We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely choose Nkorho Bush Lodge in Sabi Sand for your Safari.”
Review of Nkorho Bush Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely choose Nkorho Bush Lodge in Sabi Sand for your Safari.”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We couldn't have been happier with our safari at Nkorho Bush. (5th Aug to 9th Aug) We saw the big 5 and much more, a leopard up a tree very contented with his dinner, so close to lions on several occasions, tracking a pack of African Wild Dogs was great fun. Our Ranger Bernard & Tracker Frank were really on a mission. Bernard and Frank were brilliant working hard to make sure we saw as much as possible. Their excitement at the wonderful finds out in the bush was brilliant you would think it was their first sightings too. We had two drives a day, early morning & late afternoon, and were out for about 31/2 to 4 hours on each drive. The time flew by as it was really exciting wondering what would be round the corner. We could go quite a while without seeing anything and then all of a sudden word would come through of a special sighting and off we would go! Or ,on other occasions, we would turn the corner and there in front of us would be a herd of buffalo or a Rhino, amazing! We also saw so many species of bird and with our knowledgeable Ranger & Tracker, we learnt so much too. All the staff at Nkorho were so welcoming & helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The chalets were very spacious we stayed in chalet 6 which is huge & really comfortable and our 17 & 18 year old stayed in chalet 2. Although smaller it still had ample space and was just as comfortable. The cleanliness & service everywhere was superb. The buffet breakfast lunch & dinner was excellent with lots of choice & plenty to eat. We particularly loved our beds being turned down at night with a goodnight poem, a piece of nougat and a weather forecast delicately left on top. There were so many lovely touches that made this part of our holiday the best we had ever had. We would definitely go back to Nkorho Bush, Thank you Karin & all the staff for an amazing time! We will be back one day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    58
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
103
202
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Two years ago we visited Nkorho for two nights, we loved it so much we came back - this time for four nights. This time we didn't make the mistake of misclculating the time taken from Acornhoek. It's about one and a half hours from there. Aim to arrive for lunch at 2.00PM. The rooms are spacious - don't be put off by the 'rustic' tag. They are really very comfortable, with inside and outside showers. The food was really great - we especially loved the wide buffet selection at lunch - and Paul the chef makes a big effort to ensure everyone is happy and has what they want.
Most of all, the game drives are so special. Sabi Sands has to be the BEST place in the world to see Leopard. In four days we watched 5 different leopards, and the views were stunning. In fact you couldn't get better views of leopard. Yes, we saw the Big Five - if that's what counts (?). But there's plenty more - like the Hyena den, where we watched the cubs fooling about. Or the surprise Serval - what beautiful cat. Or the African Wild Cat.
Cedric, the Head Ranger is very engaging, and hugely knowledgeable. Our ranger was Bernard, who together with Frank, the tracker, went out his way to get everyone to see everything. We even stopped one evening, in the pitch darkness, for Bernard to give us guide to the stellar constellations, together with the ancient myths about the stars - wonderfull.
We want to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Barker_1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nkorho, Owner at Nkorho Bush Lodge, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Hi Paul
Thanking you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back at Nkorho for a third time.
Warm bush regards
Jacqui Becker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Church Stretton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Four of us stayed at Nkorho for 4 nights.(Sat. 5th.to Wed. 9th.May) This was our second visit having stayed 2 years before. We were as pleased with this stay as previously and would have no hesitation in recommending the lodge. Because the word "bush camp" is used, we had geared ourselves the first time to expect basic accomodation but we were suprised to find the rooms most charming and were well satisified with both the accomodation and food (thanks to Paul for your excellent cusine & attention to detail).
On this occasion we had Cedric as our ranger and Norman as tracker---both enthusiastic about the bush and the animals. We saw lepoard, lion, rhino, elephant and more significantely, wild dog which are an endangered species. We would say that guests should stay for 3 nights & request chalets 3,4,5 & 6. It is a quiet lodge so take a good book for when you are not out on the drives but if you elect to do the bush walk as well, you will be glad of some quiet time during the day.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who certainly made you feel most welcome. We have travelled extensively & the four of us say it was the best experience of our lifetime ( we are in our 60's). We plan to go again when in SA. It is excellant value for money. Allow 1.5 hours for the drive from Acornshoek (this is the best and fastest approach) & can be a bit rough once you hit the dirt road.

Room Tip: Request 3,4,5,& 6. Room 7 is the Honeymoon suite & is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle,wa
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My husband and I chose to stay at a private game reserve and Nkorho was one of the best values in the Sabi Sands region. They only have 6 chalets so it's very private. The rooms were fairly nice considering you're in the Africa bush. The food was just okay, but the chef really makes an effort to accommodate any dietary needs and wants you to be happy. He'll pretty much make you anything you want to eat if you don't like the shared meals. The game drives (there are 2 - one in the morning and one in the evening) are pretty good. The rangers make an effort to make sure you see all of the animals. We saw the big 5 plus lots of other amazing animals. The one thing about this place is that they will charge you for any bottles of water you drink or request that are not put in your fridge. Our fridge wasn't refilled a couple days and they didn't make this water charging policy very clear so we started to order waters at the bar and at our meals - only to find out later when we probed that we were being charged. They later refilled our fridge with waters upon our request for the days that were missed and credited our account, but just watch out for that. None of the drinks are included so that tab can add up. The lodge is on a very pretty piece of open land and zebras, gazelles and other herds will often come up to the waterhole and run around in the open grass. It's a beautiful place and worth the long trek to get there.

Room Tip: Chalet 1 & 2 have views out to the waterhole but are further from the common areas. We stayed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seetheworld26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I spent a lot of time researching all the options in Sabi Sands reserve, a private game reserve bordering Kruger Park, that is highly rated. All the lodges are expensive, but Nkorho for us offered the best "value", we were not disappointed. We were four in our party, including our two boys ages 12 and 15 yrs. The booking process and communication prior to arival was excellent. We flew in to Hoedspruit from JHB and Nkorho arrainged a van transfer for us for the 2 hour drive to the lodge (~$400 for the four of us return). The accommodation was tasteful, spacious, up-market and very comfortable. The food was superbe thanks to their resident chef. The game drives were great, even though we never saw lion or rhino on the four drives we did. We did however, see leopard on 3 of 4 drives up close. We had some amazing animal experiences thanks to our ranger Bernard and tracker Frank. There were times where we drove for maybe 30-45 minutes without seeing anything, then we'd turn the corner and see a large bull elephant coming down the road, or a pack of wild dogs, a herd of Cape Buffalo or large group of hippo, well worth the wait. The pool and deck overlook a grassy plain and a small watering hole, though not that close to the deck. For Sabi Sands, Nkorho Bush Lodge met and exceeded our expectations, well worth the $$$.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RadHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

As there are a lot of reviews already, I will keep it to the point:
- this lodge is more of a couples quiet type, which was perfect for us (honeymoon)
- the honeymoon suite was unbelievable (see pics), a part from the rest of the houses and extremely quiet
- food was good but as the other lodge (Elephant plains) not memorable
- lunch at the communal table can be nice when everyone is chatting or a bit awkward when it is the contrary, that's why I don't think it is the best lodge for families
- dinner at the "boma" in half circle was nice but difficult to see what you are eating
- they had a great consideration for my wife who is vegetarian
- staff was nice, but seemed a little bit on the edge and did not help much to make the group more coherent, which is understandable since most people are staying 2-3 nights
- rangers are awesome and know their ways: first drive: mating lions with roaring king of the jungle style !!!!
- in oct, it is not the best season for the waterhole, so we did not spot many animals there

Room Tip: the furthest away from main facilities, the quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank al3xh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waedenswil, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

As part of our South Africa trip last year we stayed at Nkorho for two nights. We chose this lodge as it is one of the more affordable places in Sabi Sands and also fairly small. We were not disappointed. The rooms are very nice including and outdoor shower, which I loved! The main building is beautifully set directly across from a watering hole where you can watch the animals at night. The price includes all meals and two game drives per day plus a bush walk.

The food was good, expecially enjoyed the dinner in the boma. Drinks were reasonably priced.

Both the rangers and trackers work really hard to make sure that everybody gets to see the big five. Yet I never had the feeling that the space of the animals was not respected. Everybody (including the rangers of the other lodges) made sure that there were never more than three cars in the same spot. The highlight for sure was a leopard with her cub on the last day. We had the added benefit that a professional photographer was staying at the lodge at the same time, who shared some of his knowledge.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeWe81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
14.0 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
388 reviews
7.6 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
444 reviews
10.1 mi away
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
407 reviews
7.5 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
826 reviews
17.2 mi away
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
#8 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nkorho Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nkorho Bush Lodge

Property: Nkorho Bush Lodge
Address: Hluvukani, Kruger National Park 1363, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nkorho Bush Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled near the unfenced borders of the Kruger National Park this luxury four star Sabi Sand lodge offers a diverse abundance of classic African Wildlife. Nkorho Bush Lodge offers a comfortable environment in which to become one with nature, whether it be bird watching or game viewing from an open vehicle we offer a bushveld experience extraordinaire. Nkorho Bush Lodge creates and atmosphere of relaxation, sheer contentment a feeling of unity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Nkorho Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nkorho Bush Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Nkorho Bush Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing