We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nkorho Bush Lodge was Truly Spectacular - 5 Star”
Review of Nkorho Bush Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sompting, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nkorho Bush Lodge was Truly Spectacular - 5 Star”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Nkorho Bush Lodge was truly spectacular with its surroundings, decor, staff and game drives all to the highest standard. The chalet was one of only 8 that are there keeping the maximum number of guests to 16. The rooms were serviced to a high standard with fresh flower petals on the towels and a luxury feel to everything, as a place to freshen up and rest between game drives, eating or taking photos it was perfect.

The local knowledge of the staff, guides and spotters is invaluable for a successful game drive and we saw the big 5 in our first 24 hours and so many more animal encounters over a three day stay at Nkorho Bush Lodge. We saw far more than we expected and CLOSE to the vehicle as well.

The food was great and the staff provided us with us a table for two under the stars with champagne on ice on our final night as a surprise. Perfect service, amazing multiple animal encounters and great lodgings made our stay at Nkhoro one of the best places we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seth_and_Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    58
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
103
202
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were greeted very nicely and helped take our luggage to the chalet.

Each of the 6 detached chalets faces towards the waterhole (although there are closer views from the pool/bar area). There is a bath and two showers – one outdoors, but private; a nice experience.

The gardens are mainly lawn and a few trees. The trees right by our property were home to a colony of red-headed weavers, busy building their nests. These are really bright little birds and lovely to watch.

Breakfasts, after the morning game drive, were pleasant. Meals were quite good and plentiful, and had some very nice items, without being outstanding overall. The evening meal was taken around the fire in a wooden stockade (boma) and seating brings you next to other guests. Tables were shared at lunch as well. We got to know several of our fellow guests quite well over two days and exchanged contact details. This didn’t seem to happen at other lodges and rest camps, so I guess it’s a case of whether you prefer a more private experience.

Staff and management were friendly.

Two game drives (early morning and evening) are included as is standard (I think) in private lodges. The game viewing was quite good, with a highlight of a leopard guarding its kill in a tree. However, there were no lions or other cats. We had our only sighting of side-striped jackal here, and one quick sight of an African Wild Dog. The ranger was quite willing to stop for interesting birds once they knew we were interested in these.

You can watch the action at the waterhole on a CCTV (web cam) at the bar. An infinity edge pool is outside the bar.

There was no wi-fi as far as I am aware.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank selimap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Nkorho Bush Lodge, Sabi Sand

August 25 to August 29, 2012

this was our second visit to Nkoroh Bush Lodge, we previously visited in 2008.

Right of the bat let me state, that we had a wonderful experience at the Lodge, but I still have some constructive criticism about our visit.

Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by Anja & Jessica. We were accommodated in Chalet #6, which provides privacy and a good look down to the waterhole to watch the activities, log on to: http://www.africam.com/cam.php?ID=nkorho...The Chalet has a lovely big bed-room, with a huge bathroom & terrace.

Prior to our departure I met Ms. Karin van der Merwe, the Manager who seemed to be a pleasant lady too. You can follow her on "Facebook".

We enjoyed all meals and the food was just right for our diet. Breakfast and Lunch is served in the open air dining room with a view over the open Savannah, the swimming pool and down to the waterhole as well. Very relaxing. Dinner is served nightly in the BOMA, tables are set around the open fire place, a lovely atmosphere under the African sky filled with stars. The locals who cook / serve the food are very pleasant and accommodating. The food is good homemade-cooking, nutritious and wholesome, just right for us and served buffet style. We come for the wildlife and not the gourmet food. After the buffet dinner is served on certain nights, the ladies provide entertainment, including chanting and dancing to give you a bush experience into their culture.

Our Ranger was "ANTON" and Tracker "Thomas". Almost right out of the gate we had our first aha moment... two Leopards were mating. We have witnessed this on previous Safari's to Sabi Sand, but I can tell you, it is rare to be seen and is a very special treat. This was followed by seeing a white Rhino and during the night game drive we saw six lionesses at the waterhole. What a great beginning. We saw a lot of wildlife (although I must say, it was less than during our 2008 visit) , too few highlights but that is not Nkorho's fault, this is how Safari's go, can't fight mother nature.

All staff members are very much concerned about the welfare of their guests.

Improvements are needed: The Safe in the Chalet was not working properly, but "Anja "came to the rescue..... for two days we had no Hot Water at 5:10 AM to shower prior to the game drive ( just to be sure I let the water run for 10 minutes ) again " Anja" came to our rescue to fix it... fellow travelers as you know, it's no fun to take a cold shower, but have no fear "Anja" is on the ball, you can count on her she is an absolute a " GEM ". After the third day the soap was not replaced in the shower.... on two mornings there were " no Rusks" available for the early coffee / tea hour at 5:40 AM. As many of you know, your assigned Ranger can make your Safari Trip a real highlight or it can be a disappointment. Remember we flew 8,800 km before we even saw a Leopard. Ranger Anton, a very pleasant young man missed two great opportunities to show us some additional highlights. We know about them because people on " Ranger Cedric's " vehicle saw a Leopard up in the tree with it's kill as well as two Cheetahs. We missed out on both of these sightings. This was a real disappointment for us because we just love Cheetahs . Anton never drove to the tree during our four night stay at Nkorho to show us at least the kill.
All he had to do was listen on the radio to Cedric and he could have followed his lead. We instead, saw Zebras and Kudus, what a let down and for that we spent thousands of dollars to go into the BUSHVELD.

On the positive side, I also will compliment Anton, for following a Leopard during the night game drive through the bush. During this experience we had a flat tire and it was changed in record time to follow the Leopard again. Anton, is also very accommodating to the photographers, he will not rush you . Congratulations !!!!!!

I still don't understand why Rangers display such a negative attitude towards the paying guests. Don't they get it, we want to see the big stuff when it is readily available, if not, I gladly study the behavior of Impalas. When will they ever learn , care and feel the pain of the TOURIST paying a lot of money to go on Safari and on top of it go through many challenges to get to the Sabi Sand Wildtuin. Anyway, we will be back. ( Sawubona )

Room Tip: ask for Chalet 5 or Chalet 6 near the Waterhole
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was our last safari having spent 15 days touring NW Province and Limpopo independently.

This Lodge was let down by its food and service.

Such a pity, because the game-drive Rangers (Frank and Bernard) worked really hard for us; despite being limited to where they could drive when game sightings were slow. It was entirely down to them that we left with some "NG standard" photos and happy wildlife memories. Game drive planning was poorly managed, but then so was the Lodge in general.

The setting of the Lodge and its rooms are superb. However, service was at best mediocre with attention to detail poor; eg. breakfast coffee cups left around public areas all day. The low was the standard of food: its planning; preparation; and presentation. The room-rates we were paying amplified the lackluster, completely unimaginative menu, and its presentation. We did feel for the kitchen staff : "garbage in .... garbage out" (cheap: bread, processed cheese, packet gravy, etc, .... and yes, cold fried Chicken Nuggets and Pringles to accompany Sundowners on an evening game drive. (.... think fast-food at restaurant prices)

Having flown into Jo'burg and hired a 4x4, this was our last safari destination in our trip. The variety we had experienced during our travels gave us a fair measure of what to expect for our Rand, which in general was very good VFM. We had stayed at a broad range of places: from Self-catering; B&B; DB&B; and full board. Frankly, we ate far better food whilst self-catering; using fresh ingredients and cooking on an open fire at night.

We were not alone in sensing that the lodge's staff morale was low, which was not surprising having witnessed first-hand a staff member waiting tables being treated by the manager more like a servant than part of a team. Such a disappointing contrast (see my other reviews).

As ever - caveat emptor.

Room Tip: Ask about your view of the watering hole from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RG10UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We couldn't have been happier with our safari at Nkorho Bush. (5th Aug to 9th Aug) We saw the big 5 and much more, a leopard up a tree very contented with his dinner, so close to lions on several occasions, tracking a pack of African Wild Dogs was great fun. Our Ranger Bernard & Tracker Frank were really on a mission. Bernard and Frank were brilliant working hard to make sure we saw as much as possible. Their excitement at the wonderful finds out in the bush was brilliant you would think it was their first sightings too. We had two drives a day, early morning & late afternoon, and were out for about 31/2 to 4 hours on each drive. The time flew by as it was really exciting wondering what would be round the corner. We could go quite a while without seeing anything and then all of a sudden word would come through of a special sighting and off we would go! Or ,on other occasions, we would turn the corner and there in front of us would be a herd of buffalo or a Rhino, amazing! We also saw so many species of bird and with our knowledgeable Ranger & Tracker, we learnt so much too. All the staff at Nkorho were so welcoming & helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The chalets were very spacious we stayed in chalet 6 which is huge & really comfortable and our 17 & 18 year old stayed in chalet 2. Although smaller it still had ample space and was just as comfortable. The cleanliness & service everywhere was superb. The buffet breakfast lunch & dinner was excellent with lots of choice & plenty to eat. We particularly loved our beds being turned down at night with a goodnight poem, a piece of nougat and a weather forecast delicately left on top. There were so many lovely touches that made this part of our holiday the best we had ever had. We would definitely go back to Nkorho Bush, Thank you Karin & all the staff for an amazing time! We will be back one day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Two years ago we visited Nkorho for two nights, we loved it so much we came back - this time for four nights. This time we didn't make the mistake of misclculating the time taken from Acornhoek. It's about one and a half hours from there. Aim to arrive for lunch at 2.00PM. The rooms are spacious - don't be put off by the 'rustic' tag. They are really very comfortable, with inside and outside showers. The food was really great - we especially loved the wide buffet selection at lunch - and Paul the chef makes a big effort to ensure everyone is happy and has what they want.
Most of all, the game drives are so special. Sabi Sands has to be the BEST place in the world to see Leopard. In four days we watched 5 different leopards, and the views were stunning. In fact you couldn't get better views of leopard. Yes, we saw the Big Five - if that's what counts (?). But there's plenty more - like the Hyena den, where we watched the cubs fooling about. Or the surprise Serval - what beautiful cat. Or the African Wild Cat.
Cedric, the Head Ranger is very engaging, and hugely knowledgeable. Our ranger was Bernard, who together with Frank, the tracker, went out his way to get everyone to see everything. We even stopped one evening, in the pitch darkness, for Bernard to give us guide to the stellar constellations, together with the ancient myths about the stars - wonderfull.
We want to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Barker_1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nkorho, Owner at Nkorho Bush Lodge, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Hi Paul
Thanking you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back at Nkorho for a third time.
Warm bush regards
Jacqui Becker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Church Stretton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Four of us stayed at Nkorho for 4 nights.(Sat. 5th.to Wed. 9th.May) This was our second visit having stayed 2 years before. We were as pleased with this stay as previously and would have no hesitation in recommending the lodge. Because the word "bush camp" is used, we had geared ourselves the first time to expect basic accomodation but we were suprised to find the rooms most charming and were well satisified with both the accomodation and food (thanks to Paul for your excellent cusine & attention to detail).
On this occasion we had Cedric as our ranger and Norman as tracker---both enthusiastic about the bush and the animals. We saw lepoard, lion, rhino, elephant and more significantely, wild dog which are an endangered species. We would say that guests should stay for 3 nights & request chalets 3,4,5 & 6. It is a quiet lodge so take a good book for when you are not out on the drives but if you elect to do the bush walk as well, you will be glad of some quiet time during the day.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who certainly made you feel most welcome. We have travelled extensively & the four of us say it was the best experience of our lifetime ( we are in our 60's). We plan to go again when in SA. It is excellant value for money. Allow 1.5 hours for the drive from Acornshoek (this is the best and fastest approach) & can be a bit rough once you hit the dirt road.

Room Tip: Request 3,4,5,& 6. Room 7 is the Honeymoon suite & is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
14.0 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
388 reviews
7.6 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
444 reviews
10.1 mi away
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
407 reviews
7.5 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
826 reviews
17.2 mi away
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
#8 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nkorho Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nkorho Bush Lodge

Property: Nkorho Bush Lodge
Address: Hluvukani, Kruger National Park 1363, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nkorho Bush Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled near the unfenced borders of the Kruger National Park this luxury four star Sabi Sand lodge offers a diverse abundance of classic African Wildlife. Nkorho Bush Lodge offers a comfortable environment in which to become one with nature, whether it be bird watching or game viewing from an open vehicle we offer a bushveld experience extraordinaire. Nkorho Bush Lodge creates and atmosphere of relaxation, sheer contentment a feeling of unity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Nkorho Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nkorho Bush Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Nkorho Bush Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing