We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Idube Game Reserve Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Idube Game Reserve Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2008

We spent 3 nights at Idube. It was an amazing experience in the middle of our honeymoon. Service is extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms are simple, but cosy and clean. Food was excellent.
The game drivers were amazing; we saw the big five and more (cheetahs, eagles, among others). Among the best things we saw the lions hunting and the leopards carrying their prey to the top of the trees. Our ranger was very nice explaining everything and the morning walks (you have a walk after breakfast between the two drivers) were very interesting.
It is an amazing value for money, and you don’t need more luxury in the middle of a safari...even if you were doing a luxury honeymoon as we were doing (stayed in super luxurious hotels in Cape Town and in Mauritius).

  • Liked — Game drives
  • Disliked — The outdoor shower is nice, but sometimes really cold during the night
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank XXXXXXLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    30
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
56
187
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2008

Spent three fantastic nights at Idube. The lodge is brilliant value and one of the cheaper options around. We chose it mainly because of the hide having been at Savannah (another lodge definitely worth visiting).
Game viewing is excellent and we saw all of the big 5, to such an extent that we even set our guide a couple of additional challenges (to see a hippo out of the water, and to see an anteater/pangolin - both of which we amazingly did (see photos)!)
The lodge couldn't do enough to help us even providing numerous blankets and hot water bottles for the morning drives - believe me it is COLD at 6 in the morning, in the back of an open jeep in June!
There were regular sightings of impala and other deer in the lodge and we even came face to face with an angry elephant during a walking tour.
Positives: the game viewing, the hide overlooking a waterhole across a swing bridge, the food, the tour guides
Negatives: None really, even the cold can be forgotten when you see the game.

  • Liked — Location, the hide, staff, food, rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rob1london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, West Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2007

After spending 3 nights in Cape Town (not enough time) we entered Idube Lodge with excitement and some nerves about our first safari! From the moment my wife and I arrived we were looked after so well and cannot fault Idube Lodge at all.

The game drives, food, service, accomodation, and staff were superb and we look forward to going back in late 2008.

Our ranger (Rob) was excellent and was always happy to answer any questions and explain all about the animals we saw - Lion, Leopard, Rhino, Elephant etc etc...we saw them all and our photographs are amazing!

My wife and I would recommend this lodge to anyone. It's has a nice relaxed atmosphere but retains its professional qualities.

Visit Idube - you won't regret it.

  • Liked — Game drives, service , food
  • Disliked — Check out was a bit slow but we were leaving at 6.30am
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yorkshire34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2007

Stayed at Idube Private Game Reserve for 3 nights at the end of a two week holiday to SA. I'd like to advise that it was the worst place I have stayed at and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone....but that would be really selfish and totally untrue.

From the moment we arrived until we sadly said goodbye to all the staff as we left, my wife and I had the most fantastic time, were treated like royalty and we can't speak highly enough of the people at the reserve, who turned what was a brilliant three days anyway, into the most incredible experience.

Our ranger and guide were brilliant, and in no time at all we'd experienced the big five. We went on to have many further sightings, up close and personal with all of them as well as a multitude of other game.

We stayed just as the first rains arrived, but this made no difference to the game sightings, except that we got rather wet, and the people at Idube had our clothes and shoes dry in no time.

The food was extraordinarily good (Michelin Star quality). The reserve manager and all his team were outgoing, extremely friendly and made us feel part of their family. Without a doubt we'll return to Idube.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2007

Overall, the experience at Idube was amazing.

The game drives, which are the main reason to go of course, were superb and we saw all of the Big 5 and a lot more. You share a portion of Sabi Sands with a few other lodges (e.g. Vuyatela and Inyati but not Singita) and the rangers are in constant communication regarding the sightings. There were a maximum of 2 or 3 (rarely) Land Rovers at sightings and often we were alone. We didn't do the bush walks, but heard mixed reviews depending on what people happened to see that day and what their interests were (game versus plant life).

The food was incredible. Every meal was delicious despite my initial scare the first day when I saw quite a few flies (I am a city person, I am sure to others this would have been no big deal). I was surprised, though, that they tracked every drink (water, coke) that we had and charged us at the end (though it really was not a lot). Also, there is not much in the way of wine pairings, etc, as there is at the hyper-expensive lodges in the area. In fairness, we did not really ask.

The rooms themselves are beautiful and the deck, though small, is so relaxing and nice, with MANY animals within a foot or two (waterbuck, wart hogs, etc). However, be prepared that there is no indoor shower (and it was too cold to use the outdoor one while we were there so we used the indoor tub which was not very comfortable), no phone, no television, no way to call the front desk, etc. Again, I am a city person, so this came as a shock to me, though others may not mind.

Finally, the welcome and information received from the staff was mediocre. While everyone was VERY nice and we cannot complain in that area, a bit more information would have been great. We signed some papers when we arrived, were shown the emergency kit in the drawer of the room, and that was pretty much it. It would have been nice to know that we had been assigned a ranger who would be our host for the whole trip and a few other things we figured out for ourselves.

Overall, as I said, I would highly recommend Idube. You just have to be prepared and know what the lodge offers for the price compared to the much more expensive lodges and the much more basic lodges in the area.

  • Liked — Game Drives
  • Disliked — No Indoor Shower
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank smm130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
462 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 705 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2007

Our trip organiser Jensen Safaris has booked this for us, also organising our rental car and the night in between when Idube was booked out :( . After leaving the smog of J'burg we drove out past the open coal mines and banana plantations into the private game reserve land (allow 5-6 hours). Here is what one can say about the splendid safari home of Idube without giving away all the pleasures you should discover for yourself when staying there:

- you get the warmest welcome with cocktails on arrival, intros to staff, and all the info you need for your stay (although the signing of disclaimer even for their negligence was a bit rich);

- you get time off between the safari drives (which are an absolute highlight, we had Johann as our driver and Elliot as our 'spotter' and they were terrific, knowledgeable about the animals and had a fab
sense of humour;

- in 4 drives (two morning and two evening) we saw all the animals we
wanted to see, including the big 5, but it's the smaller animals and birds that make it a highlight also;

- the food is terrific, be it brekky, lunch or dinner, restaurant quality and service superb;

- you meet people from around the world, truly adventerous and inspiring spirits whose stories will blow you away;

- it's right next door to the Blade River Canyon and the views to die
for, so make sure you detour and check it out, including the Lisbon Falls, Gods Window and the portholes. I would bypass Hayzyview with its overpriced souvenirs and head to Naiskop with its cute galleries and splendid array of african art, cottons, ceramics and souvenirs.

Having bilton and a gin and tonic break in the middle of a savannah on the evening drive watching absolutely infinite number of stars shining brightly and two Jupiter moons that chose to show themselves that night, hearing the elephants call to each other and leopards roar, how perfect can life be?!

Tip: bring lots of warm clothes, your thermals are essential even if Idube provides cuddly blankets and warm watter bottles in your 4x4. Don't ruin your experience by shivering :)

  • Liked — Safari drives, the service and proximity to other splendid sights of South Africa
  • Disliked — too short of a stay, need at least 3 days to take full advantage of what it has to offer
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank l-globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
126 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2007

What a brilliant place! I will keep the review short and sweet as I could talk for ever! Stayed here for 3 nights - arrived to a fantastic welcome and were given the luxury of an hour to recover from the trip before starting our first game drive! As we were a party of 6 we were lucky enough to get our own ranger and tracker - Andy and Titus - who were absolutely brilliant. They were friendly, knowledgeable and fun! Saw all the big 5 by lunchtime on the first day - never thought we would get so close to such magnificent creatures! Scary and awesome!

The lodge itself was comfortable and relaxed. The service second to none - exceptionally attentive. The food was great and the staff excellent. The rooms were luxurious and it was fun using the outdoor showers - never quite knowing if an Inyala would appear round the corner! And even the 5.30 am starts were OK - you want to be up and out to see as much as you can!

All in all a great experience - would thoroughly recommend this to anyone wanting to do a safari.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank ADWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
0.0 mi away
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
#13 of 170 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
2.3 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge
Inyati Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
6.3 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#15 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Notten's Bush Camp
Notten's Bush Camp
#5 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
7.0 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#7 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
13.2 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idube Game Reserve Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idube Game Reserve Lodge

Property: Idube Game Reserve Lodge
Address: Portion 1 | Wallingford Farm, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Idube Game Reserve Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idube Game Reserve is a safari lodge situated in the Sabi Sand Reserve, in the heart of South Africa’s premier wildlife conservation area of the Greater Kruger Park. Game, including the Big 5, is viewed really close by from open Land Rovers, or spotted on guided walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Idube Game Reserve Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idube Private Game Reserve Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Idube Game Reserve Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing