We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Savanna Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A very special place”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have been on a few other private game reserves outside of Krueger but Savana has got them all beat! We had one of the most pleasurable experiences ever had at a game reserve thanks to the wonderful and professional staff, comfortable and beautifully appointed living quarters, delicious and amazing choices of food, and most importantly excellent animal, plant and star viewing!! Savana is a small and intimate lodge. We got to know the wonderful staff and many of the other guests.
The food was amazingly delicious and plenty of it!! Compliments to all to the staff and chef!
The lodging was beautiful and comfortable with many fine details. The drawn bath at the end of the evening drive along with the glasses of port was just one of the many appreciated treats.
The vehicles used for the drives were very comfortable and not crowded giving us the opportunity to really get to know our driver, tracker and other guests. We had Greg for most of our drives along with James as our tracker. They were REALLY knowledgable and great at finding the animals! Greg went on holiday the last day we were there so had David as our guide....he gave a little different perspective on the drive which we really liked. (Both excellent!!) Thanks to Greg, David and James for a wonderful african experience!! You guys are amazing at what you do and know.
The staff were absolutely the most friendliest and accommodating people we met. They are all like one big family and they allowed us graciously into the family! Thanks to all and thanks to Kelly, Lorna, Reshnanick (I'm really sorry about the misspelling!!), Paddy, David and Dee and all those who helped make sure we were comfortable in everyway and stomachs always full!! Of course we won't forget our first "springbok" and "sledge hammer"!
The one big mistake we made was leaving to quickly. we only stayed 3 nights. We will be planning another trip back in a year or two and will most definitly stay longer.
We are now back home and have about 2000 photos to look back on our unforgetable experience.
Jim and I look forward to coming back in the very near future.
Thanks and much love to all of you!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Luxury lodges with the canvas roof. It did not have it's own pool but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drdave02118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannalodge, Marketing Manager at Savanna Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear drdave02118

Thank you for the fantastic and very detailed review. As you have said, Savanna really is a very special place and we are pleased you felt part of the family. Please post some of your wonderful photos onto this site once you have sorted through them.

We hope that you will stay for longer next time and look forward to welcoming you back.
Warm wishes
The Savanna Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
84
242
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

From the moment of arrival to the time of departure we were treated like royalty. Staff were professional. Food was phenomenal - my only criticism being the "braai" evening.
The standard of accommodation was outstanding - first and foremost it was very private and secondly, incredibly well appointed!
Our game viewing trips were exceptional - within a very short period of time we were able to see the big five at very close proximity. An incredibly exciting experience!
We have stayed at several of South Africa's game reserves ranging in standard from 3 star to 5 star. I am happy to say that our stay at Savannah was right up there with the VERY best. Thanks to an exceptionally professional, friendly and hospitable team.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pierre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannalodge, Marketing manager at Savanna Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Pierre M

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and high praise.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at Savanna.

We hope to see you return one day.
Warm wishes
The Savanna Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chislehurst
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

It was our second visit to Savanna and it was just as good as before . We have been lucky enought to stay in some wonderful places around the world but I believe this to be my favourite . To start with my wife Joan arrived wit a badly sprained ankle (at home it turned out to have a break) she was helped immediatly by the local paramedic and with Kelly's help her stay was made really comfortable . Where else would you have a private dinner at your lodge served by a charming butler arranged at a moments notice , candlelit with a fantastic thunder storm as a backdrop ! The game drives were as fantastic as ever with Paddy in fine form . The food and service as special as ever . The staff so friendly . If you want a little slice of heaven then go to Savanna .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannalodge, Marketing manager at Savanna Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear nick B

We thank you for the wonderful review and for returning to Savanna for a second time- we hope you will make it a third!
The Africa SafeT service we subscribe to is invaluable, we are pleased that the paramedic was able to help Joan and we wish her a speedy recovery.

Thank you again for the review and we do hope to see you again one day.
Warm wishes
The Savanna family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have stayed in this amazing lodge in February 2013 with our 2 kids for 3 nights and have all enjoyed the stay so much that should there be the opportunity to come to South Africa for safari again we would surely stay in Savanna lodge. The accommodation was great, our kids were in the private pool all the time in between the game drives. The food was excellent, the service remarkable, our ranger was amazing and we saw pretty much all animals that are out there from an overwhelming proximity.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petrpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannalodge, Marketing manager at Savanna Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Petrpi

Thank you for the wonderful review and we are pleased that you and your children enjoyed your safari at Savanna.
The private plunge pools are divine- especially in summer when you stayed with us, so it is great you booked an Executive Suite.

Thank you again for the review and we do hope to see you again one day.
Warm wishes
The Savanna family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointe aux Canonniers
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Many thanks to this Great team for our family stay (9 persons from 16 to 77 years old). We were well surprised by the professionnalism and kindness of the staff. We want to underline the qulity, the cleanliness of the campsite, the spacious bedrooms, various and tasty food, the friendly dining room service and the great experience of the safari guides. Internet is not too fast but enough to get in touch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellefroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannalodge, Marketing manager at Savanna Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear bellefroid

Thank you for the “Excellent” review and we are pleased your whole family enjoyed their stay at Savanna.

We introduced the WIFI to guests suites about a year ago, and due to a number of factors including location it is a challenge finding a service better than we have at the moment, but hopefully over time better services will become available.

We thank you again and hope to see you again.
Warm wishes
The Savanna family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have travelled the world and stayed in the best 5* hotels but this was the best. Everthing at Savanna was top class, the team, food etc. we loved it and we will go back.
Kudous to Blair and Julius our guides andDan and Patrick we hope that when we return we can see all of them again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannalodge, Marketing Manager at Savanna Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear john g

Thank you for the amazing review, we appreciate your high praises.
We would love to host you again soon and until then, enjoy your travels and keep well.

Best wishes
The Savanna Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were at Savanna for 3 nights after an amazing stay at Hwange National Park and Victoria Falls. After reading the excellent reviews about Savanna, we were looking forward to our stay. The place was amazing and the room was spacious, however, we were disappointed with our game ranger in comparison with other game rangers that we experienced on our trip. Unfortunately, the game ranger that was allocated to us was not passionate and did not take much initiative in explaining things to us. Perhaps our experience at Savanna would have been a better one with a different ranger as we actually had good animals sighting and the property was amazing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lipss041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannalodge, Marketing Manager at Savanna Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear lipss041

Thank you for your review.

We are disappointed to read that you were not completely satisfied with your experience at Savanna. We strive to deliver exceptional service particularly with respect to all aspects of game viewing and therefore appreciate all forms of feedback. While the ranger feedback from the other guests on your land rover was very good we have discussed your comments with the ranger concerned to ensure that he learns from them and can further improve on his game drive technique. It would also help us if you mention something like this while you are at the lodge so we can take corrective action immediately.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the lodge and did have good animal sightings.

Thank you again.
Best wishes
The Savanna Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
5.4 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
388 reviews
7.4 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
443 reviews
8.0 mi away
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
#6 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
396 reviews
6.1 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
405 reviews
9.1 mi away
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savanna Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savanna Private Game Reserve

Property: Savanna Private Game Reserve
Address: R536 Sabi Sand Game Reserve, Kruger National Park 1242, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Savanna Private Game Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savanna Private Game Reserve is a luxury five star Game Reserve in the Sabi Sands South Africa. The Sabi Sands is acknowledged as the best area in the world for leopard viewing. Our object at Savanna is to give our guests the best wildlife experience possible. See guest comments on Trip Advisor to see just how our guests are blown away by the Savanna Experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Savanna Private Game Reserve Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Savanna Private Game Reserve South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing