We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Simbambili Game Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Arathusa Safari Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge(Kruger National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Skukuza Rest Camp(Kruger National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Machai Lodge(Hazyview)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (365)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveler rating
326
29
5
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
326
29
5
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsday bedplunge poolour honeymoonsabi sandswatering holewater holehuge malethree nightssafari experienceamazing experiencewild dogsafrican bushevery mealtracking skillshuge bedevening driveprivate deck
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 365 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was our best holiday ever and a great part of this was due to our stay at the Simbambili. It is an amazing place, the rooms are gorgeous and the outside space exceptional. The staff were so lovely and couldn't do enough for you. The game drives were out of this world. We saw all of the "Big Five". Our Ranger Richard and tracker Celebrate were tremendous and were very knowledgeable. Richard gave us a lesson on the stars one night during our game drive which was so good. The food was gorgeous. There was nothing negative about the place at all. Yes it was a long drive from the airport to the lodge, but this was forgotten as soon as you arrived. Everyone waved us off when it was time to go which was a lovely gesture and made you feel special. I would definitely go there again

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

With the thought of not knowing what to expect, from the start to the end of our 3 nights it was something we will never forget. The staff on arrival where great. The food and lodge was of a high standard and the service by all staff was exceptional. We had Richard and Celebrate as our guide and tracker. They were great informative people which made our trip something we will never forget especially the interaction with the big 5 plus many more animals. Overall a most memorable trip within a great enviroment.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

A wonderful lodge -- very comfortable lodging in individual bungalow units with plunge pools, very good food, and outstanding equipment/guides/trackers with access to an area in Sabi Sands with amazing opportunities for leopard viewing. Saw lots of other game, but the opportunity to see leopards, which you normally see on a distant mound or branch, close up in numerous sitings, was extraordinary. Great service, amazing ambiance in very comfortable surroundings. The only downside is that it is a long drive to Nelspruit Airport (close to three hours when we were there) and even Hoedspruit was almost two hours away so you probably want to spend at least three nights here (not too painful!).

Room Tip: Pierre, our guide, was outstanding not only working closely with tracker and obviously having great instincts but also willing to go early/stay late to exploit an opportunity!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpmsenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have been fortunate to experience many game lodges throughout South Africa, but this one was superb! We travelled with a group of friends both from SA and England and the general view of all, was that we were bowled over!!The rooms are tastefully decorated to make one feel that you are in the bush,but with every comfort you can want, the private plunge pools are a blessing after a hot bush walk! The food was both varied and tasty and the chef catered for a variety of dietary requirements. The lunch time cakes were delicious and a must even if you have limited stomach space, indulge its worth it. The game viewing was some of the best we have seen, the big 5 and then some, the cat sightings in particular we're excellent. Our ranger Liam and guide Mumps were in a class of there own, very knowledgable and passionate about their work. The management at the lodge are warm, friendly and helpful. All in all it was a wonderful experience that one can't wait to have all over again. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMSKJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

I have always said I will write a review but few places compel you to the way this amazing lodge does! We had the most incredible honeymoon and it was all thanks to the amazing team and beautiful location. We have stayed and eaten in some of the best places in the world-nothing compares. The food is beautiful, the room and surroundings are incredible and we saw all if the big 5 and more on more than one occasion. Having a sundowner in the middle of the Kruger will forever be a wonderful memory for me and my husband, along with the bomber (apologies if wrong spelling)-an amazing night where you get to meet all the other guests and enjoy a good drink and even better food! Thank you to all of you-holiday of a life time! Already looking to return this year!xxx

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kstrathie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews