We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of a lifetime and more!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Trip of a lifetime does not do Chitwa justice. We arrived late as dusk was setting in and encountered a giraffe, zebra and finally a leapord just outside the resort. Although it was dark when we checked in, the staff was ready with a friendly welcome and after a round of introductions we were shown the property and brought to our beautiful suite. A beautiful location with fabulous, luxurious rooms. Right on the water so we could watch the hippos from our deck/pool. Complete privacy from the other suites. The staff was fantastic polite, friendly and extremely attentive. Special thanks to managers Leon & Claudia, Stef & Chantel. They were ever present and made certain everything was perfect. Dinho kept us well "hydrated" throughout our stay and is one of the most helpful and polite people I have come across in my travels. The food was excellent and they were easily able to accommodate any special requests. Our safari guides Neil & Rodney were top flight and made sure each drive was an amazing experience. I have never encountered more knowledgable guides. Sabi sands is known for its excellent viewing and we saw the "Big 5" in the first 24 hours. I was even more amazed by the variety and number of different animals we would see each day on the drives in our rooms and on the property itself. I would definitely take advantage of a walking guided safari between drives one morning. It provides a great opportunity to see some smaller inhabitants and the land up close. The lodge has a set up a trust to aid the local village building schools, etc. If you are able, I would also recommend arranging a visit to the village as well. We will definitely be back!!!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank jerry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 516 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

Having just returned from Chitwa, I can't speak too highly of the place. The new general management team of Claudia and Leon are clearly committed to continue the already excellent standards and to make improvements wherever possible. Both were always keen to ensure that everything was going well and were able to assist with any issues.

From the moment we arrived, the personal greeting from each member of the staff ensured that we felt immediately at home - which is very important in a place where most guests stay for only 3 or 4 nights. All the lodge employees were great but a special mention should go to Dinho, Victory and Pinkie who were lovely - professional but with a great sense of humour and relaxed manner with the guests.

The game drives were great. We were privileged to experience the skills of Rexon, Neal and Stefan during our stay. All had different styles but all were clearly very knowledgable and enthusiastic about the wildlife. When we set the guide a challenge to spot a particular animal on a particular day, each went out of his way to deliver. We saw a huge variety of the local animals and birds - including a pack of very rare wild dogs - and were very happy customers. Only the elusive cheetah stayed away.

The food at Chitwah under new head chef, Christian, is wonderful. He is a proud LyonaisFrenchman whose passion for local food shines through. He was always there to discuss and explain the dishes and clearly cares greatly about the standard being achieved by the kitchen team. He is quite a character - but his kitchen team obviously think the world of him and his enthusisam was infectious. He even contributed a rousing solo rendition of "Bonne Anniversaire" for my partner's 40th birthday around the boma on our first night - with an accompanying cake.

We were allocated Suite 1 which was magnificent. Beautifully furnished in a sympathetic and dramatic style, it reflected the true unpretentious heart of the place. Having had the chance to meet the owner (and principal designer of the lodge), Maria Glick; it is fair to say that the decor is a manifestation of her own unique vision and style. We even managed to persuade her to part with one of the smaller artworks which accompanied us on the return flight and is now firmly attached to our sitting room wall back in the UK.

All in all, a fabulous experience greatly to be recommended to all. We arrived home only yesterday but want to plan our next trip.

Room Tip: Room 1 is near(ish) reception which means you can avoid the ranger having to escort you back and for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TedLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Absolutely and truly perfect, from the beginning till the end. Location is unique, accommodation also, fantastic game drives with Hali and Moses, the whole team is absolutely great, excellent food, beautiful design, children are treasured,... Only one problem: it was way too short! Will never forget...

Room Tip: The double room suites with the private pool is just perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dom1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Everything was over the top great from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. Everything was above my expectations! The room that my daughter and I shared was fabulous. Very spacious and comfortable and even had our own private pool. The staff was very very warm and friendly. Our game drives were so exciting and very different each time. We saw more animals than we could imagine and lots of babies. Rex was our guide and he was amazing. I hope we will be back some day!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin2013Highlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is the third private reserve we have been to and would have to say it comes top for location.
On our arrival to see such a fabulous view from the enormous decking was breath taking.
We spent many hours there watching all the wildlife around. The drives were also rewarding seeing some very special sites and so many animals with their babies. Just magic.
Our guide and tracker were good but not the best we have had. Also meals were not the best, which was disappointing and the staff there did not seem as well trained as the rest of the lodge.
However all the other staff worked hard to make our stay special and Dinho was always one step ahead in ensuring we were well watered!!
Overall loved it , the rooms and layout were great being right on the river(they do need however to maintain the conditions of the room, ours seemed to have a few holes in the thatched roof!)
Would I recommend , yes definitely , just be mindful that there are some limitations.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

we spent 8 nights in this phantastic loge. Thank you to Lion, Claudia, Dinho, Surprise, Howard and all the staff for the most beautiful and exciting stay. This lodge and the crew are outstanding.
It worth every $ you spend.

Room Tip: All bungalows are perfect. For 4 people the chitwa House is the best !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slsecret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Without doubt the best place I've ever stayed. A truly awesome place to stay. When we were shown around our lodge I started to cry...a rarity! True luxury in the middle of the wild country. Safaris were the best experience ever thanks to Moses and Rex.
Take plenty of warm clothing for those early morning and late drives. Our family loved it here... My 80 year old mum, 12 year old twins, 16 year old daughter and my husband.
I hope to return next year. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank June T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
16.6 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
417 reviews
13.2 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#10 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
513 reviews
5.8 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
443 reviews
5.2 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
353 reviews
5.1 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#15 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reserve

Address: P O Box 781854 | Steiltes, Kruger National Park 1213, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range: $114 - $1,831 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a private retreat of the Brink family, Chitwa Chitwa was transformed by Charl into an oasis of conservation and harmony. His dedicated holistic approach and wise land management are aimed at the handing of an uncontaminated African paradise to the future generations. In 1991 Charl and Maria Brink created Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Lodge, today a jewel of South African hospitality and an emblem of the savannas most authentic and refined luxury. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reserve Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reserve South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing