We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveler rating
388
66
16
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
388
66
16
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sabi sands watering hole game drives honeymoon suite open area gowrie gate infinity pool bush lodge wild dogs breakfast and lunch kruger park water hole off road wonderful experience hyena den safari experience morning drive
Filter
Updating list...
305 - 310 of 475 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2011

A friend of mine suggested to extend our business trip to Pretoria with a couple of days of private safari in Sabi Sand. "And take your wife with you!", he said. Boy, that are words that change our way of spending vacations in the future.
We were picked up with an airconditioned small van from the airport of Hoedspruit. The drive into Sabi Sand in itself is already very nice. We arrived on Saturday, so people in the villages were out on the streets and visiting markets. Lovely to see. The roads quickly became more dusty and in the end, we just drove right to the border of the Kruger national park, where Nkorho is located.
We were warmly welcomed and the daily routine of game drives, meals and bush walk were explained. Our room was lovely and roomy, with a beautiful bathroom and outdoor shower. The outdoor shower is very nice when it is 35ºC outside. There are no mosquito nets around the bed, but the doors and windows are all protected. We had no problems with mosquitos.
The central area has a lovely view over a small plain with a waterhole. This ensures lots of wildlife being in view while relaxing between drives, walks and meals. Service is very good indeed, since the rangers not only take care of you out in the bush, but also while you are in the lodge.
Food is good, certainly considering the environment that you are in. Breakfast and lunch are really special, with lots of choice with the buffet and cooked breakfast to order. Dinner is in a boma, so you really feel outside in the bush, hearing all the sounds of nature.

The safaris are primarily aimed at viewing the big 5. And you see them up close, really close. But the tracker and ranger do not just focus on that. Birds, plants, trees, everything will be explained to you, certainly when you ask for it.

All in all a very, very nice place to stay. When we drove back to Hoedspruit airport, it was the first time while being on a trip that I actually did not want to go home at all. And that sums our trip all up, I'd say.

Date of stay: February 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronley01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

We spent five days and nights at Nkorho Bush Lodge and got to see the BIG 5 up close! Lodge is very comfortable and is well maintained. All meals were good but breakfast was the best! The staff is friendly and courteous. Our driver and tracker (Norman) were great and took us into the bush to see the animals up close. If you are wanting a real safari experience that is affordable, I suggest that you stay here. Eventhough the rate is less, the lodge doesn't comprimise on service and delivers a great safari experience!

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayGoEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We have quite a lot of experience with games drives in SA and sadly to say we did not enjoy the game drives at Nkorho, although we got to see the big five. Our guide hardly communicated with us, drove very quickly without connecting with his passengers, because he wanted us "to see this sighting of a leopard as a surprise". After some reasonable feedback to him, he lashed out that he didn't mind stopping for every bok...". Later he apologized and slowed down a bit. Because you stick with the same guide for all your game drives, we were not that lucky. We got the impression two guides are competing who gets to see the "best animals" instead of tuning in with their guests needs. We also experienced the uncomfortable and unnecessary chasing of animals during two of our four gamedrives. Also take food with you, because before the morning game drive (3 hours!) you are offered the "service" of a simple coffee machine and half way the drive you get a rusk...Especially with children this is not very comfortable. The lodge is stunningly situated, that is for sure.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geristlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

From the moment we arrived here, our time was absolutely fantastic. All the staff were incredibly friendly and made us feel really welcome. We loved the size of the place, only enough room for 14 guests, which made it more intimate and personal. The accommodation is lovely, well appointed, has a great African feel about it without being too pretentious or standardised. The outdoor shower was a nice touch. The lodge, pool, dining areas etc again had a great feel about them and we enjoyed the pool deck and covered outdoor sitting area with a view over the water hole. There was always different animals walking into view..who needs tv?!

The game drives morning and night were fantastic and Jason and our tracker Thomas were brilliant. I think guests need to have an appreciation that each drive is at the mercy of nature and animals just don't turn up on cue! Patience is the order of the day on safari! We saw everything we could have wanted at least twice over in our five days.

The food and service was absolutely brilliant and enjoyed getting to know the other guests and Cedric the other driver too. No meal was ever the same and it always made us want to try something new each time! The wine and beers, G&T etc was also very nicely priced!

We enjoyed our downtime around the pool and the relaxed atmosphere was perfect as part of this bush escape.

Overall, fantastic lodge, good value, perfect size, accommodation ideal for all your needs, really friendly staff....couldn't speak more highly of the place. Would go back given half a chance!

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntCalthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

We would have to strongly disagree with wildattitude's review of this lodge, we have just returned from our 30th stay (over the last ten years) and the reason we return to Nkorho time and time again is for the awesome food, wonderful accomodation, outstanding rooms that are beautifully decorated and most of all for the fab staff, the rangers at Nkorho are some of the most knowledgeable in their field and we have found them to be very accomodating to every request made, not only do they take you out on game drives and show you awesome big five sightings closer than we ever imagined, they also wait hand and foot on you day and night making sure that every need is met. The staff is one of the main reasons why we will keep returning year after year. I would highly recommend this logde to all visitors, we have children and they have always been made welcome and been entertained. This lodge is like a home away from home. We are looking forward to our next stay in December

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linds62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews