We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lion Sands River Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge(Kruger National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Skukuza Rest Camp(Kruger National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arathusa Safari Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Machai Lodge(Hazyview)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (792)
Filter reviews
792 results
Traveler rating
713
51
17
5
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
713
51
17
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame drivessafari experiencetree houseour honeymoonoutdoor showerwonderful experienceskukuza airportkruger national parkwhole experiencecape townpersonal butlerbush buckoff roadstayed longerstayed nightsblankets and hot water bottlesbig animals
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
565 - 570 of 792 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Lion Sands is a wonderful place for game viewing. We did 2 game drives/day (5 am and 4 pm). In between we basked in the African sun back at our private villa. There was a small pool that we Could cool off in. One afternoon we saw a parade of elephants crossing the river near our villa as well as many monkeys. We went in November which is just after many animals give birth so we were able to see how many animals are with their newborns!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MKA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

There is no feeling in the world like being on safari - especially when staying at an amazing place like Lion Sands.

From the moment you arrive and are treated to a refreshing juice whilst checking in to the moment you leave, everything you need is taken care of.

Being a safari, the days are long - first safari kicks off at 6am(ish), which means getting up and out for a coffee at 530ish. A three hour morning safari is beautiful as you see the sunrise and then head back for a nap before some lunch and heading out again at 3ish for another 3 hours of safari. Back to the lodge after this and following a freshening up, dinner is served - amazing 3 course meals cooked to the standard of top restaurants! Drinks etc are all available at the bar at lodge.

A great enhancment to previous safaris I have been on is where the ranger will stop in the middle of the national park for tea/coffee in the morning and for a sundowner in the evening. Being in the middle of a an area where numerous wild animals roam and relaxing with a drink is an amazing feeling!

The best evening of the trip was an evening BBQ organised in the safari park which we joined at the end of our evening safari. Towards the end some hyenas seemed to be getting a little too close so we left the food and head back to the lodge - but again this was certainly a one in a lifetime experience.

The lodge rooms themselves are very clean and aside from a little nap, its best to be outside on the lodge deck where a dried up waterbed can be viewed over a cool drink - elephants and hippopotomus are always attracted to the area which can provide great entertainment. We viewed two hippopotomus fighting each other for a few hours, and also an elephant feeeding and relaxing nearby the lodge!

The two small pools on offer are not heated, but to be honest its hot enough for this not to even bother you.

All in all, a fantastic lodge with lovely, friendly staff, providing a very amazing opportunity to see all Big 5 animals! It will be our dream to visit again one day (when we haved saved enough money!!)!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Double_R_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

My husband and I scheduled a last minute safari trip to Lion Sands River Lodge without knowing what to expect except from reading the reviews and looking at pictures on their website. There is no way to describe how wonderful the trip turned out to be! From the minute we arrived at Skukuza Airport until the minute we left, we received first class treatment from Lion Sands. We saw 3 of the big 5 on our drive from the airport to the lodge! Then on every drive, 2 times a day, we experienced the big 5 over and over again! We were told that leopard sightings could be rare but we saw at least 8 different leopards while we were there. The staff at Lion Sands are exceptional, the accommodations beautiful and our Ranger and Tracker were intent on showing us animals constantly. The meals were prepared beautifully and were delicious; almost like eating at a 5 star restaurant for every meal. We were only able to spend 4 days/3 nights at Lion Sands River Lodge then transferred to Tinga Lodge for our last night and 2 safari drives. Again we were treated as if we were royalty and the suite we had at Tinga was even more amazing than Lion Sands - we didn't think it was possible. They are both owned by the same family so the entire, though short, stay at Tinga was even more perfect than Lion Sands. Our Ranger and Tracker had amazing knowledge of the animals, birds, trees, etc. We learned many things from them that would be impossible to get by reading a book. We will be planning another trip as soon as possible. Both lodges have few rooms but they both are constantly fully booked. We will recommend these lodges to everyone we know. Jean P.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We had an amazing time from the moment we arrived. This 3 night stay was part of our 45th Anniversary celebration.
The food was great and varied. Early morning safari was invigorating and exciting every time. Benri and Patrick made us real very special. During the stay we went out 6 times. Even the day we left they arranged for us to be sure to go out and be back in time to leave for the trip home.
The other reviews gave a run down of times and animals seen. We only missed seeing the giraffe. One evening we were able to see a Leopard kill and defur her shrub hare.
The staff at the River Lodge made everyone feel extra special with attention to your personel pleasure. I can't say enough about each one we spoke with including the housekeeping staff with their cheery hellos. If you have never been greeted by having a message spelled out on your bed in stems and roses believe me it mades you feel very special and wanted.
One fun thing--at lunch a monkey jumped onto our table and stole our rolls --I wish I had gotten a picture.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Fit for a King and Queen. The attention to detail is perfect, the food de-li-cious, game drives and sightings awesome, rooms a pleasure to be in. Thank you for spoiling us rotten!! It was worth every penny!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akgucci11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews