We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a truly unforgettable experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Savanna Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“a truly unforgettable experience”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I do not know why it has taken me so long to write this review. We went to South Africa in September of 2011. We stayed in Cape Town the first four days and the last four were spent at Savanna.

To say that the experience exceed any and all expectations is an understatement.

The site was intimate and the staff were amazing from the moment we stepped foot on the the reserve. First and foremost, my fiance has a diatery constraints that they easily met which took a huge worry off of our shoulders and we were able to relax and enjoy meals that were incredible. The fact that each meal was spent at a family setting allowed us to engage with all the guest and make incredible friends.

The actual excursions out into the reserve were incredible. Our first night out, the alpha male lion walked not more than five feet from me! We saw the lions even roar, in the middle of a several animal migrations, spotted rare wild dogs travelling in packs, saw another cat taking its kill away, and on and on and on. I could continue for hours.

I had a chance to run a five k with an ultra-marathon runner. How often can does one have a chance to run in the wilds of Africa unprotected and free!

Oh and did I mention the leopard hunting right outside of our lodge (which was incredible with the drawn hot water bath after each evening safari) our second night there! The actual rooms were also beyond belief. Clean, secure, and taking a shower outside was just plain fun.

Our guides were awesome and even had an iPad with some crazy app that had instant information for all of our questions.

I just cannot say enough about this place and how we are already planning our return trip. I only wish more Americans would take the time to experience this.

Simply and truly amazing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ETinSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
87
246
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grafton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

All of the staff, trackers, rangers, butlers, chefs, receptionists, management were exceptional. They made us feel like we were at our own private safari lodge, and they were there to make us feel very welcome and included in their daily activities. The guides and some of the staff ate all of their meals with us further confirming that we were part of a big family. The accomodation and food were exceptional. The new Chef Merlin created some of the most memorable meals during our 3 + week holiday throughout southern Africa. I can only highly recommend this venue to my family and friends

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 7didi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

The safari was amazing and our ranger, Greg was brilliant and really made our stay here so great. The room was nice, but not as nice as it could have been for that money!
We were at Savanna for 3 nights which was plenty (i think 2 or 3 nights is enough).
It is very expensive, but safari was truly a once in a lifetime experience and i would recommend this lodge to my friends simply because of the nice staff and location.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gemmaLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

My husband and I went there on our honeymoon and had the most amazing time! Our "tent" was gorgeous and spacious, the food was amazing, the staff were SO accommodating, and (most important) the drives were each unique and exciting in their own way. Neil was our knowledgeable, witty, charming ranger, and Julius was the intrepid tracker, and they made the experience fun, educational, and simultaneously exhilarating and relaxing. It was a perfect combination of relaxation, romance, and adventure. The food was fantastic--romantic dinner for 2 on our own terrace with a private waiter the first night, group dinner with entertainment the 2nd night, and dinner in the boma the final night (a truly unique and African experience--don't miss it!) We also got massages on the deck for extra indulgence. It was so wonderful that everything (other than the massages) was included, added to the relaxation. And going back to Neil--he was SO great, he even had photography tips and help for my hubby, who got a new fancy camera for the trip. We really felt like part of the Savanna by the time we left. And as for the drives--we saw 4 out of the Big 5 on our very first drive! We saw all 5 by the 4th drive, and also saw some really great creatures like wild dogs and pangolin! (I didn't know what that last one was either, but now I do!) :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCtheaterjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood England
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I cannot explain in ordinary words the meaning of "Perfection" but this is it.
Just go there !!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beefy1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2011

My wife and I spent two nights here and now that we are back stateside, we still can't get over how amazing this lodge is. The staff were terrific and helpful - and our ranger (Greg) and tracker (Nordik) were excellent - knowledgeable and friendly - not to mention practically psychic in their ability to track and spot game. We ticked off big five in 3 game rides - and saw much more, including some thrilling landrover chases tracking some rare wild dogs.

The food was great - nice wine cellar selection - and the setting magnificent. Really enjoyed the local choir and breakfast in the bush. We would stay at least a day longer, maybe two next time simply to have more time to soak up the setting a bit more. So I guess we'll have to go back...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointe-a-Pitre, Guadeloupe
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed 4 nights and had a wonderful time. The lodge is luxurious, the staff welcoming and can't do enough for you and the food was well presented, delicious and plentiful - everything homemade from the biscuits with your morning cuppa to the potato crisps served before dinner. Loved the service including having a hot bubble bath ready for you at the end of an afternoon/evening game drive. Neil was a brilliant ranger, not only extremely knowledgeable and passionate about the wildlife but also with a wicked sense of humour. Have been home over a week and when i go to sleep at night I'm still dreaming of the beautiful animals we saw on the game drives. Thank you Savanna.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillrobinson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
7.4 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
445 reviews
6.1 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
413 reviews
15.0 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
318 reviews
9.3 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savanna Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savanna Private Game Reserve

Property: Savanna Private Game Reserve
Address: R536 Sabi Sand Game Reserve, Kruger National Park 1242, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Savanna Private Game Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savanna Private Game Reserve is a luxury five star Game Reserve in the Sabi Sands South Africa. The Sabi Sands is acknowledged as the best area in the world for leopard viewing. Our object at Savanna is to give our guests the best wildlife experience possible. See guest comments on Trip Advisor to see just how our guests are blown away by the Savanna Experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Savanna Private Game Reserve Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Savanna Private Game Reserve South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing