We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting games”
Review of Nkorho Bush Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Asnieres-sur-seine, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exciting games”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

A very nice place at Sabi Sand Game reserve, open borders with Kruger Parks. Games are very exciting with chief ranger Cédric, who tells you everything about the bush (try the bush walk). Good food and warm staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julien N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    60
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
106
205
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was our third stay at Nkorho, having first come ten years ago. Each time we stay a little bit longer; this time for 5 days.

Finding the Gowrie Gate is not difficult though you will likely question whether you are going the right way at some point. Once through the gate signage easily directs you to the lodge.

Upon arrival you hand over your car keys and luggage is taken to your chalet. There are 7 chalets -- we stayed in #5 which used to be the honeymoon chalet until they built a newer and bigger chalet for this purpose.

The sleeping and bathroom areas are in one room (though a wall separates the toilet). There is a separate tub and both an indoor and outdoor shower (wonderful!). Our chalet also offered a large deck for lounging and watching the water hole. I did see the new honeymoon chalet and it is similar to ours but much larger with an indoor seating area, fireplace, and "dressing area".

The lodge has a small wine cellar offering South African wines for purchase. There is also a nice bar with the only connection to the outside world -- a tv, which was generally showing some sport while we were there. Wifi is available for a fee but I would recommend staying "disconnected" for the stay, as we did.

There is a large deck with plenty of places to relax, be it in the sun or shade, not to mention the infinity pool (as well as a separate small pool for the kids). Meals are served outside -- breakfast on the deck an dinner in the boma (sometimes with entertainment).

The day goes like this -- wake up "call", morning drive, breakfast, bush walk, relax time, lunch, evening drive, dinner and bed, though we always first stopped at the bar for drinks and conversation with the rangers before retiring. Times of activities vary based on the season of one's visit.

Our guides for this visit were Cedric (ranger) and Freeman (tracker). Cedric clearly has a passion for his work and a particular love of leopards and as a result we were fortunate to see about 8 or 9 different leopards during our stay (including cubs). We saw many different animals but my particular favorites were the pack of 16 wild dogs.

We also went on two bush walks during which Cedric educated us on the vegetation and uses as well as some animal and insect info -- always so interesting.

When checking out, luggage is taken care of for you (from room to car). Tip envelopes are provided for ranger, tracker and staff. Don't hesitate to ask for guidance on amounts.

We love the size of Nkorho and the relaxed atmosphere, without skimping on service. Fabulous as always!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jankabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui B, Owner at Nkorho Bush Lodge, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Jankabar. Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Wonderful that you saw the pack of 16 Wild dogs and enjoyed numerous Leopard sighting as well. We hope to see you back at the lodge in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I spent 3 nights at Nkhoro Lodge as part of a Business trip to SA begin of May 2013.

This was my first ever Safari - what great experience! During our game drives we saw the big 5 after 2 days. Chad and Norman made a really great job. They showed us leopards, lions, cheetah, rhinos, buffalos, elephants, wild dogs (rare sighting), zebras, beautiful birds and much more. I was very happy to be there in the low season because there was plenty of space for my photo equipment and nobody blocked the view on the wildlife.

The lodge is with 7 bungalows quite small and intimate. The stuff is very friendly and the food well cooked. In the evening you can enjoy the dinner around a fire in the Boma under the African sky filled with stars. My bungalow no. 6 was spacious, clean and bathroom with double showers (inside as well outside). During the day you can go swimming in a infinity pool watching antelopes.

I highly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for an affordable and comfortable lodge with animals a plenty.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui B, Owner at Nkorho Bush Lodge, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Roland Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with and thank you for posting your amazing photos. We happy to see you back at the lodge in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great intimate lodge. Staff amazing and friendly. Would be great for a family trip. Or cabin was clean and the bathroom is amazing. Outdoor shower! Our ranger was Cedric and he is just a good guy. Great at his job, good attitude, can't say enough good things about him. The game drives were fun and we saw a ton of animals. I can't wait to go back, it was amazing!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nkorho, Owner at Nkorho Bush Lodge, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your return.
Bush greetings Jacqui Becker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I spent 3 days here with my friend as part of our SA Christmas trip in 2012. I absolutely enjoyed this lodge. It was small, intimate, and was nested in a very secluded area. The service staff was friendly, and they left us alone when we needed to be alone, and provided all the necessary services when we needed to be served. The best moment of my day was lounging around next to the lovely infinity pool facing the vast grassland where the animals were sunbathing in the distance. The staff put on some 80's music in the background with a very low volume, as if the music comes from some long distance. I felt like the time just stopped for me- it was much needed for us. there were only 6 adult travelers at one time staying at the lodge, and everyone was quiet and friendly. I highly recommend this place, and if I were to come back to SA again, I would still love to stay here.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ValleyButterfly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nkorho, Owner at Nkorho Bush Lodge, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We hope to see you back at the lodge again.
Bush greetings Jacqui Becker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place, lovely young staff. Food is not as good as imagined, especially buffet wise. The cook did not seem to know what gluten free was exactly. Safari was fantastic! The lodge itself was stunning, the rooms were clean and well arranged

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our first ever safari - what an experience. Chad and Norman made a great team - they knew the animals personally and showed us 9 leopards, wild dogs, charging elephants (all in musth and cross with the world), hippos, rhino, buffalo, giraffe, zebra and lion.

An end of night breakneck dash back to our lodge to witness 5 lions stalking impala was a highlight for me. One male lion was 20m from the infinity pool in which we had lounged that day!!

The open nature of the lodge with great views to the waterhole really made this a wonderful adventure. Food was plentiful and well cooked. Rooms were spacious, clean and well kept by the staff and the outside shower a must do experience.

However, you go on safari for the animals and they didn't disappoint. Your safari can be made or spolied by your guide and tracker and ours made the experience both exciting and interesting.

Will be recommending this to anyone who asks as a superb lodge; affordable, comfortable with animals a plenty.

Room Tip: All rooms slightly different layout but none 'better' than others in my view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilKerfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nkorho, Owner at Nkorho Bush Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for your review on Tripadvisor Neil. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your return. Bush greetings Jacqui Becker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
7.6 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
445 reviews
13.5 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
413 reviews
7.5 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
318 reviews
7.6 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#15 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nkorho Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nkorho Bush Lodge

Property: Nkorho Bush Lodge
Address: Hluvukani, Kruger National Park 1363, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nkorho Bush Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled near the unfenced borders of the Kruger National Park this luxury four star Sabi Sand lodge offers a diverse abundance of classic African Wildlife. Nkorho Bush Lodge offers a comfortable environment in which to become one with nature, whether it be bird watching or game viewing from an open vehicle we offer a bushveld experience extraordinaire. Nkorho Bush Lodge creates and atmosphere of relaxation, sheer contentment a feeling of unity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nkorho Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nkorho Bush Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Nkorho Bush Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing