We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bucket List Caliber Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights at Chitwa in early June 2012. It was one of the best travel experiences of our lives. We were in Room 1 with a great lake view and a short walk to the dining area. From the back deck of all the rooms, you can watch as Elephants, Hippos, Warthogs, Water Buffalo, Giraffes (although not on our trip), zebras, monkeys and a huge variety of antelope/deer come down and graze and drink from the lake.

Our guide (Rex) was very informative and a lot of fun on the twice daily game drives. During 8 game drives, we saw the following:
Elephants 30+
Lions 20+
Leopards ~10 (including 2 mating and 1 eating his kill in a tree)
Water Buffalo ~10
Rhino 4
Zebras 50+
Giraffes 10+
Impala 200-300
Kudo 100-200
Waterbuck 100+
Other antelope species 100+
Hippos 10+
Crocs 2
Wildebeest 20+
Hyenas 2
Jackal 1
Mongoose and other small critters -- numerous

Photos taken from 10-15 feet or less of most of the big 5.

As others have said, the dining experience is terrific. The seafood wasn't the greatest, but the beef, chicken, lamb, soups, breakfast, sausages, veggies were all terrific.

The only ding on the place...we occasionally had an odd odor in bathroom from time to time in Room 1. But that's partially on us for bringing it to management's attention.

As I told management, the only things I would change would be:
1. Private plunge pools should be heated
2. The selection of wines by the glass should be more varied

If there was an option to give this place 6 stars, I would.

Room Tip: The rooms further away from the dining area have a little better view of wildlife. However, the walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uga_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 513 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is the ideal honeymoon (or any other luxury holiday) location. The suites are beautifully designed by one of the owners, are pure luxury and have private decks with plunge pools. The staff could not do more for you, will know you all by name and make you feel like friends (it is only a small Lodge with 10 suites). The safari is awesome and the Guides/Trackers are excellent and very knowledgeable. The food is out of this world and everything at the Lodge is reasonably priced. This is by far the best and is well worth a visit. It was our honeymoon and first safari and we couldn't have asked for a better start to married life!

Room Tip: They are all amazing. We stayed in Suite 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We just returned from Chitwa Chitwa where our family of 4 spent 3 splendid days at Chitwa. The property and staff are simply exquisite. We had the distinct pleasure of meeting the owner who has put her personal artistic stamp on the property. Maria is wonderful and her attention to details and pride she and her family and staff take in your experience is extraoridnary.

The facility was rebuilt following a fire in 2009 and shows as a new property. We encountered no issues whatsoever. The art, furnishings and general finish out are outstanding. Service was beyond reproach. The Charslysuite is exquisite with lake front views and private pool. The change of dinner venue and seating pairings each evening was a welcomed chance to enjoy different settings and company.

Our guide, tracker and service staff were all attentive. I have to acknowledge out guide, Tristan, was not only extraordinary in his command of information, but especially indulgent on teaching photography tips to those that care for them. His attention to our children and the overall flow of our drives were exactly what we would expect from a top tier lodge like Chitwa.

I have to confess, we looked hard at Singita which has a well earned reputation. However, Chitwa gives up very little (perhaps alcohol being extra, etc.) to Singita and the price difference is not insignificant.

I could go on and on. Do yourself a favor, go spend sometime at Chitwa Chitwa, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Charlsy suite is perfect for families where luxury,privacy and security are essential. The house is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kekman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

nowhere on earth like it - really. The animals, the air, the smells - and the food! Did you know that S.A. produces an enourmous amount of vegetables, including avocadoes? Incredible cuisine and WINE! Love the reds and I live in Italy so I'm spoiled!
Our ranger was from Cape Town and was just a doll. We had safaris every day for a week, 5 am bugle! Seeing the wildlife even though they're on a reserve (so humans won't kill them all off!) is totally humbling. You never look at another animal in the same way.
Sorry no pictures, I had an old SLR that took great shots but only printed them and lost negatives in a move. Went in 2003, am sure that in 10 years nothing has changed.

Room Tip: Choose a bungalow with full bathroom and close to the dining area. Rangers excort you back to bed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

There's really not much else to say! We had the most incredible tine at Chitwa Chitwa. Every single person on the staff knew our name, and they were all so helpful, accomodating, and interesting. Raxon, our amazing guide, and Moses, our incredibe tracker, deserve a special mention -- they made our whole stay worthwhile. We saw the first leopard the camp had seen in 5 days on our first game drive, as well as lions and elephants. Raxon let us watch the leopard for a long time before he radioed to the other vehicles aout her -- it was a truly amazing experience. We saw the Big 5 many times over as well as many lesser animals that were incredible too. The amount of sightings we had in comparison to the other lodges we went to was incomparable!! We saw so much more here.

Raxon took us to his and Moses' hometown and introduced us to his family and showed us around the village, which was so touching. It's incredible all the things he's doing to support his village! This cannot be missed.

The rooms are also fantastic -- very modern and tastefully decorated while keeping with the African style, as well as free WiFi and a free, all-access minibar.

Not to mention the food is fantastic and the iced coffee is simply divine! You can't make a bad choice by coming here!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldtraveler9871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

These few lines couldn't even tell you the beginning of the dream come true we lived in this lodge. Perfect is a word that could only be created to describe it. The lodge, the display, the staff, the meals, the safaris....everything was way beyond all you can imagine.... The most exclusive experience we could have dreamt of. A honeymoon it was, let's say it's the most beautiful way to celebrate our union, thank you everyone there !!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yanaparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

The guides were great, and the hotel is awesome too. Our rooms were spacious and nice, and the service was amazing.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
Thank Fritz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
16.6 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
412 reviews
13.2 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
511 reviews
5.8 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
440 reviews
5.1 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#16 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
871 reviews
5.2 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#15 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reserve

Address: P O Box 781854 | Steiltes, Kruger National Park 1213, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range: $132 - $1,755 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a private retreat of the Brink family, Chitwa Chitwa was transformed by Charl into an oasis of conservation and harmony. His dedicated holistic approach and wise land management are aimed at the handing of an uncontaminated African paradise to the future generations. In 1991 Charl and Maria Brink created Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Lodge, today a jewel of South African hospitality and an emblem of the savannas most authentic and refined luxury. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reserve Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reserve South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing