We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (606)
Filter reviews
606 results
Traveler rating
548
48
8
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
548
48
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game viewing safari experience guide joel the river sabi sands breakfast in the bush wild dogs colonial style skukuza airport the main lodge off road boma dinner south africa leopard sightings rooms are comfortable black rhino wonderful experience
Filter
Updating list...
528 - 533 of 606 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Kirkman's Kamp is in a lovely setting. Game viewing is good. Outstanding accommodations. Elliot was a ranger---very knowledgeable, friendly, good sense of humor

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madcitysal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

We had 3 nights (and six game drives) here. The welcome we received was excellent (typical of South Africa). The camp itself is a former colonial home I believe and retains the colonial feel in the main building and is very well done.

Our ranger and tracker (Anton and Victor) were very good but by their own admission were driving a new area of the bush, shared with the adjacent Lion Sands reserve, and weren't fully familiar with it, having said that we saw lots of game and they were knowledgeable and good fun.

The accommodation was good, but by no means nearly as good as Kings Camp where we stayed before here. The rooms are fairly basic, the double bed is simply 2 singles pushed together and there is no mosquito net around it. despite the gap around the room door being big enough to admit a bumblebee never mind a mosquito. The rooms have small balconies offering a nice view of the bush and the river.

We had a private butler service (Grace) who was excellent and the food served was very good indeed. Our only gripe was the dining arrangement - dinner was served on the (sloping!) lawn in the pitch dark with only a storm lantern on the table - it was very difficult to see each other never mind the food. A flat decked area with some subdued lighting would be far preferable for al fresco dining.

The pool area is nice and there is a range of spa 'therapies' and massages available.

All in all a very good experience, the game drives were great (mostly) the staff were very good but the accommodation and dining experience could both be much better.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank julesandsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

The &beyond experience is truly incredible. Kirkman's Kamp was the third of three &beyond Lodges we stayed at in Africa. All we heavenly! Loved being greeted by Steph our female guide! And of course quiet but competent Victor! The whole Lodge was wonderful. Our game drives were spectacular. Victor absolutely tracked and found the Rhino for us! We came up empty with the Leopard but luckily Tsabo had found us such a beautiful one in Botswana (Sandibe Lodge) that we didn't care. We had a fabulous Christmas Day meal. Cocktails in the bar were festive! The food was great. And of course Sam took excellent care of us for all our meals. Steph took us on a walking tour which the kids loved! (Sophie 13 and Henry 11 were the perfect age to enjoy EVERYTHING!)
I would say this Lodge was perfect! (We also stayed at &beyond Sandibe, Botswana and Matetsi, Zimbabwe and they were also magnificent) Save your money an GO to Africa with &beyond!

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kalolam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

This was our first trip to SA and Sabi Sand, and from the moment we arrived at Kirkman's Kamp, we got a very warm welcome and we realized instantaneously that we had made the right choice. We stayed for 2 nights and did 4 game safaris. Right from the quality and comfort of the room (real spacious and well done with a neat bathroom and a tub to relax), to the plush lodge which was done up beautifully, the staff was very courteous. The food was great and they made specially dishes to suit our likings (my wife being pure Veg and I am selective on the meat I eat), and the team also there ensured we did not miss Christmas, as they had decorated the whole place accordingly, we got a Socks of goodies in the morning :), and also had a gala Christmas dinner as a surprise. That's not all; we also had a Christmas party after the evening safari which was right in the jungle, which was a lot of fun.
The gaming experience was very good. Our Ranger Paul was a cool dude and ensured he showed us the ' BIG 5' during the stay there. The fun was to track the lion, and Paul left no stone unturned to finally locate the 2 lions we were tracking. Kirkman has a tie up with Lion Sands for trans-versing on their land, along with theirs (which is pretty large itself). They are allowed to go off track with their jeeps and follow the trails or get you a superb view, if they spot the BIG 5. The experience was truly amazing and the quality of animal sightings was excellent. Although this time of the year the vegetation is thick, therefore i am told winters is even a better time as the grass is low and sightings will improve further.... To sum up, we had a great memorable stay at Kirkman, and would recommend this place to anyone looking for comfort and a great Game safari experience.

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avnish_1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

A great place to stay and enjoy South Africa's wildlife. As you would expect food and accommodation were of a very high standard but even these were eclipsed by the game drives and variety of wildlife. Mid September would appear to a very good time to visit. An all round amazing experience.

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews