We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice in Sabi Sand” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reserve

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great choice in Sabi Sand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We agonized over where to stay for our first safari and I'm so happy we went with Chitwa Chitwa - don't hesitate if you can't decide if this is the place to go. The entire property is so well done - fantastic decor, beautiful spaces, and it's situation on the lake always gives you something to see, with hippos there all the time, and animals stopping for a drink.

Our suite (5) was gorgeous and absolutely huge. I'll post pictures with this review. All the staff is incredibly friendly and professional. We had Surprise as our ranger and Howard as our tracker - and they saw to it that we saw the big 5 several times over during the 7 drives we had with them. I took over 2500 pictures during our drives and we got so incredibly close to the animals it was better than I ever imagined. The ability to go off the roads I think is key and for that I am so happy we chose the Sabi Sand.

The food is delicious and WAY too much - they feed you constantly and the portions are huge. I found the quality to be exceptional (they have a French chef who is very enthusiastic about his food) considering you are in the bush. Much better than we expected.

They have a fitness room and a spa - we both got massages during our stay during the down time in the middle of the day.

We really loved our stay at Chitwa Chitwa and would not hesitate to stay again and to refer friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bimbels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    21
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
111
270
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

All the staff were very friendly and knowlegeable and could not do enough for their guests. Our guide, Hali, was absolutely excellent and did his utmost to ensure that we saw all the animals there.My only critisism was that there was not enough light at night to be able to see what you were eating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was our 5th South African safari and our second trip to Chitwa. We first visited in April 2011 as a family and we loved it so much that when my husband turned 50 we couldn't resist going back again for 5 days - this time without the children.

Each suite is very different and individually furnished. Several have had a refit in the last year or so. Ours was near to reception and had an enormous raised bed with net curtains, lounge and dining area and spacious dressing room and bathroom, with both indoor and outdoor shower.

The deck had a small, cold pool (which I didn't go in) and a view across the grass to the dam. this was a source of constant interest - weaver birds, fish eagles, crocodiles, hippos, impalas, giraffes, waterbuck and baboons were all observed whilst sunbathing in the middle of the day.

If we ever return with the children again, then we'd book the Charlsy family suite. We asked to be shown around it whilst it was empty and once again it's beautifully and individually done. Two separate bedrooms each with bathrooms and dressing areas and a lounge in the middle.

Every night dinner is served in a different way. Sometimes in intimate tables for two - on the deck or in the dining area inside the main building. Sometimes in groups - safari is very sociable. On this visit we were treated to a lovely surprise - dinner in the bush. The staff had kept it a secret and we all arrived fresh from the evening game drive to a clearing lit with candles and lamps. Tables had been arranged around a huge fire and the chefs had prepared a BBQ. Really special.

Thanks to Hali and Moses for some wonderful game drives. And thank you to all the management team who made our visit and Jonathan's 50th so special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardsley, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Trip of a lifetime does not do Chitwa justice. We arrived late as dusk was setting in and encountered a giraffe, zebra and finally a leapord just outside the resort. Although it was dark when we checked in, the staff was ready with a friendly welcome and after a round of introductions we were shown the property and brought to our beautiful suite. A beautiful location with fabulous, luxurious rooms. Right on the water so we could watch the hippos from our deck/pool. Complete privacy from the other suites. The staff was fantastic polite, friendly and extremely attentive. Special thanks to managers Leon & Claudia, Stef & Chantel. They were ever present and made certain everything was perfect. Dinho kept us well "hydrated" throughout our stay and is one of the most helpful and polite people I have come across in my travels. The food was excellent and they were easily able to accommodate any special requests. Our safari guides Neil & Rodney were top flight and made sure each drive was an amazing experience. I have never encountered more knowledgable guides. Sabi sands is known for its excellent viewing and we saw the "Big 5" in the first 24 hours. I was even more amazed by the variety and number of different animals we would see each day on the drives in our rooms and on the property itself. I would definitely take advantage of a walking guided safari between drives one morning. It provides a great opportunity to see some smaller inhabitants and the land up close. The lodge has a set up a trust to aid the local village building schools, etc. If you are able, I would also recommend arranging a visit to the village as well. We will definitely be back!!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JJackstraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Having just returned from Chitwa, I can't speak too highly of the place. The new general management team of Claudia and Leon are clearly committed to continue the already excellent standards and to make improvements wherever possible. Both were always keen to ensure that everything was going well and were able to assist with any issues.

From the moment we arrived, the personal greeting from each member of the staff ensured that we felt immediately at home - which is very important in a place where most guests stay for only 3 or 4 nights. All the lodge employees were great but a special mention should go to Dinho, Victory and Pinkie who were lovely - professional but with a great sense of humour and relaxed manner with the guests.

The game drives were great. We were privileged to experience the skills of Rexon, Neal and Stefan during our stay. All had different styles but all were clearly very knowledgable and enthusiastic about the wildlife. When we set the guide a challenge to spot a particular animal on a particular day, each went out of his way to deliver. We saw a huge variety of the local animals and birds - including a pack of very rare wild dogs - and were very happy customers. Only the elusive cheetah stayed away.

The food at Chitwah under new head chef, Christian, is wonderful. He is a proud LyonaisFrenchman whose passion for local food shines through. He was always there to discuss and explain the dishes and clearly cares greatly about the standard being achieved by the kitchen team. He is quite a character - but his kitchen team obviously think the world of him and his enthusisam was infectious. He even contributed a rousing solo rendition of "Bonne Anniversaire" for my partner's 40th birthday around the boma on our first night - with an accompanying cake.

We were allocated Suite 1 which was magnificent. Beautifully furnished in a sympathetic and dramatic style, it reflected the true unpretentious heart of the place. Having had the chance to meet the owner (and principal designer of the lodge), Maria Glick; it is fair to say that the decor is a manifestation of her own unique vision and style. We even managed to persuade her to part with one of the smaller artworks which accompanied us on the return flight and is now firmly attached to our sitting room wall back in the UK.

All in all, a fabulous experience greatly to be recommended to all. We arrived home only yesterday but want to plan our next trip.

Room Tip: Room 1 is near(ish) reception which means you can avoid the ranger having to escort you back and for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TedLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Absolutely and truly perfect, from the beginning till the end. Location is unique, accommodation also, fantastic game drives with Hali and Moses, the whole team is absolutely great, excellent food, beautiful design, children are treasured,... Only one problem: it was way too short! Will never forget...

Room Tip: The double room suites with the private pool is just perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dom1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Everything was over the top great from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. Everything was above my expectations! The room that my daughter and I shared was fabulous. Very spacious and comfortable and even had our own private pool. The staff was very very warm and friendly. Our game drives were so exciting and very different each time. We saw more animals than we could imagine and lots of babies. Rex was our guide and he was amazing. I hope we will be back some day!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin2013Highlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
5.8 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#2 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
5.3 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#7 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
11.7 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp
andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp
#10 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
16.6 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
11.1 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge
Inyati Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reserve

Property: Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reserve
Address: P O Box 781854 | Steiltes, Kruger National Park 1213, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a private retreat of the Brink family, Chitwa Chitwa was transformed by Charl into an oasis of conservation and harmony. His dedicated holistic approach and wise land management are aimed at the handing of an uncontaminated African paradise to the future generations. In 1991 Charl and Maria Brink created Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Lodge, today a jewel of South African hospitality and an emblem of the savannas most authentic and refined luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reserve Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reserve South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing