We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Experiences”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lion Sands River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Whitestone, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experiences”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is the best kept secret in the World. This facility is above First Rate and it's staff and management is out of this world. Thanks for making our Africa experience a most memorable one for a lifetime. We have never, ever experienced such warmth, and fantasic suroundings. It's better than spending time with your family.

Room Tip: close your eyes and thwow the dart. Wherever it lands is incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelson G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    48
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
122
442
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

My son (age 25) and I (old enough to be his mother and then some) recently enjoyed a magical stay (three nights) at Lion Sands. Our visit there was spectacular by all measures. The game viewing was wonderful and featured unbelievably close encounters with lions, leopards, elephants, rhinos, giraffes, zebras, multiple varieties of antelopes, and hippos, thanks to our terrific ranger/tracker team Syd and Patrick. The lodge is both beautiful and comfortable with a sense of harmony with the surroundings and understated elegance. All of the staff were friendly and attentive, including especially our butler, Errol. The food was excellent and elegantly presented. In our three night stay we had one dinner in the boma (an outdoor space enclosed by a stick fence) with entertainment by a local women's choir, one on the terrace overlooking the river bed, and one candlelight dinner set up in the dry part of the river bed below the terrace. There were thoughtful extra touches, such as a blanket and hot water bottle for each guest on chilly morning game drives and evening drinks by our safari vehicle as the sun set. Our ranger, Syd, took us on a walking tour after breakfast one day, a hippo tour the next day, and a star-gazing drive one evening after dinner. We would have loved to stay longer and hope very much to return.

Room Tip: Try to stay at least three nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonnieSpringfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

This place is amazing! We stayed for 3 nights and within only 3 safaris had seen all big five, and hippos and leopards and giraffe. One day we saw all big five in only a day! Our ranger, Dumay, was very friendly, dedicated, and knowledgable, and made sure we got the most of our game drives. The additional hippo river tour and the bushwalk were also great. I enjoyed going offroad in the jeep to get the best views. The food is delicious, and there's plenty of it, with excellent and friendly service from the butlers. The rooms are great, with really comfy beds, Africology bath products, and the outdoor showers are a nice touch. We also stayed one night in the ivory lodge, and the view of the river (and the elephants drinking from it) here is amazing. This was the best vacation I've ever been on, with just the right amount of excitement and relaxation.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great! There are more people at the River Lodge, so if you're looking for mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise_Chad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
194 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Staying at Lion Sands River Lodge was the most magical experience I have ever had. From start to finish this was a perfect stay.
The guest rooms are phenomenal. Understated elegance. Very well maintained and so comfy. I never wanted to leave.
You receive a dedicated butler, guide & tracker. The resort has a gym, spa, 3 lounges, boutique and 2 swimming pools. There are roughly 20 guest rooms. When we were staying the hotel was not full so it felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. One day we had a pool to ourselves. I had a massage in the outdoor room and it was wonderful. A herd of elephants walked by during my treatment.
The food is amazing. You can eat breakfast & lunch whenever you want. Dinner was unique each night. Once we had a bomba, another night we ate on the decks and the final night we enjoyed a firelight dinner in the dry river bed. One day during lunch a huge herd of elephants walked by in the dry river bed. Amazing.
Each day you enjoy 2 game drives. They were fantastic - we saw the big 5 plus so much more. It seemed like they could make any animal appear. I asked about warthogs and were told they are very skittish and hard to find. Maybe 30 minutes after asking wouldn't you know 3 warthogs ran in front of our vehicle. Wild dogs made an appearance and it was so cool to see them playing, hunting and eating their kill.
I would highly recommend Lion Sands to anyone going on safari! I hope to one day return! I would give them 10 stars if I was able to!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HavePillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights as part of our honeymoon and it was lovely. We would have lived more time to enjoy the hotel. The hotel is in a great location for game drives. We saw at least 4 of the Big 5 every drive. The food was lovely. It's a bit of a rush from when you get back from evening drive. Dinner is served very soon after return so no time to shower really just a quick change. We did not get to make us of our all inclusive package as we were up early and tired then at night. The hotel is well prepared for Mosquitos with spray and nets in your room. Everyone was very nice and friend.

One or two issues included check out and tipping. The hotel have a tipping advice sheet and ended up following these and giving a lot of money over for tips. Also we asked about having a late check out because we didn't leave until 4. We asked for even an extra hour or town on the 11oclock check out so we could have a little nap after our game drive however they couldn't help us but yet we saw a couple checking out at 12.30 while we sat in the reception area. But other than this we had a nice time in this resort.

The game drives were spectacular and we would go back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LC_irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Lion Sands from 25th - 28th February 2014. We chose the lodge as we wanted somewhere to indulge and relax after a gruelling week climbing Mt Kilimanjaro and we definately picked the right place! The food was plentiful and delicious, the lodge facilities and our room were understated but oh so elegant and perfectly suited to the surrounding landscape. The staff were attentive and welcoming yet made us feel instantly relaxed (as sometimes in such luxury you can feel 'watched' when they are too attentive or they can make you feel out of place when its obvious you don't have butlers and housekeeping staff at home!). Our safari's were amazing and we could have stayed out all day if they let us, our incredible experiences were definately attributed to our superb guide Jono and tracker Abraham whose enthusiasm and passion shone through and you could tell it was much more than just a job for them both. The sundowners and stargazing were moments where we really had to pinch ourselves, I will never forget those memories. We can not wait to one day return to Lion Sands to enjoy the scenery, wildlife and as there was simply not enough time to indulge in the swimming pools and spa treatments as well as go on safari!! So my only tip would be to book in advance (if possible?) if you really want a spa treatment at a time that doesn't interfere with the safari activities. They also offer a visit to the local kindergarten however due to unrest in the community during our stay we were unable to visit which was a shame but we certainly didn't want to exacerbate the tensions, there's always next time!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bree-europe2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Seven of us stayed three nights at Lion Sands and will have memories to last!
One six year old, two young adults and four parents all had a blast. Staff were amazing at this intimate lodge where the safari drives were led by outstanding team of ranger and tracker.
Bush dinner was a highlight where staff went all out for only nine guests at the lodge that evening.

Room Tip: If you don't like walking in the dark with wildlife nearby, ask for a room close to the main lod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 155019Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
3.3 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#4 of 13 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
3.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
17.3 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#15 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
16.6 mi away
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Leopard Hills Private Game Reser...
#1 of 1 in Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion Sands River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Sands River Lodge

Property: Lion Sands River Lodge
Address: Sabi Sand Game Reserve | (Shaw's Gate Entrance), Kruger National Park 1240, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lion Sands River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned since 1933, this international award winning private game reserve spans across the world famous Sabi Sand Game Reserve and Kruger National Park. Lion Sands has four lodges; Lion Sands Ivory Lodge & Lion Sands River Lodge (Sabi Sand) and Lion Sands Tinga Lodge & Lion Sands Narina Lodge (Kruger Park). Each has a unique style, but is a reflection of Lion Sands' five-star signature of sophisticated interiors, unique experiences and service excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lion Sands River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Sands River Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Lion Sands River Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing