We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best honeymoon ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lion Sands River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Georgetown, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best honeymoon ever!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at Lion Sands in mid September 2013 for our honeymoon. From the moment we landed, we were treated like royalty. Everyone was so friendly and it felt like they genuinely care about you and wanted to please. We have a fantastic. We had a butler, Vusi, who remember our drink orders and make special attention to the meals to ensure it fit with our dietary concerns. Our ranger, Tristan, and tracker, Tony, were exceptional with respect to their knowledge of the wildlife. Not only did we see the "big 5" ( lions, leopards, rhinos, elephants and buffalo) less than 24 hours after our arrival, but we saw 5 DIFFERENT leopards over the course of our trip. ( less than 5% of the population will EVER see a leopard). We even saw a baby elephant that was born around 1 hour before we saw him! For one night we stayed in "Chaulky's treehouse"- what an unforgettable experience. I would highly recommend lions sands and hope that my husband and I will return for our anniversary! This is truly a magical place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    51
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
128
454
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We visited Lion Sands River Lodge as part of our 20th Anniversary holiday around South Africa .
The River Lodge is luxurious , great setting on the Sabie River and wonderful staff.
A typical day begins with 5am wake up call , light refreshments , 5.30 am game drive , 9.30 am sumptuous breakfast , free time to unwind at spa /pool till a hearty lunch , 4pm light refreshment before 4.30 game drive , 8pm dinner in a unique setting !!!
The game drives are the highlight and we had a fantastic passionate ranger (Ferdie) and an excellent tracker ( Rector) ......we saw the Big 5 within a couple of game drives and also saw a leopard kill , a pride of 11 lions , numerous zebras , impalas , various deer , rhinos , hippos , giraffes ,elephants and even the rare wild dogs !!
The short sundowners in the middle of the bush at just the right time and place was magical......amarula with hot chocolate in the morning and gin & tonic at dusk !!
The offroad drives to track leopards and lions was great ....didnt realize the land rovers could do so many things and go over bush , sand rivers and small trees so easily !!!
The rangers are very sensitive to the environment and animals and once they 'closed' the site to a leopard den as the mother had left the cubs alone and gone away.
Most sightings we were the only vehicle and at the most there was another one ....never more than 2 at a time .
Jabulani our butler was ever smiling and happy to make our stay perfect as possible !

The Sabi sand area is game rich , very private and expensive !!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam7777Bangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callander, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Every expectation was surpassed at our stay at Lion Sands. The only difficulty we had was leaving as were wanted to stay. The accommodation, the food, the pool, the dinners, the vehicles - they were very, very good. But the high point was seeing the wildlife and the flora and that was made sweet by our incredible guide, Ferdie Muller. Outstanding! Knowledgeable! Friendly! Helpful! and always willing to add more! Three cheers for Ferdie.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canucks1012013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in Narina, and then moved on to the sister lodge Tinga. The suite with a pool was lovely and tranquil, the main lodge was great, but where the lodge truly excels is in its attention to detail and the care and professionalism displayed by the wonderful staff. They put a great emphasis on service and it really shows. The food is also fantastic, and last but not least the game viewing is excellent. Honestly we could not fault anything.

One final point is that our ranger and tracker were professional, extremely knowledgable and greatly enhanced our enjoyment of our trip. Also, the treehouse experience was great but watch the weather.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TimBukToo051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We have just left lion sands after a 5 night stay. It was a totally amazing experience from the room, to the staff and the animal sightings. Our tracker and ranger Rector & Ferdie totally made our holiday! We saw the big 5 in our first two drives and after that we saw so many animals we were delighted. Jubilani, our butler, was fantastic and very patient with us as we tried to learn some of the local language. No two drives or meals were the same. From sundowners watching local dancing by the staff to BBQs in the bush the food and whole experience was amazing. We were very very sorry to leave and cannot recommend it enough. We will be back!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JJ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2013

My girlfriend and i have just returned from a great safari with Ferdie (guide) at Lion sands.
Upon arrival we were introduced to Ferdie, he was very welcoming and very approachable. Little did we know that he was also, in my opinion, the best guide anyone could ever ask for. His vast knowledge of the environment, not only the big 5, but everything including plant life and weather, was absolutely mind blowing. He is also a very good photographer and has sent me all the photos that he had taken, which was a nice touch. He has been doing this a very long time, yet his enthusiasm was incredible. He was like a kid in a sweetshop, pointing out all the interesting things and really making us feel part of the environment.... I could go on forever about how great he was, but best of all he is a great guy.
If you are reading this and thinking about doing a safari, then look no further, Ferdie is your man.
GO TEAM FERDIE !!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We hoped that staying at Lion Sands would make our honeymoon special.

We had high expectations from the varying reviews and social media we had read before our trip and were delighted that every single one of these expectations were exceeded!

Our whole experience from start to end was amazing. From the point of check-in, the personal touches were evident and continued for the duration of our stay.

Our Ranger (Ale) and Tracker (Noel) were superb with an amazing depth of knowledge. Both were very personable and an absolute credit to Lion Sands. Every drive was packed with a myriad of amazing animals (large and very small!!), making each trip out unique. We were so very lucky to see leopard, white rhino, lions, elephants and giraffe all with their young on so many occasions.

Back at the lodge all the staff were fantastically friendly, efficient and clearly (and quite rightly) very proud of where they worked. The rooms were very luxurious with huge comfortable bed, rain shower, and freestanding double ended bath overlooking the Sabie river. The food was amazing with a good mix of menus to suit all tastes.

We would certainly recommend Lion Sands to anybody wanted to experience the magic of safari whilst staying in beautiful surroundings in 5* accommodation.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MJSYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
3.3 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
384 reviews
3.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
16.5 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
446 reviews
17.0 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
402 reviews
16.1 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#15 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion Sands River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Sands River Lodge

Property: Lion Sands River Lodge
Address: Sabi Sand Game Reserve | (Shaw's Gate Entrance), Kruger National Park 1240, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lion Sands River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned since 1933, this international award winning private game reserve spans across the world famous Sabi Sand Game Reserve and Kruger National Park. Lion Sands has four lodges; Lion Sands Ivory Lodge & Lion Sands River Lodge (Sabi Sand) and Lion Sands Tinga Lodge & Lion Sands Narina Lodge (Kruger Park). Each has a unique style, but is a reflection of Lion Sands' five-star signature of sophisticated interiors, unique experiences and service excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotwire so you can book your Lion Sands River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Sands River Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Lion Sands River Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing