensure that this is a trip to remember. Every morning there were blankets and hot water bottles in the jeep and every evening an african cocktail to welcome us back. Our large table was set up in a different location for dinner every night and the food was wonderful and plentiful. But the best part was the most incredible game drives, never knowing what is around the corner or up a tree. We were off road and moving with the animals or quietly sitting watching them playing or feasting....magical.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
16.6 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#4 of 13 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
5.2 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
16.6 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#11 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
2.4 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
5.1 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#16 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reserve

Property: Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reserve
Address: P O Box 781854 | Steiltes, Kruger National Park 1213, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a private retreat of the Brink family, Chitwa Chitwa was transformed by Charl into an oasis of conservation and harmony. His dedicated holistic approach and wise land management are aimed at the handing of an uncontaminated African paradise to the future generations. In 1991 Charl and Maria Brink created Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Lodge, today a jewel of South African hospitality and an emblem of the savannas most authentic and refined luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reserve Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reserve South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing