We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Savanna Lodge and Game Drives-Excellence personified”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Savanna Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Felixstowe
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Savanna Lodge and Game Drives-Excellence personified”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was our first visit to South Africa and the three nights we stayed at Savanna Lodge were amazing. The staff were friendly but professional, the food was delicious, the "tents" were the ultimate in luxury and attention to every detail for our comfort. The game drives were superb with highly knowledgable rangers and trackers and the organisation to enable the guests to get the absolute most from their time there without feeling rushed hassled or exhausted was supremely clever. There are not enough superlatives to describe this Game Lodge.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannalodge, Marketing Manager at Savanna Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Henry1313

Thank you for the excellent review.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Savanna and hope that you will plan another trip to South Africa and visit us again soon.

Best wishes
The Savanna Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
84
242
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We first visited Savanna in 2010 and have been fortunate to return last month, for another fantastic safari experience. The luxurious tents are fabulous with lots of little added touches mini bar restocked daily, included generous sized bottles of wine, spirits, soft drinks, selection of sweets, crisps, peanuts etc. Our stay included valentines day, when we returned from our afternoon game drive our room was decorated with rose petals and a bottle of champagne was on ice.
We have stayed in a number of lodges in the sabi sand area and this is by far the best value for money.
The food is 5* as is the service we couldn't fault anything, well done to the Savanna team.

Room Tip: The executive tents have their own plunge pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaychicCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannalodge, Marketing manager at Savanna Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear holidaychicCumbria

Thank you for the excellent review and most importantly for your return visit to Savanna.
We are very pleased that you had a wonderful time and spent Valentine’s day with us and that you enjoyed the little romantic touch in the suite.

We hope to see you again (for your third visit!) but until then, keep well and travel safely.
Warm wishes
The Savanna Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My friends and I stayed at Savanna for four nights in Feb. 2013. It was the perfect spot for game viewing. This was my fourth trip to Africa, but a first for my friends and I wanted them to have a great experience. They did and I credit Savanna for doing everything to make it perfect. We saw the Big Five nearly every day, plus enjoyed wonderful meals. Our Ranger Patrick was knowledgeable and funny, plus our tracker Julius was very entertaining. We had sundowners nightly and were surprised with a breakfast in the bush experience, totally unplanned by us and greatly appreciated. You couldn't find a better place to experience the wildlife.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Captain_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannalodge, Marketing manager at Savanna Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Captain_Laura

Thank you for the wonderful review.
We are very pleased that you all enjoyed Savanna and hope that your friends have fallen in love with Africa and will also return again.
Thank you for posting your lovely photos to your review.

We hope to welcome you all back one day but until then, keep well and travel safely.
Warm wishes
The Savanna Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have been on a few other private game reserves outside of Krueger but Savana has got them all beat! We had one of the most pleasurable experiences ever had at a game reserve thanks to the wonderful and professional staff, comfortable and beautifully appointed living quarters, delicious and amazing choices of food, and most importantly excellent animal, plant and star viewing!! Savana is a small and intimate lodge. We got to know the wonderful staff and many of the other guests.
The food was amazingly delicious and plenty of it!! Compliments to all to the staff and chef!
The lodging was beautiful and comfortable with many fine details. The drawn bath at the end of the evening drive along with the glasses of port was just one of the many appreciated treats.
The vehicles used for the drives were very comfortable and not crowded giving us the opportunity to really get to know our driver, tracker and other guests. We had Greg for most of our drives along with James as our tracker. They were REALLY knowledgable and great at finding the animals! Greg went on holiday the last day we were there so had David as our guide....he gave a little different perspective on the drive which we really liked. (Both excellent!!) Thanks to Greg, David and James for a wonderful african experience!! You guys are amazing at what you do and know.
The staff were absolutely the most friendliest and accommodating people we met. They are all like one big family and they allowed us graciously into the family! Thanks to all and thanks to Kelly, Lorna, Reshnanick (I'm really sorry about the misspelling!!), Paddy, David and Dee and all those who helped make sure we were comfortable in everyway and stomachs always full!! Of course we won't forget our first "springbok" and "sledge hammer"!
The one big mistake we made was leaving to quickly. we only stayed 3 nights. We will be planning another trip back in a year or two and will most definitly stay longer.
We are now back home and have about 2000 photos to look back on our unforgetable experience.
Jim and I look forward to coming back in the very near future.
Thanks and much love to all of you!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Luxury lodges with the canvas roof. It did not have it's own pool but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drdave02118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannalodge, Marketing Manager at Savanna Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear drdave02118

Thank you for the fantastic and very detailed review. As you have said, Savanna really is a very special place and we are pleased you felt part of the family. Please post some of your wonderful photos onto this site once you have sorted through them.

We hope that you will stay for longer next time and look forward to welcoming you back.
Warm wishes
The Savanna Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

From the moment of arrival to the time of departure we were treated like royalty. Staff were professional. Food was phenomenal - my only criticism being the "braai" evening.
The standard of accommodation was outstanding - first and foremost it was very private and secondly, incredibly well appointed!
Our game viewing trips were exceptional - within a very short period of time we were able to see the big five at very close proximity. An incredibly exciting experience!
We have stayed at several of South Africa's game reserves ranging in standard from 3 star to 5 star. I am happy to say that our stay at Savannah was right up there with the VERY best. Thanks to an exceptionally professional, friendly and hospitable team.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pierre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannalodge, Marketing manager at Savanna Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Pierre M

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and high praise.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at Savanna.

We hope to see you return one day.
Warm wishes
The Savanna Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chislehurst
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

It was our second visit to Savanna and it was just as good as before . We have been lucky enought to stay in some wonderful places around the world but I believe this to be my favourite . To start with my wife Joan arrived wit a badly sprained ankle (at home it turned out to have a break) she was helped immediatly by the local paramedic and with Kelly's help her stay was made really comfortable . Where else would you have a private dinner at your lodge served by a charming butler arranged at a moments notice , candlelit with a fantastic thunder storm as a backdrop ! The game drives were as fantastic as ever with Paddy in fine form . The food and service as special as ever . The staff so friendly . If you want a little slice of heaven then go to Savanna .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannalodge, Marketing manager at Savanna Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear nick B

We thank you for the wonderful review and for returning to Savanna for a second time- we hope you will make it a third!
The Africa SafeT service we subscribe to is invaluable, we are pleased that the paramedic was able to help Joan and we wish her a speedy recovery.

Thank you again for the review and we do hope to see you again one day.
Warm wishes
The Savanna family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have stayed in this amazing lodge in February 2013 with our 2 kids for 3 nights and have all enjoyed the stay so much that should there be the opportunity to come to South Africa for safari again we would surely stay in Savanna lodge. The accommodation was great, our kids were in the private pool all the time in between the game drives. The food was excellent, the service remarkable, our ranger was amazing and we saw pretty much all animals that are out there from an overwhelming proximity.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petrpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannalodge, Marketing manager at Savanna Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Petrpi

Thank you for the wonderful review and we are pleased that you and your children enjoyed your safari at Savanna.
The private plunge pools are divine- especially in summer when you stayed with us, so it is great you booked an Executive Suite.

Thank you again for the review and we do hope to see you again one day.
Warm wishes
The Savanna family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
5.4 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
388 reviews
7.4 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
443 reviews
8.0 mi away
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
#6 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
396 reviews
6.1 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
405 reviews
9.1 mi away
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savanna Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savanna Private Game Reserve

Property: Savanna Private Game Reserve
Address: R536 Sabi Sand Game Reserve, Kruger National Park 1242, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Savanna Private Game Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savanna Private Game Reserve is a luxury five star Game Reserve in the Sabi Sands South Africa. The Sabi Sands is acknowledged as the best area in the world for leopard viewing. Our object at Savanna is to give our guests the best wildlife experience possible. See guest comments on Trip Advisor to see just how our guests are blown away by the Savanna Experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Savanna Private Game Reserve Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Savanna Private Game Reserve South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing