We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simbambili Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Simbambili Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2012

A beautiful lodge set with views over a watering hole. Gorgeous rooms with private balconies, plunge pools and views into the bush. We watched kudu, waterbuck, vervet monkeys and numerous birds from our sunloungers. The staff at Simbambili are so welcoming, the service is of an extremely high standard, as is the daily menu and wine selection. Game drives were fantastic and included leopard, elephant, zebra...the list goes on. If you are looking for exceptional service, beautiful and comfotable accomodation and a once-in-a-lifetime South African bush experience then Simbambili is the lodge for you. Thank you to Liam, Allison and the whole team at Simbambili that made our honeymoon so special.

Room Tip: We were in Room 2 - gorgeous with private deck and plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astrid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 340 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2012

We were aiming for a truly luxurious safari experience. Our travel agent said that simbambili was a better priced alternative than ulusaba. We were delighted with the experience. The reception was very welcoming, the rooms were beautiful and private. The food was fabulous. The game was amazing. Numerous leopard, rhino, elephants, the works. The safari guides and tracker were true experts and delivered a personalized safari and went out of their way to show us everything.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sinead P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Wow! not sure where to begin. All the great reviews you read about this place are true. Spent 3 nights at Simbambili, did 5 game drives and 1 bush walk. Saw just about everything (except Cheetah).. Lion, Impala, Leopard, Elephant, Hienna, Hippo, Zebra, Kudu, Rhino, Giraffe, Baboon, Wildebeast, Buffalo,Crocs, a large variety of birds, python tracks (lucky no snake). These sightings were not in the distance..almost all of these -even the leopard, were close enough to touch! In regards to the accomodations - excellent! Comfy beds, cool plunge pools, a/c units, celing fans, all the amenities provided- even bug spray. The chef is amazing - every meal was outstanding. One evening we dined under the stars around a campfire with our guide Liam at our table and could hear the lions in the background. All of the staff are wonderful. Liam and Alison are very gracious hosts - you feel so welcome and nothing is too much trouble. We arrived late in the evening and Alison had arranged for us to have dinner in our room. It was my hubby's birthday and when we entered the room there were dozens of candles lighting the way to the bathroom , a hot bath drawn (we had been travelling from 7am that morning from Seychelles), cold complimentary champagne on ice, an amazing dinner brought to the room by our butler Ramous, and even a birthday cake with candles! So thoughtful - with attention to every detail. The game drives are amazing - as I said we saw everything and in the comfort of a great open range rover. Our tracker Mumps did a good job finding the game for us each and every drive. The weather was so fantastic during this second week of February. We left each morning at 5:30 for the drive and returned back to lodge about 8:30, just when it started to get hot. Continental breakfast was waiting upon arrival followed by full hot breakfast made to order. Lunch at 2pm where we sat and watched Zebra and Warthogs by the watering hole. Back for 4:30 game drive which lasted until past dark with the evening cooling slightly. We were escorted back to our rooms to freshen up and then dinner around 8:30. Dinners truly were exceptional! This is truly a trip we will remember all of our lives. I highly recommend this lodge. Thanks to the staff at Simbambili for making our holiday so fantastic.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimpeteca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed at Simbambili for three nights as part of our honeymoon and were so sad to eave. This is literally the best, most relaxing place we have ever sated and we could not fault it. All the staff were amazing and the fact on check in you didn't have to leave your credit card said it all as they knew each of the guests by name.

The lodges are beautiful, very clean with great big comfortable beds and wonderful salas to chill out after the morning safari. We really couldn't fault it apart from we never seemed to e there that often:-)

The safari was amazing, we saw all the big five whilst there. Liam our guide was exceptional with his knowledge of the bush and he really made the holiday for us. The vehicles were really comfy and the provision of fleeced blankets much appreciated on the early mornings. Morning hot chocolates and evening sundowners were a great extra touch.

The food was exceptional, even though the lodge is small with only one eating area they do an amazing job of always making it feel different, from the group evenings where you sit with your ranger to the outside meals in the boma. We Los ad an amazing diner in our room as a honeymoon special.

A really amazing place that I think would be difficult to beat

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Returned from a fantastic trip to Cape Town (stayed at the One and Only--great place) and Simbambili last Sunday...the much stated "trip of a lifetime" was true for us, as well. Were greeted by the lovely Alison upon arrival, a quick trip to our accommodation and then off on our first game drive--we saw lionesses right away! Can't say enough about Simbambili: Our gracious hosts, Alison and Liam were welcoming and helpful, Arnold, our "butler" was always smiling and accommodating and our tracker and guide (Doctor and especially Shoes) were phenomenal--we learned so much and saw so much wildlife--lions, leopards, elephants, zebra, giraffe, rhino, all manner of birds...and a snake or two! Our arrival was just two weeks after one of the most severe storms in over ten years and some roads were still impassable, but the area is so large there was still so much to discover. The food was varied and delicious and the rooms were immaculate and well-appointed. My daughter and I had fabulous spa treatments at very reasonable prices (for U.S.) The whole trip was perfect and we can't wait to go back (only wish the plane ride was MUCH shorter!!). We stayed three nights, but would have liked to stay one more night. I was so impressed with our experience--from viewing our photos, friends back home can't believe how beautiful and exciting the Sabi Sand experience is! We are looking to plan our next vacation somewhere, but every place we consider, falls far short of our South Africa trip!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garnets2052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed three nights and were extremely happy with the lodge. The lodge is fantastic with beautiful views of the water hole. The personal plunge pool is great so is sleeping on the outside bed under the fan! The service was fabulous and we were very happy during our entire stay. The food was great especially the breakfast granola. We saw the Big 5 on our game drive and had an excellent ranger and tracker.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We arrived tired and dusty and were blown away by the reception - a wonderful airy room with comfortable seating over looking the water hole...Wow One. We were then taken to our rooms and were blown away again...Wow Two. We very much enjoyed the middle of our days sunbathing on the deck and using the plunge pool from time to cool off. Wonderfully relaxing!

The game drives are clearly the centre piece of the visit and we had some wonderful experiences. The 4*4's were amazingly versatile and took us into areas that simply did not seem possible.

Wow Three came with our final sundowners. It was our 25th wedding anniversary and I wanted to find something special for my wife. The Manager was very very heomalpful in looking after us. After some discussion it turned out that they had some surprises of their own for us, and we had a wonderful final "Sundowners" lit by hurricane lamps and a fire, sipping champagne as the sun went down on a really wonderful stay.

All the staff were very welcoming and nothing too much trouble. We also appreciated the different dining areas they found for us so that each evening was different..one evening meal in the dry riverbedm, another in the Boma.

So well done Alison, Liam and the team, and thanks for a really memorable stay. We completely recommend Simbambili to you.

Room Tip: Try and get close to the main house..makes it less far to walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisScanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
18.2 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
400 reviews
6.4 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
431 reviews
4.9 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#10 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
508 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#17 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
862 reviews
7.6 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simbambili Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simbambili Game Lodge

Address: Sabi Sand Game Reserve, Kruger National Park 1363, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range: $1,417 - $1,730 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Simbambili Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simbambili Game Lodge is a highly individualised destination for the discerning traveller located in the Sabi Sand Game Reserve, which is part of the Greater Kruger National Park. Set in magnificent trees along the meandering Manyeleti River, with views over an extensive savannah grassland, that teems with wildlife visiting an ever popular water hole. Sophisticated yet simple, each suite has spectacular views whether from the unique en-suite bathrooms, outside salas or individual private plunge pools. Guests are encouraged to enjoy the extraordinary and unique wildlife of Africa, whether it is your choice to linger at a close encounter with lion, leopard, elephant, rhino and buffalo or to be amazed by the extensive array of birds and insects, or simply relax in the Sanctuary Spa. Your ranger and tracker team will astound you with their ability to track big five game, either on foot or from an open safari vehicle. The amazing safari experience is complimented by elegant cuisine, a selection of fine wines andthe warmth of true African hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Simbambili Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simbambili Game Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Simbambili Game
Simbambili Game Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing