We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already planning a return trip!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arathusa Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Already planning a return trip!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This was our first trip to a game reserve and fullfilled a bucket list dream...can't wait to return with our family. Our guide Roy and tracker Chris were outstanding and took as much delight in seeing a pack of wild dogs as we did. Our chef took great pride in serving outstanding meals and the Spa was a great way to unwind after a day in the bush! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmpickard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    104
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
116
512
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We have done game parks in the past and have lived the "rough" outdoor life. When staying here, you can forget about the rough part. We stayed in 5 star accommodations (we all had our own "house") The rooms are ridiculous! One night we heard a noise and when looking out the window there was a hyena staring back at us. Hippos sing to you at night here! The food is outstanding. The chef at Arathusa is a star. Our game rangers, "Double D" went out of their way to make sure we could see the big 5. I will tell you the drive to get to this park is a nightmare, lots of potholes and a banged up dirt road. However, once you are greeted by the staff and this beautiful place you will forget all about it. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Stay on the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaytread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Our stay at Arathusa Safari Lodge was wonderful. The accommodations were comfortable and quiet. The food was very good. The breakfast buffet had lots of choices, the lunches and dinners were full meals, well prepared and tasty. The rangers and trackers were fun to be with and made our visit most enjoyable. We had multiple encounters with the “Big 5” and many, many other animals. We had a cottage overlooking the pond and were able to sit on our front porch and watch the animals. A wonderful trip.

Room Tip: The cottages overlooking the watering hole make for a great time sitting on the front porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingM-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was a first trip to Sabi Sand Reserve. We had a cottage overlooking the watering hole which was fantastic! There were always animals to view. The hippos tend to make some noise at night which adds to the bush experience! Rooms are very spacious, comfortable beds, ammenities and loved the outdoor shower. Large male elephant came charging across the watering hole area upon arrival. We saw the Big Five on our first game drive thanks to our great "double D team", Dries and Derrick. Seriously awesome guide and tracker and so much fun! They can find the leopards!!! All of our drives with them were fantastic and beyond expectations. They have an enthusiasm that is contagious. The food is excellent. Enjoyed the bush dinner and the bush breakfast. We had meals at different locations which was really fun. the staff had a birthday cake for a guest and everyone shared in singing and enjoying the cake. The staff are so warm, friendly and helpful. Winnie and Penny are great and I love the spa and my massage from Winnie. She is a gem! thanks to Vernon and the entire staff for a memorable bush experience!

Room Tip: I like the standard rooms that overlook the watering hole and are an easy walk to the main lodge and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cjoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I celebrated our honeymoon in S Africa and started our trip by doing safari in Sabi Sand Reserve first for 2 nights. We stayed in the luxury room Jackalberry which is the closest luxury room to the main area (right next to the Spa). Heads up-the rest of the other luxury rooms are farther from the main area. It was fantastic- room faced the watering hole with its own pool outside the room. The room itself was large and quite nice -very comfortable bed! The food from breakfast, lunch and dinner was all VERY good. Booked a couple's massage at their Spa and it was so relaxing. The service and staff were top notch. The day we arrived in time for the late afternoon game drive then went on 3 more drives and got to see the Big 5 + many more. Our guide was Rein and tracker Professor. They were awesome. Rein is very knowledgeable and makes you feel very comfortable off the bat. We had some amazing experiences in the short time we were there thanks to Rein and Prof. Please say hi to Rein from Team America!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LB_0928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Lodge and rooms lovely and grand. Everything worked. Clean and comfortable. First dinner at the water hole. Rooms overlook the waterhole. First day saw male elephant charge the length of waterhole...on other side...thankfully. First game drive with Dee and Derrick we knew we were in good hands and for some thrilling drives. Leopards on all six drives. Dee and Derrick found mating leopards by their audio. They walked off in the bush, then Derrick continued to track to direct Derrick to exact location. Dee was willing to sit and listen to the bush. Dee is professional photographer so would set us up for perfect shots of animals. Saw the big five and so much more. First night hippos serenaded us as we stayed in standard rooms by the waterhole. Food was delicious and efficiently served. Had breakfast in bush, dinner in the bush ...wonderfully delightful experiences. Would often see multiple animals grazing together....zebras and wildebeests, impalas and giraffes....true bush experience. If I had any expectations they would have far exceeded them. Spa massage by Nicki was exceptional. She worked out my kinks and knotted muscles and relaxed me for a great night's sleep...not that I had any problems sleeping. Thank you!

Room Tip: Rooms with water hole view are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lifetimlernr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights ... Saw the big 5
Three separate leapord sightings , post kill and a baby baby leapord! Guides and trackers extremely knowledgeable and friendly Food , very good. Lunch quite late at 2 pm .
Accommodation : first night, rondevel 4 right beside bar area. Could be noisy but our main concern was staff talking as they passed by the walkway. We loved being by the watering hole. In the afternoons you have time just to sit and observe the animals coming and going to the watering hole. Nights 2-4 we had to move to luxury rooms, which are incredibly spacious and private in the bush but quite remote , over 5 minute walk away. Once you were escorted to your room you could not leave at night. Often it was by 830 pm . There is no Wiif out there . We did see Kudus and heard the hippos and leapords at night but wished we could stayed in the standard rooms .
Take toilet paper and hand wipes on the drives. We had some lovely surprise meals out in the bush. But alas no facilities and no warning of this!
Wear earth tone clothes , very annoying to see fellow guests wearing neon jackets and tops when we were meters from the wildlife , at tracking attention.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 56shazza56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
16.9 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#4 of 13 in Kruger National Park
372 reviews
5.6 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
384 reviews
8.1 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
329 reviews
2.0 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
820 reviews
9.6 mi away
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arathusa Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arathusa Safari Lodge

Property: Arathusa Safari Lodge
Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Arathusa Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Arathusa Safari Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Arathusa Safari
Arathusa Safari Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing