We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most equisit holiday treat, pure luxury.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Kirkmans Kamp is the most special, tranquil, funpacked, stunning treat of a place to go for a break. Every thing they do for you is just the most special experience. Our guide, Mark, made it an even extra special treat as he really went that extra mile to show us as much as he could on safari, and when the night skys set in and the stars came out, he was able to guide us through what was going on in the sky as well. He loves what he does, therefore our experience fed on that. The views and the light at the kamp are just dreamy. The attention to detail at the kamp and on safari were just exceptional. And i had the best massage i have had anywhere in the world so far. It is quite pricey to stay there, but it is worth every single penny. You will have the most special and memorable experience. I dont like to go on holiday to the same place twice because there is a whole wide world to be seen, but for kirkmans, we will make an exception and return next year!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sowilsono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
There are newer reviews for andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 511 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2011

Kirkman's Kamp is in a lovely setting. Game viewing is good. Outstanding accommodations. Elliot was a ranger---very knowledgeable, friendly, good sense of humor

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madcitysal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

We had 3 nights (and six game drives) here. The welcome we received was excellent (typical of South Africa). The camp itself is a former colonial home I believe and retains the colonial feel in the main building and is very well done.

Our ranger and tracker (Anton and Victor) were very good but by their own admission were driving a new area of the bush, shared with the adjacent Lion Sands reserve, and weren't fully familiar with it, having said that we saw lots of game and they were knowledgeable and good fun.

The accommodation was good, but by no means nearly as good as Kings Camp where we stayed before here. The rooms are fairly basic, the double bed is simply 2 singles pushed together and there is no mosquito net around it. despite the gap around the room door being big enough to admit a bumblebee never mind a mosquito. The rooms have small balconies offering a nice view of the bush and the river.

We had a private butler service (Grace) who was excellent and the food served was very good indeed. Our only gripe was the dining arrangement - dinner was served on the (sloping!) lawn in the pitch dark with only a storm lantern on the table - it was very difficult to see each other never mind the food. A flat decked area with some subdued lighting would be far preferable for al fresco dining.

The pool area is nice and there is a range of spa 'therapies' and massages available.

All in all a very good experience, the game drives were great (mostly) the staff were very good but the accommodation and dining experience could both be much better.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JulesandSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

The &beyond experience is truly incredible. Kirkman's Kamp was the third of three &beyond Lodges we stayed at in Africa. All we heavenly! Loved being greeted by Steph our female guide! And of course quiet but competent Victor! The whole Lodge was wonderful. Our game drives were spectacular. Victor absolutely tracked and found the Rhino for us! We came up empty with the Leopard but luckily Tsabo had found us such a beautiful one in Botswana (Sandibe Lodge) that we didn't care. We had a fabulous Christmas Day meal. Cocktails in the bar were festive! The food was great. And of course Sam took excellent care of us for all our meals. Steph took us on a walking tour which the kids loved! (Sophie 13 and Henry 11 were the perfect age to enjoy EVERYTHING!)
I would say this Lodge was perfect! (We also stayed at &beyond Sandibe, Botswana and Matetsi, Zimbabwe and they were also magnificent) Save your money an GO to Africa with &beyond!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kalolam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

This was our first trip to SA and Sabi Sand, and from the moment we arrived at Kirkman's Kamp, we got a very warm welcome and we realized instantaneously that we had made the right choice. We stayed for 2 nights and did 4 game safaris. Right from the quality and comfort of the room (real spacious and well done with a neat bathroom and a tub to relax), to the plush lodge which was done up beautifully, the staff was very courteous. The food was great and they made specially dishes to suit our likings (my wife being pure Veg and I am selective on the meat I eat), and the team also there ensured we did not miss Christmas, as they had decorated the whole place accordingly, we got a Socks of goodies in the morning :), and also had a gala Christmas dinner as a surprise. That's not all; we also had a Christmas party after the evening safari which was right in the jungle, which was a lot of fun.
The gaming experience was very good. Our Ranger Paul was a cool dude and ensured he showed us the ' BIG 5' during the stay there. The fun was to track the lion, and Paul left no stone unturned to finally locate the 2 lions we were tracking. Kirkman has a tie up with Lion Sands for trans-versing on their land, along with theirs (which is pretty large itself). They are allowed to go off track with their jeeps and follow the trails or get you a superb view, if they spot the BIG 5. The experience was truly amazing and the quality of animal sightings was excellent. Although this time of the year the vegetation is thick, therefore i am told winters is even a better time as the grass is low and sightings will improve further.... To sum up, we had a great memorable stay at Kirkman, and would recommend this place to anyone looking for comfort and a great Game safari experience.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avnish_1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

A great place to stay and enjoy South Africa's wildlife. As you would expect food and accommodation were of a very high standard but even these were eclipsed by the game drives and variety of wildlife. Mid September would appear to a very good time to visit. An all round amazing experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2010

My husband and I just returned from 3 nights at Kirkmans Kamp and it was so so AMAZING!
What makes this place so special is all the people who work there. We were so impressed with how thoughtful and dedicated the staff are here. Our sweett Butler Moses did so many unexpected things to make it special for us every day and our very knowledgeable and personable Ranger Anton and Tracker Gerry really went the extra mile for us in searching for any and all of the animals we desired to see. Each game drive was better than the last and we were in awe. We saw the big 5 more than once and we even saw Lions mating, Leopards and Hyena with an Impala kill and even witnessed and heard a make Lion roar. WOW....can you say amazing? This was my first experience on Safari and it was more than I could have imagined. From the moment you arrive at this place till the moment you leave you are pampered and cared for and it makes your experience so special. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who is thinking about it. It was a MAGICAL!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdbretts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
3.0 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
387 reviews
5.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
10.3 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
421 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#9 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
502 reviews
14.1 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp

Address: Sabi Sand Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range: $104 - $1,742 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of safari comes alive at historic Kirkman’s Kamp. Step back in time into the gracious early settler atmosphere of this original 1920s homestead and marvel at the spectacular views of the unspoiled wilderness from each of the 18 guest cottages and the lodge’s rim-flow swimming pool. Rolling lawns carve out a niche in a wild and tumbling wilderness that hosts memorable game viewing in one of the most renowned Big Five wildlife regions in the world. Spacious sitting, dining and bar guest areas contain original mementos of a time long past. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kirkman`s Kamp Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
AndBeyond Kirkman's Kamp South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing