We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (606)
Filter reviews
606 results
Traveler rating
548
48
8
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
548
48
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game viewing safari experience guide joel the river sabi sands breakfast in the bush wild dogs colonial style skukuza airport the main lodge off road boma dinner south africa leopard sightings rooms are comfortable black rhino wonderful experience
Filter
Updating list...
536 - 541 of 606 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We were fortunate enough to stay at Kirkmans in October for 3 nights and it was an awesome experience. Thomas was our butler for the duration and nothing was too much trouble for him - he was an absolute delight with a wicked sense of humour and we gelled to him immediately. We told him that we were vegetarian which is sometimes a problem to us in South Africa, such a big meat eating nation, but he arranged for the kitchen to make us some gorgeous meals and we were royally fed and watered. The room was divine and so very clean. Kirkmans is a typically old colonial property which added to its charm. We overlooked the bush and frequently had impala grazing outside our balcony and a family of monkeys with their young playing in the trees - mischevious little babies too! Don't leave your clothes on the chairs - they might be very quickly missed! Our ranger Jonty and tracker Elvis were amazing - Jonty had only just arrived at the camp for a months secondment and had only just met Elvis but, as the 3 days went on, they became an amazing team and it was warming to hear Jonty ask Elvis's opinion and advice on the area. These local trackers have an incredible knowledge and expertise to be marvelled at. All the staff at Kirkmans made you feel as though you were part of their family - the welcome was so generous. Game drives were excellent and we certainly saw the big 5 and more - I can fully recommend hot chocolate made by Jonty with a little Amarula in it for extra strength - gorgeous! All in all a very special place and we will certainly try to go back.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pammy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

I will visit this place again. Every guest was treated like a VIP. The staff were all nice and friendly.

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leyte_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

On this trip to Africa, Kirkmans Kamp will be the safari highlight. This property in the Sabi Sands area next to Kruger offers great opportunity for game viewing, with prevalent and varied species to observe and enjoy. One can never be certain of what might be seen on any given game drive, or even an entire stay at a safari camp, but luck and the outstanding guiding and spotting skills of Dalson and Gophet allowed us exceptional viewing of the big five and more. Wow!
The camp was so pleasant to be in with the main lodge area the old farm house, decorated wiith memorabilia usually found in a museum. Very comfortable. Our rooms were outstanding. The views from #11 through #14 offer the best, most expansive views of the Sand River below. The staff was friendly and efficient, taking care of what little requests we might of had, and Sam, our butler, was everywhere, appearing when ever we arrived from a game drive or from our rooms to the lodge. Amazing.

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blancoriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Our family went to South Africa for two weeks in August 2010, and we visited three different safari "camps" while we were there. We loved them all, but Kirkman's Kamp was our favorite. Our guide, Anton, and our tracker, Jerome, were absolutely fantastic -- and we found that the guide and tracker really make your safari experience. Jerome's eye sight must be way better than 20/20, because we felt that if there was something to see he was going to see it. And then Anton's knowledge and personality made them an incredible team -- Anton could really explain what you were seeing, in an interesting and fun way. I work in advertising, and I teach client skills, and I would say Anton's client skills are some of the best I've seen in any industry. Ask for Anton and Jerome if you go to Kirkman's!

The camp itself was beautiful, with great views in all directions, and the all of the staff were friendly. This camp had the most charm and personality of anywhere we stayed in South Africa (we also stayed at Phinda Mountain Lodge and Ngala Safari Lodge -- also both excellent). In the bar/appetizers area, there was a board with all the various animals and bird you might see, each with a point value (the more common sightings had lower values). At the end of the day, each team would check off what they saw that day. Our kids (ages 12 and 14) loved the points, and they loved Anton and Jerome. Our daughter cried when we left, and we wanted to!

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wwt_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

From the minute of arrival we knew that this was going to be special. Every single employee on the premises treated you as a very welcome guest. The Accommodation was superb and comfortable and extremely clean as I run a B&B I am concerned about this aspect. The food was sumptious and so tasty. The trackers and guides were confident and reassuring and I soon gained confidence out in the wild under their direction. I could not rate this experience any higher. Do not hesitate to stay with the best... I have footage of a leopard and 6 week old cub changing dens and walking along the road... National Geographic eat your heart out!!

Date of stay: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helens11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews