We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return to this gem of a place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Simbambili Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return to this gem of a place”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

WOW. Where do I begin... We loved Simbambili and the staff!! It was definetly an excellent start to our 10 year anniversary vacay. We had a great tracker (Mumps) and ranger (Pierre) that took us on very successful fun game drives. Our fantastic butler, Reinus, attended to every detail of our meals/cottage. They arranged a very special dinner for us on our anniversary, it was so lovely and romantic. This lodge was our favorite during our 15 day Africa trip, has a beautiful, rustic, tranquil setting. We stayed in a lovely cottage with a great view of the watering hole. Wonderful staff, fun activities (game drives, spa), delicious meals. We truly miss Simbambili so much!!!

Room Tip: Room 1 - close to the dining area. view of watering hole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJBleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    27
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
59
219
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

This was our first stop in our honeymoon in South Africa and we wished we had stayed here the whole time! It was just such a unique and indescribable (unless you've been there of course) experience. We loved it so much that we often talk about when we would come back again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abz_Has
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago,IL
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Everything about our stay was perfect. The game drives were beyond anything we expected. We enjoyed our close experiences with many animals and the information that our guide shared. Our ranging team was extremely knowledgable about a wide variety of animals, birds and plants. The lodge staff did everything they could and provided personal attention. The food was fantastic and the accommodations excellent. Thank you to all for a great vacation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicago_ILComcast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We loved Simbambili. The location, the terrain, the rooms, the staff and the general “feeling” of the lodge was perfect. The rooms were very comfortable. The bed and pillows were perfect. The plunge pool, although cold, and back resting area was very fun. It was private and pleasant. From our deck, we watched a hippo walk by along with water buck, wart hogs, impala, monkeys (sneaky little guys) and countless birds to fill the mid-day break. We even had an evening visit from an elephant. Hyenas and leopards could be heard at night. We often saw game within minutes of leaving the lodge.
The food was very tasty, plentiful and always presented well.
Management (Allison) was great, ever present, and wanting to help with the most minor details. Richard and Service our guide and tracker were over the top wonderful. Richards/Service’s willingness to make the daily drive the very best was always their goal. Richards knowledge was unequaled when compared to the other guides we had during our entire Africa experience.
Having said all that, there are a couple of areas that could be done at to keep Simbambili great. 1. This is a high end place, the little maintenance things should be done to keep this lodge looking good. The workout area suffers from attention. With all the good food we wanted to workout a bit, but the equipment was not maintained or barley adequate. The lodge is not all inclusive. Drinks, alcoholic /nonalcoholic are extra. Thias was the only place we stayed that was not all inclusive

We would recommend this lodge without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This game lodge has thought of everything when it comes to customer service. We were really spoiled during our stay here. From the food to the rooms to the service - all did not fail to deliver. It was a really nice touch having a meal one of the evenings outside by a fire. And for my first safari experience, I got to see all of the big 5 and a pack of wild dogs to boot. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Castlelulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This lodge is gorgeous and has delicious food. Service was terrific but the best part was the game rides in the open air jeep. We saw the big five several times in our 3 day stay. I'm recommending this place to all my friends. It is a long ride from the airport (almost 2 hours) but it's worth it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRESHWATER,ISLE OF WIGHT
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I was a bit worried about my 17 and 13 year old on their first Safari experience. But we were not let down by the wonderful location and staff at Simbambili. Everything was first class , from the butler Arnold to Liam (who unfortunately is an Arsenal fan) our Game Driver and Mumphs our tracker. We were welcomed after every drive with hot towells . The main lodge is well designed overlooking a watering hole. We had 4 nights and the food was exceptional. I say that as a father whose kids can be fussy, but did not hear a single complaint from them. We came at the start of April, where the days were lovely and hot, but the evenings were a lot cooler. So make sure on early game drives and late game drives you have some warm clothing. Albeit the Lodge did provide blankets on the vehicles. The Sundowners out in the bush were fantastic, especially hearing the bush come to life. But the opulence of drinking a G and T at this time will stay with me for ever. As well as our first evening drive and the closeness to which we came to a huge male leopard. My camera's battery at his point run out. But Liam was superb and took some pics and handed me a CD with them copied at the end of our trip, Its things like that , which makes holidays like these , oh so special. A big thank you to Allison, Liam and all the staff at Simbambili.

Room Tip: My wife and daughter stayed in Room 2 and my son and i stayed in Room 7. Both rooms were lovely, on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STEVE N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
6.4 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
414 reviews
4.9 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
446 reviews
7.6 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#15 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
834 reviews
7.9 mi away
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Leopard Hills Private Game Reser...
#1 of 1 in Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simbambili Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simbambili Game Lodge

Property: Simbambili Game Lodge
Address: Sabi Sand Game Reserve, Kruger National Park 1363, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Simbambili Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simbambili Game Lodge is a highly individualised destination for the discerning traveller located in the Sabi Sand Game Reserve, which is part of the Greater Kruger National Park. Set in magnificent trees along the meandering Manyeleti River, with views over an extensive savannah grassland, that teems with wildlife visiting an ever popular water hole. Sophisticated yet simple, each suite has spectacular views whether from the unique en-suite bathrooms, outside salas or individual private plunge pools. Guests are encouraged to enjoy the extraordinary and unique wildlife of Africa, whether it is your choice to linger at a close encounter with lion, leopard, elephant, rhino and buffalo or to be amazed by the extensive array of birds and insects, or simply relax in the Sanctuary Spa. Your ranger and tracker team will astound you with their ability to track big five game, either on foot or from an open safari vehicle. The amazing safari experience is complimented by elegant cuisine, a selection of fine wines andthe warmth of true African hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Simbambili Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simbambili Game Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Simbambili Game
Simbambili Game Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing