We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A simply amazing experience, in great surroundings”
Review of Dulini Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dulini Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

It's difficult to write a review about Dulini that does it full justice. Normally I would review a hotel as a place treat, sleep, meet and relax, but Dulini is so much more.

It's the catalyst for an experience that will stay with you for life! To review it simply as a lodging would be to totally miss the point.

As a lodging it can't be faulted. The accommodation is great, very comfortable and well equipped with everything you might need. The food is first class and prepared with real passion from Executive Chef Jess and her team, served by the always attentive team of butlers, largely wherever and whenever you want it.

All in all, as Lodge to base your safari around, Dulni is very difficult to fault in any way.

But that's just the start. Now for the rest of the experience, which is why you'll be in Sabi Sands to start with ..........

Sabi Sands is a private extension to the Kruger National Park, but that's where any similarity ends. Other than proximity they are poles apart. In terms of access to wildlife, Sabi Sands is in a league of its own.

The team of Dulini Rangers & Trackers are so knowledgable, they make the area come alive for you, and they so with such sympathy for, and empathy with, the wildlife. Within our first 24 hours we been fortunate enough to have seen all of the "Big Five". Not only had we sighted them, but we had spent time just metres away from each, and learnt so much about them (as we did all the animals) from our Tracker and Ranger.

Take the time to also take a walk from Dulini out into the area with one of the Rangers. You'll experience and appreciate a whole new side to Sabi Sands.

The whole experience is carefully, passionately & expertly orchestrated by Ian & Sue, Dulini's hands on owners, who really want to make their guests stay truly memorable, as well as building a sustainable local environment. They certainly achieved that with us, and more!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
There are newer reviews for Dulini Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 406 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

Dulini Lodge currently occupies Tripadvisors #1 rank in Sabi Sands for good reason. It is perfection. It has a natural rustic, non-resorty-outward appearance, but with every luxury. Only 6rms-individual chalets really-each with LR (stocked bar incl,) luxurious glass-walled bathroom with indoor and outdoor stone shower, king bedroom opening to a spacious very private deck with views, plunge pool and chaises. Heaven for your free time!
Your personal butler serves you every meal which is personally described to you by the chef. Cuisine is 5 star. We could not have been made to feel more special if we were royalty or celebrities. The game at Sabi Sands is exceptional and abundant. You won't believe your intimate access to the animals. Take note that with only 6 suites, you are never more than 6 to a vehicle which is very important for comfort and photography.
We two couples agreed that we have never been treated better anywhere ever! Dulini is first class.
Ownership has just changed but much of the staff is remaining. We are told that the new owner was in fact a previous owner who re-purchased out of love for Dulini.
I've told my husband that if I am ever missing and he WANTS to find me--look for me there.

Room Tip: I believe they are all quite similar.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JanetFtMyersFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at Dulini for a weekend and stayed in many 5 star lodges before and Dulini is a perfect 5 star location.
- perfect game viewing (big 5 almost guarantied)
- excellent food
- fantastic rooms

The best thing about &beyond is the outstanding service quality. From the beginning to the end... Thank you!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

one word, repeated many times... wow, wow, wow.
The lodge was luxurious and spacious, the food was exceptional, every meal was superb and the service was impeccable. We really can't speak highly enough to do justice to the four days and nights we spent at the Exeter Dulini lodge.
For our entire stay we were looked after extremely well, all the staff were really friendly and welcoming. The game viewing was superb, our ranger Steve and tracker Prince made sure we saw everything we wanted to and more.
What a perfect way to kick off our honeymoon, if you are thinking of going then stop thinking and book it, you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

If I had to pick one place to be on earth for the rest of my life, it would be Dulini Lodge. We have travelled all over the world and stayed at many amazing places, but nothing to compare to Dulini Lodge. Yes, it's an older lodge and not as fancy as some of the more modern ones, but the people who run Dulini are in a class by themselves. From the moment we arrived and Gift greeted us, we knew we had come to some place very special. She had someone bring us a cool drink while we sat down to fill out our paperwork. When we started to our room, we met Patricia, the manager, who obviously had seen our reservation because she knew it was my birthday and wished me a good day. When we got to our lodge we found little notes from some of the staff welcoming us and a note from Patricia wishing me Happy Birthday again.
We had two different guides while we were there, Steven and Patrick, our tracker was Tyron. They showed us everything we wanted to see and more. Nothing was too great a challenge for them, even the pouring rain didn't stop us. Besides all the animals, the scenery is breathtaking. The stops for refreshments always had special treats to eat, even if we weren't hungary, and Amarula. If you don't know what it is, find out!
We also had two butlers, Reply and Given. I can't tell you how well these gentlemen took care of us. We felt pampered and cared for.
The food was nothing short of spectacular. We ate better that some 5 star restaurants that we've been to. The chefs do amazing things. They always come out from the kitchen to let you know the menu for lunch and dinner. Then you eat until you can't hold another bite, even if it's something you don't think you want to eat, you eat it because you know it's going to be great. The second night we were there, everyone ate together, even the guides, at one long table. When the chef announced the menu, she said that dessert was a surprise. It was alright, it was a birthday cake for me. About 10 staff members came out with the cake, sang happy birthday and then continued to sing and dance, the chef played the drums. They danced all around the room singing songs that we didn't know and couldn't understand, but it was happy and fun. Then they had me get up and dance with them, and then everyone was up dancing and clapping and having a wonderful time. I was in tears before it was over. A couple of guests had their cameras and got some of it on video and have promised to send it to me. It surely was a night to remember.
We had two other special dinners here. One night, they set up a table for my husband and I in the wine cellar, complete with candles. Our butler said he did it because we seemed so happy to be there and enjoying our selves. The last night we were there we came back from our game drive and went to our room to clean up for dinner. We walked in to our lodge and found a table set up for our dinner. The room was decorated with flowers and candles, with a note saying to call when we were ready to eat. It was lovely. I went back to the bath room to change and found more candles and a hugh bubble bath with a note saying to relax and enjoy it before dinner. Our butler, Reply, seemed to enjoy spoiling us as much as we enjoyed every thing he did.
We have never met any other group of people who seem to take you in as family and treat you with such kindness and love as the staff at Dulini. It is truly a place that we will never forget and hope to return to some day.
When we planned this trip we never imagined that we would fall in love with Africa, but we did. And we truly left our hearts at Dulini Lodge.
I can't tell you in words what a magical place this is, you'll have to visit yourself to see. The entire staff treat you like long lost family, happy to see you and sad to see you go.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank annsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I really don’t think I could do Exeter Dulini justice by writing about how amazing it was to spend 5 days in the company of some of the most knowledgeable, friendly, respectful people I think I have ever had the pleasure to meet. I visited here with my new wife on a South Africa Honeymoon and it without doubt completed our dream holiday. And as soon as our now 15month old is old enough to hold on tight..lol I’m sure we will be returning. We saw all we wanted and more (Rhino's making new Rhino's...) Lions getting ready for a night out on the town, Elephants that were having a bad day, wild dogs that had just returned from a drive through, and most days a Leopard that enjoyed sun bathing on the parked cars. Just to name a few, almost 600 pics which I trawl through on a regular basis, because it really is true that going to a zoo, or wildlife park really is nothing like being in the middle of it all on one of Dulini's game drives.

Room Tip: ANY... You wont be upset.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boy-done-good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

TEAM DULINI

We stayed at Dulini btwn Christmas and new years 2012
and can 100% recommend this lodge and its staff to anyone.
This ranks as one of the best overall experiences we have ever had. This is a small “boutique” lodge if you will, so you get to know all the staff and most all of the guests with 6 rooms. Singita is well known as a luxury lodge but we felt Dulini was a little jewel.
The &BEYOND CO hires amazingly knowledgeable, kind, and attentive staff so in terms of service there was no issue. We visited the sister property, RIVER LODGE which was larger and felt more like a hotel with a proper lobby and they had a gorgeous Great Room which was open and airy overlooking the river -- didn’t see any guest rooms though. Also looked like a great place to stay. Dulini had wifi only in main part of lodge not rooms or pool area but it worked well. Cell service seemed to work throughout
The rooms at Dulini are very well appointed but cushions could of used a cleaning indoors and out. Outdoor shower was amazing and bathrooms excellent.
Be prepared insects everywhere, but that is AFRICA
We were there of course for the wildlife and it didn’t disappoint- we saw the big 5 in our first 2 days and a lot of bird species which were beautiful. On our last day we saw what is very rare for our area of the sabi sands, a pack of wild dog and hyena.
A leopard came right into the lodge midday on one occasion. Our tracker Jack and Ranger Steve made the drives so memorable and fun. They were fearless in their pursuit and would often times drive through very dense areas of the bush mowing down trees like a heard of elephant. Jack and Steve were both very cool and friendly and we all felt like we were a team. We got very very close to all of the animals except giraffe and zebra. Leopards, lions, rhino were very very close to the landrover.
Steve was very informative about a lot of the bird and plant life which was an added bonus
It was super hot so we couldn’t go on a lot of walks but I would recommend taking advantage of doing the walks as much as you can because there is a lot of down time and eating between drives and it’s a change up from driving. Breakfast, in my opinion, was the best meal with great variety and fresh foods. We could barely eat lunch after the buffet they lay out in the morning. Maurice was our “butler” waiter and made this great special ginger tea. He was fantastic. Isaac the manager was also lovely.
Bring small video camera even a version of a flip cam or iphone because capturing the lions roaring or different animal sounds is really special.

Room Tip: Room 6 by far is the most private
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marms71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
7.4 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
451 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
422 reviews
22.9 mi away
Royal Malewane
Royal Malewane
#6 of 175 in Kruger National Park
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#9 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
504 reviews
14.0 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
409 reviews
12.0 mi away
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dulini Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dulini Lodge

Address: | White River, Kruger National Park 1240, South Africa (Formerly &Beyond Dulini)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range: $110 - $2,331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dulini Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under a leafy canopy of ebony trees, six luxurious stone cottages grace the banks of the Mabrak River. As one of only 12 guests, you feel instantly at home in this quiet retreat, where classic interiors enfold guests in quiet style and elegance. Generous private plunge pools and shady decks look out onto the dry riverbed. Large, welcoming sofas and African sculptures fill the gracious guest areas. Dine under the ancient jackalberry tree where skilled chefs serve delicious meals or steal away for an intimate dinner in the well-stocked wine cellar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
And Beyond Dulini Lodge
&Beyond Dulini Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Dulini Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing