We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Game Views and Fun Place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Idube Game Reserve Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

we spent 2 days at Idube. It is very nice place with a cozy feel. Staff are friendly. We were stunned by the game viewing..had not idea we would see wild animals so up close and personal (was awesome). We got to see all the Big Five (Buffalo, Rhino, Elephant, Lion and Leopard) and more. We also got to see the rare to see wild dogs...our ranger (Francios) was fantastic and we really enjoyed his enthusiasm, knowledge and friendliness. Out tracker (lonnet) was also very good at spotting animals and we enjoyed out time with the two of them. Food is OK at Idube, though the ambience of eating dinner around a bonfire and as a group was nice

Room Tip: If you want a room that is 5 star (the lodge is 4 star) get the makubella suites, they are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 355 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

An impeccable room with a view, food from heaven, 6 star service, great rangers and tracker, what else do you need? Lot's of animals, lot's of birds in the comfort of the lodge. The safaris were also very enjoyable. Don't forget to go to the hide too. A luxury bush experience I will do again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank parentpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Idube. The safari drives are great with Ranger Rob driving through the bush to locate animals and give us an upclose encounter with a variety of wildlife. The accommodations were great too with animals on the grounds (including having a young leopard sleeping on our porch one night while his mother hunted) with nyala, monkeys and warthogs almost always on the lawn. We highly recommend Idube and would love to return some day. We have stayed in numerous safari camps and have never had this great an experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at Idube for 3 nights during our honeymoon. We couldn't have asked for a better safari experience. Our game drives with our ranger Rob and tracker Titus were outstanding - we saw the big 5 during our first morning out, plus many other sitings during our time there. We were able to get very close to the animals, which made for a great experience and wonderful pictures. The rangers and staff were very knowledgeable and experienced. The lodgings were lovely, the service was wonderful and the food was delicious. We would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eeirg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Four of us stayed here April 2012. We had the most fantastic experience! - the ranger and tracker, Rob and Ron, provided the highlight of our trip to South Africa - we were able to see so many animals, extremely close. Their knowledge was extensive and they answered ALL our questions. The rooms were beautifully prepared, and the personal attention of all the staff at Idube was outstanding. Breakfast was exotic with lots of fruit, and dinners were by an open fire. Elephants came close to us at the water hole, we saw two leopards mating, four young lions just after bringing down a buffalo, all the usual big game, and a very wide variety of many smaller animals and birds, including the little monkeys who were always around the pool. We all would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aberystwyth4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Idube lodge has a great atmosphere, lovely lodges and more animals on the reserve than expected. Rob and Ron, our ranger and tracker knew a lot about the habitat and animals and made excellent efforts to track and watch so many different viewings. I would highly recommend this lodge and reserve.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Viajarycaminando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewGaylord, General Manager at Idube Game Reserve Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Hi Nancy.

It was a pleasure having you, your husband and mom in law in camp. Thank you for the wonderful review and hope to have you back at Idube soon.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We spent two nights at Idube in early April. We could not believe how clsoe they got us to the aminals. We watched Leopards hunt, got within a few metres of a pack of lions as the ate dinner - moms & cubs together, we saw numrous elephants so close you could smell their breath. We had always heard that a private game experience could get you close - but this was surreal. We stayed in the new Suites with the private plunge pools - it felt like a private cottage in the African wild - we highly recommend upgrading to these suites!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewGaylord, General Manager at Idube Game Reserve Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Hi Andrew

We are glad you had a wonderful stay at Idube and got the experience of an African Safari you have always been looking for. The Makubela suites are awesome and we hope to have you back at Idube soon.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
2.3 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
431 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
#17 of 175 in Kruger National Park
428 reviews
6.0 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#10 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
508 reviews
13.2 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
411 reviews
6.3 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#16 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idube Game Reserve Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idube Game Reserve Lodge

Address: Portion 1 | Wallingford Farm, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range: $380 - $870 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Idube Game Reserve Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idube Game Reserve is a safari lodge situated in the Sabi Sand Reserve, in the heart of South Africa’s premier wildlife conservation area of the Greater Kruger Park. Game, including the Big 5, is viewed really close by from open Land Rovers, or spotted on guided walks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Idube Private Game Reserve Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Idube Game Reserve Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing