We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An incredible experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Simbambili Game Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Simbambili Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
198 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“An incredible experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

We want to come back. This was the best part of our entire trip. Our tracker (Mumps) and Richard (ranger) were exceptional. On one day they managed to have us view all of the Big 5 as well as painted dogs. On another day we saw a cheetah. We saw both the black and white rhino as well as many elephants, hippos, zebras, wildebeest, impalas, birds and so on. Katherine in reception was always there to greet us after safari with a warm cloth to wipe off the dust. Meals were good, and the last one in the bona was great. We enjoyed trying the African dishes and found them to be very tasty. They surprised my spouse with a birthday cake and our cabin was decorated for the occasion. The wild ride to watch the leopard was something I will never forget. All in all an experience that one must do during their lifetime or you will miss so much.
If you want to have an experience ride in the back seat of the jeep. At times it can be an uplifting experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CndnGuider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    27
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
53
214
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We flew from Johannesburg to a nearby landing strip where we were picked up by the lodge, so an easy commute.
The lodge is small - 8 suites, so an ideal size. Each suite is private from the others and has its own plunge pool on a large wooden deck. The rooms were spacious and well equipped.
Best of all was the service and professionalism shown by the staff. Reinas looked after the bar and catering and quickly learned our preferences, while our ranger Pierre and tracker Service, displayed excellent knowledge of the game and surrounds.
Meals were mixed between a boma, dry river bed and dining area opening out over the dry river bed. There was also a good mix of options for each meal. The food overall was superb.
Great all round.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chashk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is a magic place. The trip was wonderful, the staff was perfect, especially our ranger. We saw all the big five and much more. The room was very nice, beautiful and confortable. At the last night they made us a surprise: a romantic dinner in the room, with flowers, candles and a champagne. The only thing that was not good was the food, it was OK, but I was expecting more. I do not recomend the walk safari. I did it, and I saw a black manba, the most dangerous snack in whole africa, it was just 1 meter beside me. Another thing: I took a 3 hours ride to get to the lodge and the road was not that good, but it worth.
I recomend! It was one of my best trips.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eduardate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We loved Simbambili - the staff is wonderful, the food is amazing and the experience was one of the best we have ever had. We highly recommend this place! A special thanks to our ranger Pierre and tracker Service - they gave us a great experience!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy_Jamie296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

we are a family of six (all adults now) and had never been on safari. Our time at Simbambili was magical, from the moment we arrived and were greeted with vanilla-scented towels to wash off the weariness from our travels. It was luxurious from beginning to end - the rooms, the food, the staff - everything was exceptional. Our guide, Pierre, and tracker, Service, are the best - they made sure we saw all the animals that live in the area, even the elusive cheetah. It was just incredible. A trip of a lifetime.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank annecw_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is one of the best game lodges I have stayed in - what a wonderful way to spend Christmas! The accommodation is superb, with each spacious air-conditioned room having it's own verandah with plunge pool and "sala". The food was excellent and there was plenty of it. The game viewing was quite the best we, as a family, had experienced - wild dogs with their pups within a few feet of the vehicle, a pack of hyenas, with small ones also next to our vehicle - one being curious enough to come up to the tyres and try to figure out how to eat them! We had elephants at the water hole in front of the lodge verandah and some very close and just opposite our room. The younger members of the family saw a black rhino on a walk in the bush with the Ranger, who was absolutely superb and so knowledgeable. Needless to say, we also saw all the other Big 5, and lots more. The staff were all wonderful and couldn't do enough for us. A fantastic holiday, and the only downside was the drive to and from the lodge. We were a family of 9 and were taken from Dullstroom to Simbambili by bus and the last almost 2 hours was on a very uncomfortable unmade road. We would love to go again, but I think it would be best to fly by small aircraft rather than have such a long drive. Well done everyone at Simbambili for being such wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: I would think all the rooms are of the same very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dodynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

This lodge is fantastic, the rooms are incredibly luxurious, food wonderful and all the staff and rangers were superb. I would stay here again and again. Best part of our stay was being hijacked by elephants in our camp. They had us trapped in the gym for half an hour! This is a very special place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natasha a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
5.1 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#2 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
15.4 mi away
andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp
andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp
#10 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
6.4 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge
Inyati Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
7.1 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
6.7 mi away
MalaMala Main Camp
MalaMala Main Camp
#1 of 3 in Mala Mala Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simbambili Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simbambili Game Lodge

Property: Simbambili Game Lodge
Address: Sabi Sand Game Reserve, Kruger National Park 1363, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Simbambili Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simbambili Game Lodge is a highly individualised destination for the discerning traveller located in the Sabi Sand Game Reserve, which is part of the Greater Kruger National Park. Set in magnificent trees along the meandering Manyeleti River, with views over an extensive savannah grassland, that teems with wildlife visiting an ever popular water hole. Sophisticated yet simple, each suite has spectacular views whether from the unique en-suite bathrooms, outside salas or individual private plunge pools. Guests are encouraged to enjoy the extraordinary and unique wildlife of Africa, whether it is your choice to linger at a close encounter with lion, leopard, elephant, rhino and buffalo or to be amazed by the extensive array of birds and insects, or simply relax in the Sanctuary Spa. Your ranger and tracker team will astound you with their ability to track big five game, either on foot or from an open safari vehicle. The amazing safari experience is complimented by elegant cuisine, a selection of fine wines andthe warmth of true African hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, South African Hotels, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Simbambili Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simbambili Game Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Simbambili Game
Simbambili Game Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing