We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unreal”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unreal”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We loved Kirkmans Kamp. We were very lucky with our awesome tracker Collin and Ranger Gareth. They really went above and beyond to deliver on our daily animal requests. From multiple leopards in trees, elephants crossing the river whilst the sun goes down, hippos, rhinos, hyenas and all of their babies. Also a bird watchers delight. Loved the ranger special every morning, made the 5am starts much easier. We were also lucky enough to see lions mating! Great sightings everyday thanks so much guys. All round staff were fantastic were had a great social time as well. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salcorns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    41
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
147
215
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Our stay at andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp in the Sabi Sand Game Reserve in South Africa was a perfect Safari experience. The lodge is an old homestead that is inviting, informal, and provides every comfort. The staff are outstanding. Every need is not only met but anticipated in a low key way. You are assigned a specific staff person to be your "butler" -- we had Agnes, who was delightful --to be sure that your are well cared for. What could be better than being met with a warm washcloth when you arrive after your long travels -- or an ice cold washcloth after a trip to the local community in 100 degree heat! The food was delicious and there were meals in wonderful surprise locations ( won't tell you to give away the surprise). Our safari guide, JP Joubert, and Eckson our tracker made our game rides very special. Their enthusiasm and respect for the animals was palpable. And we saw a fantastic array of animals. There is a comradship that develops among the guests and the guides as we meet for drinks before dinner and compete for the best tally of the day's animal sightings on a black board in the bar. The whole experience could not have been better. Other places we stayed in were wonderful lodges -- but Kirkman's had a special feel that can't be beat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The location looks like how you'd imagine a safari lodge should look. Most of the other resorts in the area simply look like resorts so they lack that charm and history.

The staff, every one of them, makes an extreme effort to cater to you. It's quite special when you have flowers on your bed, or food made specially for you, or having people know your name and speaking with you with interest.

Food was phenomenal. Breakfast, lunch, dinner, the sundowners, the teas and coffee. All of it was fantastic. They accommodated our vegetarian restrictions amazingly.

It's all so friendly. People gather before dinner for drinks and every other night you sit communally. We thought we wouldn't enjoy this since it was our honeymoon but it was perfect. I am so happy for this experience.

In terms of viewing animals, I think you want to be in Sabi Sand. We saw cars from a few other places but nothing too busy. Lots of animals. Unfortunately, no wild dogs (next time perhaps). We stayed away from Timbavati area because we heard the animal viewing wasn't as good and there is hunting allowed so Sabi Sand was quite nice.

Getting there was a little much though. We drove from Joburg. Blew out a tire on the way home in the most massive rain storm ever. But we got to do the panoramic route, see God's window, eat pancakes all on the advice of the Brendan at Kirkman's.

Everyone lines up to hug you when you go home. How cool is that?

Thank you all for an amazing trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyMays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We travel a lot, for work and pleasure (mostly the former) however this was our first experience in Africa.
At the end of 4 weeks traversing around the southern half of the continent we finished at Kirkman's Kamp, and could a finish be more perfect than this?
All details are thought through. All staff make a personal and sustained effort to make all guests feel at home, not be left sitting alone or ignored, and every creature comfort is provided as part of the package.
We all get a butler assigned just to us. Ours was Cynthia and what a joyous woman she is. Makes every day a pleasure and suprised us with a bubble bath after a night game drive with two glasses and flowers all about after a night drive.
Every second night the was a Boma where our guide Gareth joined us and the staff choir sang to us all. Charming!
In between all this, first rate meals (too many) Amarluen Coffee during morning drives and a drinks table during night drives. Pool, massages, all laundry done at the room price, in room bar included, wifi in the charming historic homestead, etc.etc.
Heaven on a stick. Loved it.
If you can leave this place as your last port of call it would be best, because anything after it, even though no doubt charming, will be dissappointing
Cannot recommend it more highly

Room Tip: Rooms 4 through 8 have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We are just returning from 4 days at Kirkman's Camp. From the moment of greeting until the warm farewell, we were enthralled with every aspect of the experience. We saw unbelievable wildlife, following leopards and their cubs, surrounded by 'tons' of elephants, watching hippos in the river, lions on the bank, giraffes in the trees, a black rhino on a stroll- and so much more. We loved our ranger, JP, and tracker Eckson, and would recommend them to ANYONE for their knowledge, enthusiasm, and the way they engaged us in the experience of gaming. We were brought into the excitement of the rangers as they searched for the black hippo or found a leopard with a kill in a tree. (Even the night security gets excited by which animals walk through the camp at night) We (all 5 of us) did not want to leave. The entire management of the lodge are so low-key and attentive at the same time. We felt pampered. And Karen- the chef- Unbelievable. Because of the incredible food, we hope they add a gym- maybe by the pool. Love this place and am so glad we were able to bring our family!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRTCOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

If you wish to experience an historical place for authentic safari excitement, Kirkman's Camp is THE place for you. The experience was more than we could have pictured. It is rustic without sacrificing anything of the big lodge amenities. You have a personal food and accommodation assistant, your guide and tracker are with you for more than the safari - we had the Big Five almost every day!, wow.
The food was both local and offered favorites wonderfully and deliciously prepared .
To have JP as our guide was to have the best! He and Ekson are a fabulous team that keep you on the edge of your seat- literally!
I could go on.....but Thanks everyone! The additional surprises in the bush and in our cabin will not be revealed! You will have to go to Kirkman's to find out what you will never forget!

Room Tip: They are all basically the same- animals surround you and the views of other river are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slk2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were looking forward to our return visit to andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp in September and were not disappointed. It was terrific to catch up with the friendly faces of Lennox, Robert and Friday again. The lodge, food, facilities and staff were exceptional, something we have learnt to expect from all andBeyond Lodges throughout Africa. As usual the game viewing was great but then on the last morning we were thrilled by the best sighting we have seen to date with interactions between buffalo, lion, hyena and wild dog at the one time, while a leopard with her kill, watched on from her vantage point in the tree. I cannot recommend Kirkman's Kamp more highly and have already booked to return in 2014.

Room Tip: Rooms 13 or 14 overlook the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
15.3 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
388 reviews
10.3 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
444 reviews
5.6 mi away
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
#8 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
408 reviews
14.1 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
396 reviews
9.3 mi away
MalaMala Main Camp
MalaMala Main Camp
#1 of 3 in Mala Mala Private Game Reserve
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp

Property: andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp
Address: Sabi Sand Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of safari comes alive at historic Kirkman’s Kamp. Step back in time into the gracious early settler atmosphere of this original 1920s homestead and marvel at the spectacular views of the unspoiled wilderness from each of the 18 guest cottages and the lodge’s rim-flow swimming pool. Rolling lawns carve out a niche in a wild and tumbling wilderness that hosts memorable game viewing in one of the most renowned Big Five wildlife regions in the world. Spacious sitting, dining and bar guest areas contain original mementos of a time long past. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kirkman`s Kamp Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
AndBeyond Kirkman's Kamp South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing