We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beyond ecpectations”
Review of Dulini Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dulini Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

“beyond expectation”
Oct 29, 2012 Efsen
I read before our trip from Trip Advisor about the lodge. I was fully satisfied with personalized service, great food and smiling faces. i went there with my 7 yrs old son, and everybody was so helpful to meet our needs. i especially enjoyed the barbecue night with South African dance. Our guide Craig was very good to make our safari great. We saw big 5 twice in 3 days. I would highly recommend the lodge.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Efsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 417 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

We spent two nights here in early October for our honeymoon and it was perfect. We flew JFK-JNB direct, then a short layover and the short flight from JNB-Nelspruit. From there, it was about 2 hour drive to arrive at the lodge. From the moment we got there, we were treated like royalty. Reply is the man. The staff will go above and beyond to make your stay amazing. The lodge has only a small number of rooms, and each suite is set apart to ensure privacy. We were in suite 1, which I recommend since its on the end. The suites themselves are extremely luxurious and the pictures on the website don't even begin to do it justice. The bar is always fully stocked with whatever you like. Game drives were at 530 AM and 430 PM. The vehicle situation is good b/c they have two trucks, which ensures that at most there will be 6 people in the truck. Barry and Martin were our guides - they were tremendous. The lodge is located in the sabi sand game reserve and there are some other vehicles that you will encounter during your drives, but overall it does not feel over-crowded. During our stay, we saw lions, rhinos, leopards, elephants, wildebeest, etc. The game viewing overall is phenomenal. The drives last for 3 hours approximately and sometimes you stop for coffee/sundowners in the bush which is an amazing experience. There are other surprises that the staff will do for you during your stay, but I won't spoil them here in the review. Overall, the stay was amazing and we highly recommend it to anyone. For honeymooners, it was perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CDKLmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

As seasoned travellers we have been to some good holiday destinations in the past but oh boy Dulini is very very special. Dulini lodge is idyllic with exceptional accomodation which is very spacious and luxurious but the most exceptional part is the amazing staff. From the minute you arrive until the time you leave the ever attentive staff weave their magic of surprises and thoughtful touches which provides a stay well beyond any expectation you may envisage. You can see from the previous reviews that in Dulini you get to know the staff by name and ours was no exception. Thank you Patricia, Gift,Freddy to name but a few. We saw the big 5 in the first 2 days and the safari experience was heightened by Patrick and Tyrone's excellent knowledge of the animals and knoweldge of the family history of many of the big game animals. This is a memorable experience made magical by the very special people in Dulini. I will make sure that when my children are older that they get to visit this extraordinary place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Dulini Lodge was our first stop on our first African safari and was a special introduction to this beautiful country. The rooms are wonderful: spacious, lovely decor that fits the locale, very comfortable bed and great bathroom. I loved the layout of the camp. The cottages are spread far enough apart that you don't see or hear your neighbors, from your deck or any room in the cottage all you see are the animals grazing in the dry river bed. In spite of the beauty and comfort of this lodge , it is the staff that makes Dulini so special: Isaac, Gift, Given, Reply, Maurice who made us feel so welcome. Also, Sinah and all of the kitchen staff produce fantastic gourmet meals of great variety. We ate so many fruits and veggies!
Our game drives were amazing thanks to the passion and expertise of our ranger William and tracker Isaac who make a terrific team and were so much fun to be around. We had plenty of sightings of the Big 5 and a wonderful hour watching the fascinating African Wild Dogs. What a bonus!
I could write so much more but don't want to spoil all of the surprises in store for you. Just go, be enchanted!
Oh, and a special shout out to Mummy for the best massage, ever.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mariamalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Where to begin? My husband and i have been home now for about 2 weeks and not a day has gone by that I don't think about our trip to SA and the Dulini Lodge in particular. I just read a few of the reviews below and smiled because some of the reviewers are now friends that we met while staying in Sabi Sands. This was a special place, from Gift, Isaac and Maurice to Steve and Prince (our ranger and tracker) every detail was covered. They were all so nice and generous with their time. This is a 5 star safari experience. My husband and I loved the Dulini because of the privacy and the fact that we were not looking to share our safari experience with young children. It was fun having a little coffee liqueur on the morning drive and a cocktail during the evening drive. Prince and Steve make great Moka Choka Laka Vula Valas (excuse the spelling;-) The night of the Boma was sooo much fun plus it is a great way to get to know the other people in the camp. You can spend as much time as you want with your fellow campers or just be private. We also liked the fact that there were never more than 6 people to a vehicle, which is not the case at other lodges.

We saw every animal except the Cheetah and Wild Dogs. Maybe next time because there will definitely be a next time! Oh and I worked with Janine Crawley at "And Beyond" to book our entire trip through SA and Vic Falls, Zimbabwe! Fantastic Job Janine!

Room Tip: They are all fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paljoey1075BD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in August and were not dissappointed. The staff are amazing with Gift,Maurice and Isaac worth a special mention. Our Game Drives were conducted by Steve and Prince and I still don't know to this day how Prince spotted a Chameleon at night to win his bet! WE saw five different leopards and also Lion and Hunting Dog together with a few month old Rhino.The whole Dulini experience was worth six stars if that's possible. We could not have been made to feel more special and the idea of dining in different places every night was great. The night that Maurice laid out our meal in our room was extra special. This place is worth all its brilliant reviews and more.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gricper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had high expectations for our first safari trip. The Dulini Lodge exceeding our expectations. It was fabulous!!! The staff was very warm, friendly, welcoming, helpful, knowledgeable, and just took excellent care of us. The gourmet food and homemade drinks were plentiful and delicious. The accommodations were just beautiful and comfortable. We felt very safe throughout the entire trip. Our guide William and tracker Isaac were awesome!!! We saw the Big 5 plus some rare sighting like wild dogs and honey badgers. We highly recommend the Dulini Lodge and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessieNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
18.2 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
410 reviews
13.0 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#10 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
511 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
456 reviews
22.9 mi away
Royal Malewane
Royal Malewane
#16 of 176 in Kruger National Park
261 reviews
13.5 mi away
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
#1 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dulini Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dulini Lodge

Address: | White River, Kruger National Park 1240, South Africa (Formerly &Beyond Dulini)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range: $103 - $2,216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dulini Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under a leafy canopy of ebony trees, six luxurious stone cottages grace the banks of the Mabrak River. As one of only 12 guests, you feel instantly at home in this quiet retreat, where classic interiors enfold guests in quiet style and elegance. Generous private plunge pools and shady decks look out onto the dry riverbed. Large, welcoming sofas and African sculptures fill the gracious guest areas. Dine under the ancient jackalberry tree where skilled chefs serve delicious meals or steal away for an intimate dinner in the well-stocked wine cellar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
And Beyond Dulini Lodge
&Beyond Dulini Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Dulini Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing