We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at Dulini!”
Review of Dulini Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dulini Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 20th Wedding Anniversary at Dulini this week, and we had a wonderful stay. Game sightings were beyond expression. Our guide (Fred) got us within 10 to 40 yards of most animals. Food, lodging, and hospitality were amazing. Thanks to Samantha and Werner for stepping in an hosting while we were there!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank humphrey_jm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 429 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just got back from Dulini and had an incredible experience. The wildlife was spectacular and the people at Dulini were fantastic. Can't say enough about Ian and his wife Sue who treated our family as we were one of theirs. Our guide Fred and tracker Martin made us feel like we were special and stayed out longer than usual if we were tracking something. Martin found wildlife that was very hard for other camps to find. Would recommend this camp to all

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tonytanti0922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were so impressed with every aspect of Dulini from the accommodation to the daily menu! If you are reading this and considering your options, I can assure you, you will be forever in love with Dulini once you have been there. We are looking forward to a repeat visit and we hardly ever do that! After travelling on many continents I think we have caught the "Safari Bug". The animal encounters and knowledge of animal behaviour was wonderful - thank you to our driver and tracker, Patrick and Tyrone! Our butler, Maurice, provided just the right amount of professional service without being overwhelming. Small things like your washing being done on a daily basis leaves you feeling like you have been totally pampered! Thank you everyone at Dulini and hope to see you all again before too long.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room. We were in No. 2 and it was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Dulini Lodge had a most warm and welcoming staff. Our very large room was like a small lodge of its own wrapped with lots of windows for great light and views. It also had a private plunge pool, outdoor shower and a deep soaking tub. From the outside, it reminded me a bit of a hobbit house with its circular rock walls and domed thatched roof. It was quite charming on the outside and beautifully appointed on the inside.
In our room were two pieces of homemade fudge compliments of our butler, Reply. We were soon warned, however, that two other guests had theirs pilfered by sneaky little squirrels, so we stored them in the well-stocked refrigerator. We were also warned about locking our door with the key, although we left it in the lock, because the very clever baboons enjoyed watching us humans and mimicking our actions. Thus, they had learned to enter rooms and create huge messes as well as to appropriate anything of interest.
Our ranger was Patrick, a former &Beyond ranger who stayed when the camp changed hands recently. Our tracker was Tyronne. Sabi Sands is known for the Big Five and we saw them on two of our three days. My favorite sighting was 3 female lionesses with 7 cubs of various ages and huge paws ambling down the road in front of us. The cubs kept trying to stop and rest and then had to run to keep up with mom. We also saw a magnificent 4-year-old leopard being courted by a female. A day later, the hussy was circling a different male, wanting to mate with him to ensure pregnancy. The one sad event that occurred was when our team saw a tree off the road filled with vultures and decided to check on what was attracting them. Unfortunately, a poacher had shot a rhino, apparently a bad shot, so he didn’t get the horn, but the rhino died anyway.
The food by Jess was superb in flavor, creativity and presentation. We had a surprise group sundowner gathering on top of a large rock with amazing views and great snacks and dinner in the boma one night that included singing of traditional African songs and all of us dancing around the fire. Great fun! Our butler, Reply was attentive, caring and professional as well as delightful.
Thanks to our great travel representative, Kirsten Arnold, and my granddaughter, Melissa, who collected everything, we had arranged to take soccer balls and jerseys to a care center in a nearby community. Federal Air graciously allowed us an extra bag at no charge, Dulini staff inflated the balls and Rinske from nearby Savannah Lodge met us and drove us to the center which supports 250 children living in homes without parents and being raised by the oldest sibling. The center provides a meal for the children and some activities coordinated by Rinske and women volunteers from the community. When the women began to toss the balls out to the children, smiles erupted everywhere. What great joy for so little. My husband and I couldn’t stop grinning as widely as the children.
All in all, a glorious start to our safari.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank deli0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

After months of researching a honeymoon vacation, my husband and I selected Dulini for the safari portion of our trip. Rooms were spacious, clean and fully equipped. Staff was friendly and went over and above our expectations. Food was excellent! Setting was private. We loved staying here and would return.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachbride08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We went to Dulini over Christmas as part of our Honeymoon. I must say, it was one of the most magical experiences anyone could ask for!

The way one lodge can make it seem like you are eating meals in a completely different locations each meal time is something very impressive. Given we were on our honeymoon, the number of surprises and treats we received were also immense - I will not ruin these for anyone planning to spend time there for that reason. The game drivers/rangers are brilliant and so friendly that we were always at ease and in the knowledge they would do everything they could to make sure we enjoyed ourselves. Words cannot describe how great this place is.

We will definitely be returning to Dulini at some point in the future as it holds a special place in our hearts

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunit1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at Dulini for 4 nights in March 2013 and it is simply amazing! We chose Dulini because of its reviews on Trip Advisor and the reviews didn't do it justice. The physical grounds of Dulini are lovely. The lodge is located inside the Sabi Sands game reserve and is open to the reserve except for the elephants. Most days there are monkey, impala, kudu and other animals wandering in and around the grounds. Dulini has a main common area which is roofed but open air, a lovely pool and deck and individual cottages where the guests stay. Meals are served in the common area unless you request a private meal in your cottage. Meals were a nice mix of group experiences and smaller individual family experiences. The food is varied and delicious (not to mention plentiful!). The cottages are well appointed, beautiful and comfortable. Make sure to lock your doors because the monkeys and baboons know how to open the lever handle doors! We especially loved the outdoor shower and private plunge pool that each cottage has.

We met the new owner and his family and they are lovely! They used to run Dulini years ago and have recently re-bought it with a partner. Their future plans for Dulini will guarantee that future guests will have at least as good of an experience if not better than in the past. The staff is the same as when Dulini was an & Beyond lodge and all of the staff go out of their way to be kind and helpful. Dulini has a family feel to it. By the end of our stay we truly felt like it was our home away from home.

One huge advantage of Dulini over other lodges in the area is that Dulini strives to only have 6 guests in each safari vehicle. I wouldn't have thought about this prior to going on safari but having more room on the vehicle allows you to take much better pictures and move around a bit. Every other safari vehicle we saw from competitive lodges was packed with 9-10 guests per vehicle. This is a very meaningful difference.

Our guide and tracker (Patrick and Tyron) were delightful. We saw EVERYTHING that we wanted to see on safari including multiple leopards, wild dogs, lion cubs, etc.

My only advice (and this isn't specific to Dulini) is to make sure to bring a Rx for Cipro and some over the counter stomach remedies. It isn't unusual for tourists in Africa to pick up stomach bugs and there isn't anything even remotely close by.

Dulini provides bug spray and one electrical converter per cottage. There is free wifi in the common areas but not in the cabins. I'd also recommend bringing some good books or videos as there is a fair amount of down time between the two game drives. Unless you are eating or napping there isn't a lot else to do.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DFinnCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
18.2 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
429 reviews
13 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#13 of 43 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
520 reviews
7.4 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 43 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Royal Malewane
Royal Malewane
#27 of 178 in Kruger National Park
263 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
446 reviews
13.5 mi away
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
#1 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dulini Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dulini Lodge

Address: | White River, Kruger National Park 1240, South Africa (Formerly &Beyond Dulini)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range: $534 - $3,774 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dulini Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under a leafy canopy of ebony trees, six luxurious stone cottages grace the banks of the Mabrak River. As one of only 12 guests, you feel instantly at home in this quiet retreat, where classic interiors enfold guests in quiet style and elegance. Generous private plunge pools and shady decks look out onto the dry riverbed. Large, welcoming sofas and African sculptures fill the gracious guest areas. Dine under the ancient jackalberry tree where skilled chefs serve delicious meals or steal away for an intimate dinner in the well-stocked wine cellar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
And Beyond Dulini Lodge
&Beyond Dulini Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Dulini Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing